Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by John from San Diego

Irie!

Posted Jun 5, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed at the hotel my first and last night in Trinidad. Hotel staff very nice and accommodating. It's a boutique type hotel with a lot of personality. Good value for the price. Restaurants and night life on the Avenue nearby.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 15, 2016 by Pam, Hotel Management
Hi John! Thank you very much for your review. We are glad you enjoyed our whimsical retreat and hope to welcome you again soon!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from G

The best mini hotel in the area by far

Posted Apr 7, 2016
With only a limited time to spend there and on top of this my tardiness they provided for me exquisitly. Breakfast included, clean, air-condition and friendly staff really made me feel like home. It was that special blend of being a foreigner but also being part of the locals. In all I was a wonderful stay. Practically in town and all necessities at walking distance or a few minutes drive. The security and assistance was great and I couldn't help but fall for the customer service. For my first visit to trinidad it was really a home away from home thank you fourty winks.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 15, 2016 by Front desk staff :), Hotel Management
Hi Johnathan, Thank you so much for your positive review! We really enjoyed having you stay with us and would love to see you again soon.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dundee, Scotland

Bright small guesthouse in good location

Posted Mar 27, 2016
We stayed a week in this friendly small place, efficiently run by a local person, who was knowledgeable and helpful. It was immaculately clean , safe and in a good location. We found the first room we stayed in small, but were moved to a larger room when we requested this. Quiet area. Happy to recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 15, 2016 by Jhodie, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for recommending Forty Winks Inn. We try to accommodate all of your needs and are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent Hotel in the City's Capital

Posted Feb 17, 2016 on Hotels
We got there early as our flight was a red-eye and we had to wait until 11AM to check in, which was fine. The hotel was small and quaint in an OK part of town. The city is not that pretty so considering this the location was acceptable. They did not have keys for us to the room as the prior guest forgot to return them so they had to open and close the door for us. This actually was not an issue since there was always someone there. The room was small and clean. The AC worked well and the HBO and cable TV was nice. The bed was comfortable. We did notice and kill 2 mosquitoes in the room. We wore bug repellent the entire time while in the country so we didn't get bitten once. Breakfast was nice and tasty. The staff provided us with some info on the island but not much. All-in-all it was a fine stay for the price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 30, 2016
It helps that we know arrival times so we can give some advice as to the possibility of an early check-in, and if not possible, to make some suggestions.Check- in is at 12 noon. We can give as much information as clients want to know and maps were supplied. Our small Boutique Inn was recently fully re-furbished, and our mantra is in to sleep , out to have fun in the sun.!! We are located in the area of Embassies, Restaurants, Bars and Entertainment. Location...location...location... Thank you for taking the time to review.
2 out of 5
by Dwight from Washington State

Nice management but?????

Posted Jan 21, 2016 on Hotels
My last stay there the room I got smelled of mildew and I had to ask for my room to be sprayed for mosquitoes. I still had them in my room all night.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 7, 2016 by Pam, Hotel Management
So sorry! the room had not been used for a few days and probably needed airing.. As for the mosquitos? That's par for the course in the tropics, not that we have a bad problem.The doors are bug proofed but then they can get in when the door or windows are opened. Sorry your experience was not as good as the first time.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Puerto Rico

Small but comfortable hotel near Queen's Park!!

Posted Jan 17, 2016
Pros: The professional and friendly service and the comfortable, clean, and beautiful surroundings.
Cons: Maybe having food on hand for late arrivals such as us.
Location: It is located in a very safe area of Port of Spain close to Queen's Park Savannah which makes it very convenient to those interested in Carnival.
This hotel was perfect for what we needed for a one night stay: a clean, comfortable place with all of the basic amenities (a/c, cable TV, nice bathroom with blow dryer, etc.) and with the option of breakfast the following day ($5 USD per person). I especially liked the color scheme and decoration of the whole hotel. The breakfast room was beautiful (it is open-air and runs along the side of the hotel, sort of like a hallway) and had books you could read, maps of Trinidad, and brochures. Everyone was very friendly (Casmilla who booked a half day sightseeing tour for us, Pam during check-in at front desk, and Jeanna during breakfast and at check-out)! Pam actually went out of her way to walk us to the corner and direct us toward a restaurant open on a Sunday night (we arrived late from the north coast). While walking to the restaurant, we saw that it was close to Queen's Park Savannah which means it is convenient for Carnival. We had a good night's sleep, headed out on our tour and were then transported to the airport by our tour guide Nick. We would definitely stay there again!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 1, 2016 by Pam, Hotel Management
Thank you for your lovely review. We've actually re-furbished all our rooms since. With only 5 rooms it is really not viable to run a full food service but if you had mentioned it, the night staff could have referred you to an all night supermarket 2 minutes walk away that sells food and baked goods. Hope to see you another time.
2 out of 5
by Yi

Overpriced for its condition & service (lack of)

Posted Dec 11, 2015 on Hotels
- location close to several embassie - small rooms with old/dirty blankets & bed covers, filthy lamp shades, and dirty floors - for the price it charged, there was no service, not even house keeping (had to ask for toilet paper/garbage bag)
Comment from Hotel Management
May 7, 2016 by Pam, Hotel Management
We're sorry that you misconstrued the pattern on the lamp shades to be dirt. I assure you it was not.. I note that you were upgraded to another room at no additional cost and we do, and did provide daily cleaning of rooms.Garbage bins exist in all rooms. I really do not recall you having any complaints during your 3 night stay but am sorry that your experience was not what you expected. Your rate of US 95 for 2 persons was very competitive which I believe was the reason you chose to stay with us. All our rooms have since been re-furbished.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 3, 2015 on Hotels
Ok hotel. Staff was nice. Too loud due to construction and other guests arriving very late at night.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 7, 2016 by Pam, Hotel Management
We're sorry but we have no control over nearby construction and while we do ask our guests checking in late to be mindful of other guests, we can only hope that they will exercise constraint, again something out of our control. Thank you for taking the time to post a review.
3 out of 5
by Klaus Bo from Copenhagen

Posted Oct 22, 2015 on Hotels
Very good service and very helpful with guiding around the city, finding places to see and locating other hotels. The room are on the small side, but each kept in its own set of colours, adding to the atmosphere of the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 7, 2016 by Pam, Hotel Management
Glad you enjoyed your stay at our very Caribbean themed Inn. We recommend in to sleep and out to have fun.
3 out of 5
by Ralph W

one night stay in port of spain.

Posted Oct 20, 2015 on Hotels
Small room. Plain and simple. nice location.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 7, 2016 by Pam, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are a small Boutique Inn but provide most of the services available at large Hotels.