Ratings based on 261 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hertfordshire

Beautiful hotel in tranquil surrounding

Posted Feb 20, 2017
We booked a half board package deal in a superior room and couldn't of been more happy. The room was large and modern, newly decorated. The staff were friendly and helpful, and the food was absolutely amazing. The pool and spa facilities were an added bonus! We've booked to go back again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from W

Could do better

Posted Feb 15, 2017
There may well be lovely or even decent rooms here, but mine was not one of them. Small and tired I could've coped with, but not the scratchiest bed linen known to man, a corona of light around curtains which failed to block the glare from an up lighter positioned just outside the window and the throb of a boiler or air con unit. A miserable night of no sleep resulted. Avoid!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 17, 2017 by DGMRM, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are very sorry to hear that you have not enjoyed your stay and we do hope you have reported this to reception. We are in the process of a major bedroom refurbishment and all the things mentioned will be addressed in the due cause. We do hope to be able to welcome you again in the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wiltshire

The dog that's had its day ...

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Pros: It has a lovely atmosphere reminiscent of being a true country house, a weekend "pile", shooting parties, glamorous balls, etc.
Cons: The rooms in the old house desperately need updating. See my overall comments above.
Location: You're at the foot of the Chilterns so the location is beautiful (albeit a mile out of Tring centre) so plenty of decent walking around.
We lived in the Pendley area for 30 years and for that reason had never stayed there, although had visited numerous time for various functions, and it was always renowned as a 'posh', pricey hotel. We moved away 12 months ago and had cause to come back to the vicinity, hence our stay. To be honest, it was disappointing. The house itself is lovely and reminiscent of a much grander era some years ago. But our room was a let-down. Everything was tired, from the huge, old fashioned box of a TV (housed in a TV cabinet), to the tatty shower screen. The curtains did not attach properly at the top of the rail, probably because they are/were very heavy, quality curtains at some point but very hard to draw, and so they've been wrenched off the rail at the top. But they did block out 75% of the light, and we are still in winter, so it wasn't really a big deal. Odd little quirks let it down, such as only one packet of biscuits for two guests. Are they really economising on THAT scale?! And the floor creaked so much that if you were to visit the bathroom in the night you'd probably wake up the whole of Tring. But it is an old country house, so that at least is forgivable. And on the plus side, the room was spotless, the location is lovely - blissfully silent at night, the odd peacock prowling around during the day, the staff very friendly, and so on. We didn't have breakfast and so can't comment on any dining experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 4, 2017 by DGMRM, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at Pendley Manor. We are very glad to hear that you have enjoyed the atmosphere of the manor house and we do apologise that the room was a let down for you. As you have seen whilst being with us, we are in the middle of our refurbishment, whilst the manor house itself will be the last phase of the project. We have half of our bedrooms refurbished and I am sorry that you did not had a chance to stay in them. We do hope to be able to welcome you again, maybe after the manor has been completely refurbished, to see the changes.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

How do they survive?

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Pros: Newly decorated, clean room.
Cons: Lots!
My room was lovely and newly decorated, and the hotel has many friendly staff, but... the place is empty, and it shows on so many levels: On arrival, the first person I met asked me with surprise in his voice: "Why are you here?" Outside my room was scafolding, beautifully lit up like a chirstmas tree with flood lights all night, complementing the fire alarm flashing light on the ceiling. The shower only even got luke warm, the hot tub and out of order ...empty. The breakfast hall was empty, and all the serving containers... empty too. The friendly waiter quickly tried to set me at ease by offering me a full breakfast of my choice: "What can I ask the chef to make you?" I asked for an omlet, and was told that they can make all sorts of eggs... but not omlets. Boiled, poached, scrambled, fried... just not omlet. (The only other party who arrived during my breakfast, also asked for an omlet, and got the same answer.) I asked for coffee, it came right at the end, after I finished my breakfast. When the checkout staff asked me how my stay was, I told them about my experience. They were very concerned and promised that the duty manager would email me. My inbox, is still.... empty, just like the car park was. Such a shame, as it seems like a hotel with so much potential.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 26, 2017 by DGMRM, Hotel Management
AB, thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at Pendley Manor Tring. We do our best to ensure that all of our guests have an enjoyable time whilst they are with us and we are sorry that on this occasion we did not meet with your expectations. Our Assistant Manager has been in touch via email with you and I am sorry to hear that this has not resolved the issues you have mentioned. I am very sorry that you have left us disappointed but do hope to have the chance to welcome you back in the future, to discover the changes. Kind regards Rene Meyer Deputy General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Watford

Lovely hotel

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Room was ready early and was very large and comfy. The staff were very friendly and polite. Fantastic hotel which is being renovated and look forward to a return visit.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 17, 2017 by DGMRM, Hotel Management
Steve, thank you so much for your lovely review. We are very glad to see that you had a wonderful time at Pendley Manor and thoroughly enjoyed your stay. We are looking forward seeing you again soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from bedford

Beautiful old building in need of TLC

Posted Dec 12, 2016
A lovely old building with openfire & fantastic staircase. Good facilities & public spaces. The bedroom was another matter. Toilet barely worked the bed was tiny & hard. The phone rang but didn't work. The bathroom was horrific. When we complained we were told the hotel was being renovated. True I am sure but we were still stuck with a worn grubby uncomfortable room. The staff did there best but all seemed to have a limited grasp of English.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 14, 2016 by DGMRM, Hotel Management
Andy, thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us and for elaborating on areas for improvement. The majority of these points will be covered by the next phase of our refurbishment programme which has now commenced and will focus on the bedrooms, bathrooms and spa areas within the hotel. This will be a full refurbishment updating the whole infrastructure not just carrying out a simple redecoration. I do hope that you will come and visit us again post our refurbishment to see the changes.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fawlty towers

Posted Nov 26, 2016 on Hotels
This place is really run down. Cold shower, fire alarms going off twice in the night, heating in room not working.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 4, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your review. As you have probably notice whilst with us, we are in the middle of a major refurbishment and we are well excited to show of the new rooms. We are sorry to hear that you have encountered issue with the bedroom and we hope you have mentioned this to the manager on duty who has rectified this for you. Please accept our apology for the fire alarm which disturbed you during the night. The fire alarm is in place for the safety and security of all of our guests and staff and we are very grateful that our night team were able to track down the cause of the alarm without having to evacuate the hotel. We do hope to be able to see you again in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overpriced Hotel

Posted Nov 23, 2016 on Hotels
Unfortunately I was very disappointed in a few things at this rather over priced hotel. 1. Food - very over priced 2. Ordered cheese platter and got 4 crackers, 3 slices of cheese and some grapes. For £9.95 this is really unacceptable to be charging this. 3. When i signed in to the hotel i wasn't told about the facilities and spend ages looking for the gym/sauna/ changing rooms. 4. I booked breakfast when i arrived at a cost of £10 and in the morning they tried to charge me £15 as they said i hadn't booked then it came to light they had me booked twice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 4, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are very sorry to hear that you have left us disappointed and please accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused by the points you have raised. We will be looking into the communication issues encountered with our reception team to ensure that this does not happen again. We hope to be able to welcome you back at Pendley Manor in the future.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Friendly comfortable hotel

Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Hotels
Room was a little 'tired' but hotel was lovely. Staff extremely friendly & helpful. Breakfast was a good full English. Had evening meal in restaurant one evening, excellent standard of food. Would highly recommend
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 4, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your lovely comments about your recent stay with us. We are very glad to read that you had a good time and enjoyed your stay. We do hope to see you again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing staff

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Pros: Friendly and helpful staff. Large rooms and bathroom. Great views from the bedroom. Beautiful grounds. Delicious breakfast.
Cons: My room was a little dated.
Location: Tring is only about a ten minute walk away and we had a lovely meal in a restaurant there.
From the moment you arrive the staff at Pendley Manor are so welcoming. There is someone there to open the door for you and help you with your luggage. The reception staff are very quick and polite too. The room I stayed in was lovely, a lovely four poster bed with great views out of the window. The bathroom was huge and a little quirky. Both the room and bathroom were spotlessly clean. The shower was not great though and we had a little problem with the noise from the wedding below. However, after speaking to the manager there about these issues he dealt with them accordingly, making sure that I was happy with the outcome and leaving me a customer who will return again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 18, 2016 by DGMRM, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Pendley Manor. It is lovely to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and many thanks for the kind comments about the staff. Everyone will be thrilled to read them! We look forward seeing you again soon.