Ratings based on 48 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Southampton

Nice location, shame about the hotel.

Posted Dec 3, 2016
Pros: The environment is pretty and it was quiet. The toiletries in the room were nice. We only had to endure it for one night.
Cons: The headboard could be replaced (try IKEA for a quick fix) and clean sheets would seem to be a basic necessity. That would be a start.
Location: The village is quiet and pleasant, and Tring has some interesting independent shops. Luckily there's a Costa open for breakfast.
We booked a single night and found this to be the worst hotel we've ever experienced. The "manager" was brusque and clearly couldn't be bothered with any of our concerns. The room was amazing: blood stains on the sheet, disgustingly stained headboard, PAT stickers on kettle etc over 2 years out of date, no bulb in one of the bedside lamps. There were positive aspects: it was quiet and the setting is pleasant. Breakfast should have been provided, since it was booked, but the manager sauntered in 20 mins after it was booked, by which time we had to drive to Costa for a coffee in order to get to our appointment. We specifically chose this place to try to support an independent hotel rather than use a chain; we spent the whole trip wishing we were in a Travelodge or Premier Inn (or pretty much anywhere apart from the Greyhound Inn).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean, warm and comfortable - recommended.

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Cons: Breakfast slightly marred by the bacon cooked folded over - I saw the same way of cooking very recently elsewhere and hope it doesn't become popular.
Location: Lots of people use this location as a starting point for walking or cycling in the hills and woods nearby.
Only stayed one night (but have stayed here before). Excellent room; shower, en-suite, though small, was clean and modern with good shower. Breakfast was fine. Never sampled the pub this time but looks very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wales

Lovely country pub1

Posted Sep 16, 2016
We enjoyed our stay immensely and the food was good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice quiet village location

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Pros: Location and friendliness of locals
Cons: Could do with refurbishment
Would stay there again .might help if staff were a little older and probably permanent
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from swansea

Lovely scenic pub with friendly atmosphere

Posted Aug 5, 2016
Great location surrounded by picturesque cottages and a lovely village. Evening meal options were fantastic and the meal we picked was tasty and good value for money. A beautiful outdoor courtyard to sit in the summer and friendly staff. We stayed overnight and the rooms were a good size although quite basic. Breakfast was delicious. Highly recommended! Would definitely stay again as its so close to lots of attractions. Ideal for couples on A short weekend getaway!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire

Country pub with restaurant and rooms

Posted Jul 12, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff. Food excellent. Good large comfortable bed.
Cons: Moneybury Hill room. Bathroom needs more shelving. Bedroom had no mirror. Shower temperature was variable during a shower!
Location: Ideal quiet village. Walks in the Chilterns. Near to Heathrow and conurbations.
Lack of parking a problem but a villager helped out. Very friendly staff with excellent food. Accommodation very clean and comfortable. Location ideal for our needs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 4, 2016
Food was wonderful and so was the beer. Staff friendly and room clean and comfortable. Perfect overnight stay if you plan to walk the Ashridge Estate to the Ivanhoe Beacon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East Coast USA

We're Coming Back

Posted Apr 28, 2016
Pros: Everything
Location: We came to the area for hiking and the beautiful Ashridge Estate was within walking distance of the Inn.
We had a totally delightful experience the night we stayed at The Greyhound. The staff were terrific, the rooms and amenities exceeded our expectation, and the food was wonderful. The trip from London to Tring was quick and the countryside beautiful. We can't wait to return for another, longer stay,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rochester, Kent

Quiet Village pub with excellent restaurant

Posted Mar 8, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Parking was a little difficult as it is a very busy pub/restaurant but in a quiet village location.
Brief overnight stay convenient to an activity which was planned for the next morning. Friendly staff, comfortable room and excellent restaurant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A good place to stay

Posted Jan 22, 2016
Pros: Very clean and friendly staff
Cons: My particular room had a very small shower room which had no space to put toiletries. Could have done with it being a bit bigger.
Location: Stayed one night for business so not really relevant. It was great for where I needed to go.
Very friendly staff, clean and tidy room, nice atmosphere, good food. Would say the food was a little expensive for a pub, but was good quality so didn't mind too much. They did have a set menu with 3 courses if you wanted to keep costs down. Would not hesitate to stay here again.