Ratings based on 178 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Weymouth Dorset

Good location for country walking

Posted Jan 7, 2018
Pros: The staff were all very helpful and friendly. Lovely village location.
Cons: Make the room "The Brick Kiln" that we were in into a single, it was far too small for two people and a double bed. Make the shower bigger-too small.
Location: Good location for country walking
The staff were all very good, helpful and friendly, no complaints at all. Our room, "The Brick Kiln was far too small for two people, as was the bathroom and shower cubicle. The hotel does not provide hand soap in their rooms - quite extraordinary!!! They only provide shower gel but not shampoo. On a three night stay, the towels were not changed once. There was a very strong smell in the corridor outside the room like tobacco smoke that they had tried to mask with a spray. There were problems with the wifi which made it virtually impossible to use, very disappointing. The Greyhound boasts having a top restaurant and chef, but the evening meals were disappointing, the food was dry, tasteless and overcooked - nouveau cuisine plated artistically but small portions. The good thing being a Hall and Woodhouse pub, the beer was very good. The breakfasts were very good too.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from stoke on trent

clean room and pleasant bar with open fire.

Posted Dec 16, 2017
Pros: Bar area
Cons: parking
Parking wasn't so good as the parking and limited spaces available was also shared by nearby residents. The room that I stayed in had a low entrance and it was fitted with a bulky hydraulic door closer. Unfortunately I managed to bang my head against the pointed arm of this closer, which resulted in a cut to my forehead. I mentioned this to who I thought was the manager at beakfast. He promptly replied "that was clever of you" !! Has you can imagine I was not to pleased with his remark. After all it can easily be rectified and an apology would have been more appropriate.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Folkestone

Gorgeous place with friendly people!!!

Posted Dec 10, 2017
Very friendly place. Excellent service. Would love to come back and spend more time discovering the area.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overpriced

Posted Dec 3, 2017
Pros: The waiting staff were friendly.
Cons: More realistic and considerate with pricing, even the breakfast was a small portion, paid way too much for one night. Won't go back here.
Location: -
Ridiculously overpriced to stay even for one night here, small bathroom and very plain/basic room. To leave to go anywhere or to get a taxi there is extremely pricey aswell. Unfairly priced.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from surrey

Gorgeous country gastro pub

Posted Oct 2, 2017
If you want an authentic English country pub with great food then The Greyhound Inn is worth a visit. it's cosy with an inglenook fireplace to warm you on cold winter nights. The dining area is bright and spacious with a great menu to choose from. The pub also offers accommodation - either in upstairs rooms or across a courtyard. Ours was a double which was huge with walk-in closet and large bathroom. It was tastefully decorated and had a TV and in-room tea & coffee. Breakfast was included - a choice of cereals with full English which was delicious. The Inn is handy for Tring or Berkhamsted. One last thing...the staff were courteous and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. Highly recommended. All in all a lovely stay in beautiful countryside.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Olde world idyll

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Pros: It is not the mediocre run of the mill hotel, it has character and is very friendly.
Cons: nothing
Location: If you would like to have a walk along a canalside then Berkhamsted is close by, also the Roald Dahl museum is a haven of fun for children and adult
We have just had a lovely long weekend at the Greyhound Inn Aldbury. It is set within the Chilterns countryside and is the perfect spot to relax and chill out. We were warmly greeted and all staff at all times were; friendly, polite and efficient. The hotel décor reflects the age of the premises, and it's quirkiness - inglenook fireplace and stove, plus bleached tables, very rustic and keeping in character. The menu is also varied, and all food was beautifully cooked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Berkshire

Tring Break

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Pros: Waited more than 10 min before breakfast waitress acknowledged us on Saturday. She was busy but a hello and I'll be with you shortly would have helped
Good location for walking and exploring the Chilterns. Friendly staff and good food.
5 out of 5
by Lesley

Fantastic inn in beautiful setting with great food

Posted Sep 17, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent location for local hiking. The owners and staff were outstanding - friendly, accommodating, and helpful. The food was amazing - the best dinner we had during our 2 1/2 week tour of England. Would go back in a heartbeat!
5 out of 5
by JOHN

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 28, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Nice Quiet Hotel

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Pros: Staff were nice, Room was great.
Cons: Yoghurt and some fruit with breakfast, were the only things not there
Location: Aldbury is a historic Village, tucked away in forest and farmland.
Stayed 2 nights in the Aldbury Suite. Very roomy, comfortable, and clean. Really enjoyed our stay. Fantastic evening Meals, and a great atmosphere.