Ratings based on 139 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Stale smoke smell made me sick

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff
Cons: I don't know. Maybe it could be torn down and rebuilt.
The staff was friendly, but could not speak English well enough. We ended up getting a non-accessible room due to poor communication. We later spoke to the manager, who was respectful, but he was unable to acknowledge or explain the awful stale smoke smell in our room. He said all rooms were non-smoking and reconditioned.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, Tx

Great room and staff at a great price!

Posted Jan 29, 2017
I ended up having to stay in the area for a few days, and after reading other reviews I decided to give this place a shot. Like many others, I was not disappointed. A clean and comfortable room with a very solid working heater. The wifi is a little weak but the staff is as accommodating as I've ever experienced anywhere. They're happy to help with any issues, though I can't say I had a single complaint.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

comfortable hotel and easy access from I 40

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Pros: the steam heat in the shower
Cons: It was fine as it was
Location: We chose the location because of its proximity to the highway. We did not do any activities in the area
The greeting was warm and we were able to get what we wanted in room location. The room was spacious and comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

For the price it was very well with it!

Posted Jan 18, 2017
The room was very clean and large, it was a step back in to the past but well maintained. I will be staying again as I do a lot of work in Raton.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient and clean motel

Posted Dec 6, 2016 on Hotels
Good for road trip rest. No complaints. No bugs or thugs. Very close to Raton Pass. Nostalgic older motel in this North Raton area but has been updated. Authentic NM travel feel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Outdated hotel in marginal area.

Posted Dec 2, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Overhaul hotel room might help but location isn't great.
Location: Don't know...left and went into town.
Booked online. Arrived early evening & located hotel. Located in area of town I would describe as "marginal". Wife uncomfortable. Spoke to staff about looking at room before occupying. Owners "seemed" like nice people. Showed me room and it looked like a holdover from the 1950's. Dark, old furniture. Bathroom broken up, tub and toilet in one area, sink in another area with formica countertop, tiny sink and plumbing showing under countertop. Room not spacious. Explained to owners it "wasn't satisfactory" and told them why. They told me "I didn't have to accept it if I didn't want to"! I elected to look elsewhere. Sure enough, they still charged my card. Spoke to Orbitz about issue and they "investigated" and did not reverse the charge because of cancellation policy. I strongly believe that "reasonable standards" for what is expected of a hotel room should have been factored into the decision but they just fell back on the "cancellation clause". Save your money and aggravation. Went to town and got nice Quality Inn with 20th century furnishings for slightly more!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 29, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Adequate hotel

Posted Nov 18, 2016
Location: It was hard to find. It is off the beaten path.
This is an older facility. It was clean. Lacked plugins or electronics.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Cozy

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Nice clean room. Kind, accommodating staff. Room had a steam bath shower.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 16, 2016 on Hotels
This place is a dump. It is poorly lighted and does not look safe. 2 rooms shown us were not acceptable and then we could not get a refund. This facility should be removed from Hotels.com site. We left and stayed at the Micro tel which was great. The owner was rude