Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

piccolo, ma bello

Posted Aug 12, 2016
Pros: l'accoglienza e la posizione.
un posto accogliente dove mi hanno accolto amichevolmente. la posizione, giusto sotto una meteora, fa il resto. ci tornerei volentieri
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Helpful staff, Hard to find

Posted Jul 31, 2015
Google doesn't have the location correct. Beside Elena's is Alonso and Google has it's location correct. The staff were very helpful and the guesthouse is quite attractive. Getting my laundry done cost 15 Euros, a little pricey I think, it was only 10 on Lefkas island.
5 out of 5
by Timea from Budapest

Calm night at the Meteoras

Posted Jul 20, 2015 on Hotels
A very nice guesthouse right at the foot of the Meteoras. The owner of the guesthouse, Elena welcomed us and helped us with maps and useful instructions.The room itself is very comfortable, it was big enough for even 4 people. Since it is at the end of the village, it is silent at night. Breakfast was also plentiful. We will definitely go back again.
5 out of 5
by Kristian S from Norway

Very helpful

Posted Sep 20, 2014 on Hotels
As we placed our booking late, the guest house was full when we arrived - but Elena had already booked us a room at a friends guesthouse and she provided transport for us. Also gave us really awesome greek figs. :)
4 out of 5
by Mike from Vancouver, bc

Excellent location and great rooms

Posted Jul 30, 2014 on Hotels
Meteora is amazing to visit and the hotel while challenging to find is wonderfully located right below the rock face. The owner was very friendly and helpful and breakfast was plentiful and very good. Meteora is only a 10 minute drive away and the downtown area is only a short walk. I would highly recommend this hotel. One piece of advise is that finding the reception can be confusing, they have a sign pointing left but then nothing. The reception is really a suite on the bottom floor of the hotel. I walked around for a few minutes looking confused and then someone came out and helped me.
5 out of 5
by Gere Peckinpaugh from Stevensville, Montana

great location and service

Posted Oct 9, 2013 on Hotels
I had an enjoyable stay in Kalambaka. Elena Guesthouse helped me feel right at home while visiting METEORA. My room had a balcony with a view of the amazing rock spires. It was clean and attractive and a short walk from the center of town. The hostess sent me off each morning with an apple and she made the necessary calls for me when arranging the guided tours I wanted, or a taxi to the train station. I would definitely stay at the Elena Guesthouse should I ever get to return to this unique and beautiful area of Greece.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Looks different from the pictures

Posted Apr 11, 2012 on Hotels
The room has kind of "poor" design. It's said there is a jacuzzi, when actually there is none. When we arrived, there was no one to talk to change the room. The breakfast was really poor. Only toasts with cakes and cookies. Deffenatly doesn't worth the 5 euro we paid per person. For this money you can get much more at the local restaurants, which are great.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Kluss med bestilling.

Posted Apr 9, 2012 on Hotels
Hotellets, eller gjestehusets, rom er meget smakfult innredet med forskjellig stil i hvert rom. Rene rom og god rengjøring, det eneste jeg hadde å utsett på rommet mitt var at det var ganske fuktig der - dette var visst ikke et problem i et rom i etasjen over. Hotellet ligger plassert med en dramatisk utsikt ved foten av noen av de kakteristiske fjellene som man ser overalt i Meteora, man føler man kan ta på dem fra verandaen. Betjeningen var hjelpsom og velmenende, men snakket lite engelsk. Det trådløse nettverket fungerte ikke, angivelig fordi det var overskyet. Da vi reserverte på internett er vi sikre på at prisen var angitt med frokost inkludert, men da vi kom til frokost fikk vi vite at dette ikke var tilfelle. Sjekk av bekreftelses-eposten viste at frokost ikke var inkludert, men vi er fortsatt sikre på at det var det på internett.... Dermed ble dette oppholdet forholdsvis dyrt sammenliknet med andre overnattinger vi hadde. Jeg innbiller meg at dette problemet har mer å gjøre med Hotels.com enn med hotellet, har lest om liknende episoder. Likevel er dette med reservering på internett en meget behagelig løsning, og stort sett ganske pålitelig så vidt jeg har erfart.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lancashire

Home away from home

Posted Feb 20, 2012 on Hotels
Arriving at Elena Guest House in heavy snow after a 6hr train jounrey we were greeted warmly and shown to our room, a large room on the ground floor with on open fire - perfect for defrosting ourselves! Our room didn't have a view but as we're not ones for spending much time in our room this did not bother us. And considering the thick snowy mist that shrouded the mountains, there wasn't much of a view to look at anyway! Elena was charming and gave us some great advice on walking in the area and was also an immense help when trying to sort out the bus back to Athens during a 48hr strike. The breakfast consisted of bacon, eggs, bread, cake and preserves and was substantial enough to fill us up for the majority of the day. Kalambaka is a lovely little town, though only seemed to come alive at the weekends. We would love to visit in higher season and we would not hesitate to stay with Elena again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vallejo Calif

Posted Oct 31, 2011 on Hotels
staff extremely helpful, helped us book a guide; location of guest house was perfect (actually in the middle of the Meteora site), rooms/amenities as expected