Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wales

Stayed in room 102.

Posted Mar 8, 2016
Pros: Bar stayed open late, breakfast was good, service was fast.
Cons: Water supply to room 102 and heating
Location: Went to a wedding so did not visit the area.
Stayed in room 102 which was cold as the curtain covered the heater. The double glazed window did not shut properly, and the wind and cold blew in. The water was mostly tepid, changing from warm to tepid frequently. The car park was full so I had to park next door in their car park. Overall I was disappointed with the hotel. On a positive side, the bar stayed open late but was expensive, 11.50 euros for a Guiness and vodka and lemonade, ouch.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Castle Arch Hotel Trim

Posted Aug 19, 2015
Pros: It was central. The friendliness of staff. The rooms were quiet. The facilities were fine i.e. tea making facilities. Hairdryer, TV.
Cons: Décor a little dated and could definitely benefit from a little freshen up.
Location: We were only there one night, but it was fine for what we needed to do i.e. meet family and friends.
The hotel was comfortable. The staff were welcoming and friendly and helpful. We felt very happy with the accommodation generally. Certainly the friendliness of the staff, both in reception and elsewhere was excellent.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bow, WA USA

Great Hotel close to everything in Trim.

Posted May 30, 2015
Location: In downtown Trim an easy 5 minute walk from Trim Castle. Many dining options nearby including a restaurant at the Hotel.
The Castle Arch is everything you expect from a Hotel. Friendly and helpful staff, clean rooms, full Irish Breakfast. An excellent value. We'll be staying there again for sure.
3 out of 5
by Kim from CA

Tired Hotel

Posted Jun 6, 2014
Cons: Update blinds to keep the light out. It's difficult to get a good night's sleep.
I was expecting better. I would recommend paying a bit more for a newer, cleaner hotel. The staff was nice, the rooms were tired, blinds allowed light to stream in at the crack of dawn, breakfast was terrible.
4 out of 5
by Patty from San Diego, CA

Last night in Ireland

Posted May 9, 2014
We chose the Castle Arch Hotel for our last night in Ireland and were please with our stay. The hotel is located close to Trim Castle and convenient to all the many other County Meath historical attractions/sites. We loved the convenient, close complimentary parking! The staff were very friendly and check in/out very efficient. The room was a little small but clean, comfortable and the price was right. The breakfast was tasty and starts at 7:30 am which is good if you want an early start for site-seeing and/or getting back to the Dublin airport. We were able to see Newgrange before our departure at 3:45 pm. All in all, a good value and ideal for the traveler on a modest budget.
3 out of 5
by Aidan from London

A curate's egg

Posted Apr 28, 2014
This hotel has a split personality; the bar and food are excellent and very good value and the staff are very friendly, but the rooms are just not up to scratch. The decor is tired and chintzy, the walls are paper thin and so you can hear far more than you would want to of your neighbours. in our room one of the curtains was hanging loose - rail hooks were missing, an easily soluble issue that wasn't fixed during our 3 day stay, but the worst aspect was the plumbing. The sink tap blasted out boiling hot water constantly no matter what the setting, whilst the shower went from biling to freezing again regardless of the setting. This made having a shower impossible and was extremely dangerous for young children. Despite this being reported by both us and a fellow guest it remained like this for our whole stay.
5 out of 5
by Mrs from Perth WA, Australia

Lovely charming hotel!

Posted Mar 12, 2013
Pros: Staff so friendly.
Cons: Slightly dated!
Location: In the middle of town, good location!
The food and staff were absolutely lovely! Staff could not do enough and made our stay very pleasant! Room very clean and comfy! Slightly dated but makes up for it in charm!
3 out of 5
by Sinéad from Fermanagh, UK

Great nights sleep!

Posted Jan 27, 2013
Pros: Great, comfy beds
Cons: Rooms/bathroom could be cleaner and updated
Location: Good location-loads of history in Trim
Older hotel, some of the decor is very old. The shower curtain was old and quite yellowed at the bottom and the room wasn't as clean as it could be, BUT the beds were REALLY comfy.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

great hotel for romantic break

Posted Nov 26, 2012
Pros: the privacy given and yet staff were on call 24 hrs if u needed them
Cons: only thing was noise of disco
Location: lovely town for walking site seeing browsing
loved our stay. perfect place for peaceful time. polite friendly staff and inobtrusive. Also saw young children there and all seemed to be very happy. service was excellent, the food lovely. proffessionally run. would definately stay again if passing through.
5 out of 5
by Marge from Cork Ireland

Visit to Trim

Posted Jul 16, 2012
Pros: Staff were very friendly and helpful.
Cons: noise from disco on sunday morning.
Location: Hotel was very central and we were able to go for lovely walk on Sunday.
We arrived on Saturday afternoon and staff were most helpful and friendly from check-in. Room was clean and bright. Food was delicious.