Ratings based on 88 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 2, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quiet, Nice, and Close to the Sights!

Posted Sep 24, 2016 on Hotels
The owners of Papasthatis were so lovely and do a great job of maintaining their beautiful little hotel. It's at the very end of the road before you hit the actual monasteries, so it is quiet and provides gorgeous views from your room. The breakfast is nice, with the fresh yogurt and honey being especially delicious. The biggest selling point for me was the hotel's close proximity to the best views of Meteora, hiking trails, and several of the monasteries—you can get to four of them within 30 minutes from the hotel door. There were several people starting rock climbing just a few kilometers from the hotel as well. Busses also stop at Papasthatis and pick up any visitors who may want to ride around the mountains to visit all of the sights in one go. From Guesthouse Papasthatis it's an easy walk to the village center of Kastraki (10 min) for dinner, or down to Kalabaka (about 30 min). Taxis are about 5 eur. from the center of Kalabaka, and run until 11PM. The villages are both great for delicious food, sights, and some shops. We really loved our stay in the Meteora region, and in large part because of this lovely hotel!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great view and great people

Posted Sep 23, 2016 on Hotels
The proprietors were extremely kind and helpful at any time of the day. I just rang the bell and they came to assist. This location is also perfect, right on the outskirts of Kastraki which made it ideal for waking up to take a run in the mountains or get started hiking right after the delicious thick greek yogurt breakfast. From our room we could see the mountains and trees and even one of the monasteries. Very relaxing and happy experience! Pro tip - there are two bells to ring for service; one is a little shop bell and the other is on the wall to the right of the reception desk. The second bell rings directly in the proprietors' room.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 9, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Christina from Arlington, VA, United States

Hidden Gem in Kastraki - on route to monasteries!

Posted Aug 8, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel is truly a not-so-hidden gem in the town of Kastraki, adjacent to the monasteries of Meteora. We could not have picked a closer hotel, literally! The hotel is on the main bus route to the monasteries, and we were able to catch the bus and and hike back with no problems. The view from the room was spectacular and we had a gorgeous wrap-around porch, perfect for watching the sunset reflecting off the rock formations. The couple who runs the hotel is very friendly, giving us a great map and rundown of the hiking paths around the monasteries along with the best yogurt I have ever had for breakfast. We were also walking distance from several tavernas for dinner. Couldn't be happier with our choice of hotel and would definitely stay here again!
5 out of 5
by Jennifer from Honolulu, HI

Great views and service!

Posted Jul 27, 2016 on Hotels
Perfectly located family run guesthouse with a great view of Meteora. Free parking on site but also easy to reach the town and restaurants with a short walk. Recommend this to anyone wanting a place to stay right in the heart of Meteora
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, Colorado

Great stay with jaw-dropping views.

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Wonderful, kind, and peaceful people coupled with astounding views right outside the door. The place was clean and comfortable. Only wish that we would have stayed longer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kelowna

Beautiful views

Posted Jul 5, 2016
Pros: View, Staff
Cons: We did have quite a few little winged bugs in our room - a hazard of opening the balcony I'm sure.
This guesthouse is the last one prior to Grand Meteora, so be prepared for a walk if you are arriving from the train station (takes about 45 minutes - which isn't bad). They allowed us to check in late, and were very helpful with tours, and directions for self guided hiking. They allowed us to leave our bags during the day, and the breakfast was well worth the extra 5 euro. The room itself was clean, and had good air conditioning and showers. The view from the balcony is unbelievable.
5 out of 5
by Thomas from California

Wonderful

Posted Jun 29, 2016 on Hotels
Great staff
5 out of 5
by Jessica from USA

Amazing View From Balcony

Posted Apr 10, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel is run by the sweetest Greek couple. They are very helpful and kind and keep the hotel clean. The real draw here is the location, you feel like you are right in the middle of the national park. From the balcony of our room we could see monasteries and a hole in the huge rock mountain behind the hotel that is full of colorful scarves. The hotel owner told us that this is a tradition in Kastraki, that all the families pay a boy to climb up the rock and leave a colorful scarf there to bring them luck all year. Meteora is incredible and this hotel is the perfect place to really experience it. Because it is so close to the Natural beauty, it is not so close to a lot of restaurants & shops but there are several within walking distance.