Ratings based on 48 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

4 year old enjoyed the pool

Posted Jun 10, 2017
The hotel is close to the Meteora monasteries. We enjoyed the staff. I would not recommend the evening bufe if you have young children that need simple food. We did not make it to a restaurant called Palia Istoria.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia, USA

Quiet Hotel in Kalambaka

Posted May 10, 2017
I traveled solo to Meteora and chose Amalia Hotel knowing its located at the edge of city limits. However, I was drawn to its offer of a quiet and clean atmosphere. The fact that the Hotel is located a little ways outside of the city center did turn out to be a bit inconvenient and costly (10 euro taxi each way) if you want to wander yourself but if you are going to book tours daily, then it doesn't matter much. Pro: Quiet, large hotel that offers a good spread for its free breakfast and food made to order other times. The pool area was nice and the hotel surroundings was very peaceful. The staff was very attentive, friendly and will help with pretty much any request you may have. The rooms are large and clean. Wifi is available and strong in the main common areas. Con: The hotel is about a 5-7 min drive outside the main part of Kalambaka city. The hotel doesn't offer any transportation to and from the city center so there are really just two options: by taxi (10 euro) or by bus (1.80 euro). The bus, however, drops you off on the main road, so it's another 5-7min walk down the side road to get to the hotel. There are no sidewalks but there aren't many cars either, so it's OK to walk as an adult but not for kids. Another way to get around this is to book a tour, which usu. offers to pick you up and drop off in the city or back at the hotel. The room amenities are bare bones, so bring your own coffee/tea. Hot water can be requested. Wifi is pretty weak in the ro
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 8, 2017
Good hotel but not actually in Kalambaka - need a car.
4 out of 5
by Colin from Romsey Hampshire UK

Posted May 12, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent hotel for a stopover. We noticed remarks about the breakfast but we thought it first class
3 out of 5
by Joseph

Decent stay at a decent price

Posted Apr 4, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was generally nice, but the sheets/bed seemed overly itchy. We were worried about bed bugs, but we seem to be ok after our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Athens

Nice and comfortable

Posted Jan 2, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff. Nice fireplace room in the loony area.
Cons: Temperature in the rooms, bit too hot and not easy to regulate.
Location: Meteora monasteries. Pertouli Ski resort. City of Trikala. Lots of taverns with local meat dishes.
Very nice hotel. Exactly as described in the website. Near Meteora and the ski resort of Pertouli. Beautiful fireplace room in the lobby ( for smokers ). Comfortable beds and friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great family hotel

Posted Dec 31, 2015
Stayed here for our visit to Meteora, the hotel is great for family with kid as there is plenty of space for them to roam around, and the hotel also got playroom for kids! Location is not exactly in Kalambaka so better for someone with car or prepared to hire taxi.
5 out of 5
by Steven from Bellingham

Place to stay if checking out Meteoras.

Posted Dec 21, 2015 on Hotels
Large hotel set up for tours, we stayed in the off season so not as busy. Staff was great, friendly and helpful. If you prefer consistency to character then this is your place.
3 out of 5
by Michael

Good Hotel outside of town

Posted Nov 12, 2015 on Hotels
Decent hotel outside of town. Breakfast was quite nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Value for money

Posted Nov 5, 2015
Pros: Facilities and service. The room is very spacious and clean.
Excellent service, facilities and food. The hotel staffs are very helpful and polite. The location is quite far (around 5km) from Kalambaka train station and city center. If you don't drive, you need to arrange taxi in advance. However, this could be a good thing as the hotel is more quite and safe.