Ratings based on 43 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet location

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: The noisy air conditioners
The staff who checked us in were very helpful in changing our rooms to a more convenient location, we were very happy.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 4, 2017 by Hassel Thom - General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear valued guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay experience. I am pleased to learn that we were able to meet your expectations after the initial challenge. Sincerely,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Research hotels before booking this one. Lack of amenities and staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenience

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Pros: The security system.
Cons: Add more local dishes to the menu,clean the pool everyday, not have guests wait hours for a room & have a generator that can service the entire hotel.
Location: I didn't do anything nearby, I went out the area to the malls and family. Anything nearby did not look entertaining or safe.
From the day I checked in was a disaster, had to wait hours to be checked into because I was given a room which a disaster. The food was sub-par, breakfast on most days was not worth the price that was being charged. No variety, lunch and dinner was exactly the same everyday. Biggest disappointment was no local cuisine for foreign visitors during lunch or dinner. Menu was catered to more international style dishes. Lights went out and the back up generator did not service the guests rooms, only the main lobby. Pool was not cleaned every day. However, the manager did try his make my stay as comfortable as possible during my stay. I do feel however, having to wait hours to check in, I should have been given the complimentary breakfast for my inconvenience. A big disappointment for the money I paid to stay there.
2 out of 5
by Jorge

Posted Feb 23, 2017 on Hotels
The people isn't to friendly. Good service not the top choice. Also the place me on a room with no water with out telling me to the time of arrival, which meen no shower for me during my stay.
5 out of 5
by Roger

Recommended: Cara Suites (Claxton Bay) - a 5 plus

Posted Feb 4, 2017 on Hotels
Exceptional stay. Felt safe, comfortable and will return again. Cindy, the desk clerk and all the staff, bartenders, maids highly commendable and corteous.
4 out of 5
by George

Nice affordable location

Posted Jan 30, 2017 on Hotels
Second time staying at Cara Suites. From a landlocked state so the ocean view (albeit with some decommissioned vessels) is great. Place is starting to show it's age but it appeared there were construction crews onsite during my visit to hopefully remedy that.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad not good

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Bad not good horrible put me on the old side had bugs price changed when I got there bad horrible never again Bad not good horrible put me on the old side had bugs price changed when I got there bad horrible never again
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Va Beach

Decent hotel but not as nice as advertised.

Posted Dec 28, 2016 on Orbitz
This place is ok but the location is bad. The staff is what really what makes Cara Suites acceptable- they are outstanding! Ocean view rooms are quite a distance away from the ocean and blocked by large apartment buildings. It's located a minimum 30 minute drive from anything, so you're kinda stuck there unless you rent a car. It's also not the safest area of the country, as the staff will tell you.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dear hotel owner, Stop and Improve

Posted Dec 8, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is an overpriced and old hotel , service in Trinidad and Tobago is bad and this is the standard for this country. The air conditioner was so loud I can sleep well
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 13, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for sharing your recent experience and in particular how your comfort level was negatively affected due to the noise level of the air-condition unit in your assigned guest room. At Cara Suites Hotel we do place additional emphasis on ensuring that each customer receives value for money by way of the products and services promoted however, based on your brief review, if is fair to state that your expectations for which I extend an apology on behalf of our Team. My review of the many travelers reviews related to our property and those of other properties in Trinidad does not necessarily corroborate your opinion of the service levels of Trinidad. Sincerely, Hassel Thom General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel by ocean

Posted Dec 4, 2016
I would recommend this hotel to anyone . Very nice and friendly environment
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 13, 2016 by Hassel Thom, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Reviewer, Thank you for your brief, yet positive feedback of our property and staff. We do look forward to future opportunities to be of service. Sincerely, Hassel Thom General Manager