Ratings based on 112 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Louisiana

The nicest place in Walsenberg, CO

Posted Aug 15, 2016
The Best Western Rambler in Walsenberg, CO is the best choice in this very small town on I-25. The staff were professional, the hot breakfast was fine, and the room was spacious and relatively clean. The only drawback was the level of noise coming from the room above and the hallway. This did calm down about 10:30 P.M.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Great staff with Heather and cj. There is some construction but reasonably managed.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very quiet and comfortable

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Check in was easy, she was extremely friendly, room was clean and comfortable. I had a great stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

totally unable to sleep due to noisy ac and fridge

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Pros: not as light flooded as some-which was good
Cons: noisy appliances
Location: not much
no sleep loud ac and fridge blinding TV light
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 31, 2016
A/C did not work properly , on a very hot day Tried to get our $ back, but said because we Booked through Expedia, we would not get a refund
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Only option in Walsenburg

Posted Jul 14, 2016
I would never stay there again. Lights out (& no replacements), tv didn't work, blanket had bad odor. On top of that rolls of carpet and lumber were almost blocking our door. Way too much money for what it is, but then there isn't anyplace else to stay!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Coloradoan

About all you can get in this area.

Posted Jun 8, 2016
Pros: nothing-it was just adequate
Cons: Decide who is their customer.
Location: Not much
Disliked attitude of staff when I wanted to use a different credit card to pay bill. Told me that it was already paid for and nothing could be done about it- except for me to contact Expedia directly, as if Expedia was their customer and not me. If that is true, I will not ever book rooms thru Expedia again.
2 out of 5
by Eric from denver

Odd and on track for a terrible remodel

Posted Mar 31, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is terrible, but out of what's available in Walsenberg, it's probably the best. It looks like it was undergoing a remodel--one that was taking quite awhile and was being done with low quality craftsmanship. There were patched holes in the walls that hadn't been painted and where there was new paint, you could tell it had been done before the fixtures went in. Neither the televisions or the phone worked. The only areas that looked good were the breakfast room and the pool area. The room looked nothing like the photos online. The other odd thing was that it looked like several families were living on property. All night we could hear voices/music and when we went around back of where our single story room was (it was outside the main building), there wasn't nothing but a garage--are people living in the garage? Just an odd hotel. If visiting the Great Sand Dunes, do yourself a favor and stay in Alamosa instead.
2 out of 5
by Natalie from Odessa, TX

Needs to work on equipment inside the rooms

Posted Feb 22, 2016 on Hotels
First of all I must explain that the hotel is going thru major renovations so it looks a mess. When we checked in I was bumped from the suite I paid for to a double room because I have dogs. The room was very clean. We walked into the room and the a/c was on so I turned on the heat. The heater never did heat. The next day the unit quit altogether. The refrigerator did not work at all. You had to find the book listing the television channels because the up and down channel buttons did not work on the remote. The only heat in the room is the heater in the bathroom which was awesome. They do have a wonderful breakfast burrito bar where they make your burritos fresh to order. Basically, the hotel could be really nice when they finish the renovations if they will also fix all the stuff in the rooms.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cozy and convenient

Posted Feb 8, 2016
Pros: Location, breakfast, heated pool
Cons: Noisy heater
A welcome sight after driving through snowy weather. The pool was heated and just perfect to relax in. A great breakfast with complete with a fresh omelet.