Ratings based on 76 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Disappointing experience

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Pros: The room was comfortable and clean.
Cons: Check in speed. Explaining all the extra costs. Publishing costs and charges.
Location: Middle of nowhere. Forget your phone, you won't get a signal.
Lots of extra hidden costs leading to a shock at checkout. Checkin was appalling, took over an hour, nothing was explained, they couldn't find our room, ignored our special requests. Very expensive and not worth the money. On the plus side, the room was nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Relaxing at Champneys

Posted Feb 1, 2017
Pros: The rooms, the cleanliness, the facilities and the staff
Cons: Only thing that I feel could be improved is the website with regards to booking classes. I could not find out how to do it
We enjoyed a wonderful stay at Champneys in Tring with my 88 year old mother. Many thanks to all the staff who were so helpful to us and made my Mum feel very special. A special thank you to the lovely young man who helped her with the wheelchair when we first arrived, sorry I did not take your name, and also to Sara on reception who helped me with my late check in and to Alina who was so very kind and helpful to me on my last day. I must also say a big thank you to Bea, who gave my mum and myself a lovely facial and once again, really made my elderly mum feel so special. All of the staff were helpful and courteous and we are looking forward to booking another visit soon. Hope to get the same wonderful room! Many thanks again to all.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Relaxation and Luxury

Posted Dec 23, 2016 on Hotels
We were very impressed with the facilities available at the hotel and the great service provided by the staff. A spa treatment will add to the luxurious experience of this hotel and highly recommended. The only downfall was that we had two single beds joined up rather than having a double bed, which I had requested at time of booking. Overall we enjoyed a thoroughly relaxing break.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 9, 2016 on Hotels
The only issue was the toilet didn't flush properly, the shower water ran hot and cold when on the hot setting, and the glass guard on the bath didn't seal correctly so water was splashing all over the place but relayed this to manager and he dealt with it efficiently.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Champneys tring

Posted Dec 3, 2016
Bed really hard , breakfast served with moldy tomatoes and server argued with me . No other way of getting in pool except via metal stairs so could t swim as bad knee and couldn't get in water . Couldn't do any massage as they all used almond all and I'm allergic to nuts so no treatments no swim and food does not cater very well for allergy sufferss had terrible time
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very nice

Posted Nov 29, 2016 on Hotels
Very nice stay, I was in the area on business, would like to stop here on a leisure break.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 13, 2016 on Hotels
Good apart from poor wifi coverage
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Watford

terrible - will not come back !!!

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: food was good but little else was...
Cons: first and foremost, get rid of the rudeness of the staff !!
Location: Berkempstead is nice
little to say other than stay away from this place...a colossal waste of my money !!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Devon

Nice hotel good facilities.

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Met be someone on reception who didn't really explain the facilities available, felt a bit laboured. Thankfully we found our way around. Checkout was painful, had to wait 20mins whilst staff dealt with checkins!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful property & facilities, poor service

Posted Oct 7, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely property, excellent room, excellent spa and gym facilities. Unfortunately too many staff members were either incompetent or simply aloof. Such a beautiful property should be accompanied by excellent service but the staff failed on many levels