Ratings based on 168 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Clean.

Posted Jul 19, 2017
The hotel room itself was clean, sheets over bleached, bed terribly uncomfortable, so many lights outside that it was to bright to sleep! The lights shown thru the bamboo/wicker(?) curtain all night! The air conditioner never did cool the room down comfortably enough to sleep well. The staff spoke very little English. There was nothing to eat for special diets, nothing gluten free, no decaf, no breakfast choices at all for me. The shower door didn't close, but the water was very hot!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean, great shower, roomy

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Room was very clean. Plenty of room. Shower was wonderful. A/C really cold. Beds were just so so.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Slidell, LA

Nice retro stay!

Posted Jun 30, 2017
During our 4 day trip from Louisiana to Idaho, we stayed at Budget Host in Raton, NM. Out of the 4 days of driving and Hotels/Motels, this say was the best! I got the best sleep here. Room was clean, has a mini frig, and microwave. I was able to bring my two small Poodles for a small fee.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from R

Great value

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Old but very clean. Staff was pleasant and helpful. Room had fridge, microwave, and steam shower.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 24, 2017
When I travel, I avoid the interstate franchises and prefer to stay in town. I also prefer to dine in locally owned and operated restaurants. To this end, it's nice to see "Melody Lane" returning to its former glory. I stayed here over 20 years ago when it boasted a 3 star rating from AAA. I'm so happy to report, that under new ownership, it is being restored to same quality of yesteryear. The rooms have been renewed with fresh paint, new carpet, and everything put in working order. The rooms are supplied with all the amenities of motels that charge a lot more. Plus, each room is equipped with a steam bath that worked great and was much appreciated after an eight hour drive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Basic but very good

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Older but very clean and comfortable room. The rooms have fairly recently been updated. It is clear that they work on a tight budget but if you don't need fancy then this place is very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Excellent retro hotel for a great stay!

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Pros: Everything!
Love this little place...it reminds me of childhood trips out west. The hotel is clean, with new paint job, carpet and even new mattresses. It is like taking a trip down memory lane...except it's "Melody Lane". The hotel owners and staff are so kind and are ready to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. The little breakfast nook reminds me of going to Grandma's house and having a meal. They have muffins, cereal, even a waffle maker for you to use, with all the fixings. It is quiet, on the edge of town, and convenient to Interstate 25. Will stay here every time I am in Raton!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Bang for your buck!

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: Old property but very well maintained, decent size room, friendly staff, good beds, loved the breakfast area and service, quiet surroundings
Cons: None
Location: Close proximity to I-25 and US Route 87.
Highlights - Family owned/maintained property, received best reception and room service, very clean and safe, decent continental breakfast (hot waffle machine, fresh fruits included), small-size motel but decent room space, parking spot in-front of your room, close proximity to I-25 and US Route 87. Like others, I had considered this motel based on previous reviews here and after my stay I can firmly say my experience is not any different then majority have described. We simply enjoyed our stay for one night! Since I was travelling with my family I wanted a well maintained room, a good breakfast service and a safe environment and I got all at reasonable price. Thank you for not disappointing me!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 28, 2017
This motel provides a travel friendly location with clean rooms and friendly staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great value, always clean

Posted May 20, 2017
Stayed here many times and it is always excellent value, clean and pleasant.