Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Good Location and Nice Decoration

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Pros: good location and nice decoration
Location: Safeway and freeway
One night stay for the trip to Great Sand Dunes. Good location, close to Safeway and Freeway. Nice Christmas decoration in the lobby.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice little B&B

Posted Dec 13, 2016
The innkeeper was very nice. The breakfast was good. We did hear the train but it wasn't too bad. I think it only came through once in the middle of the night. Bring earplugs if you are a light sleeper. I would recommend this hotel. There didn't seem to be a lot of dinner choices on a Sunday night
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Great Find!

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: Charm, décor, location
Cons: Trains are amusing at first but annoying in the middle of the night !! Just be aware !!
A great piece of history !! Quirky B&B, decorated for the era ! Lots of charm ! Comfortable & clean !!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from US

A rather unique and pleasing experience.

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Location: Location was satisfactory. Just passing through so things to day was N/A
Overall very good. The only issue was that breakfast wasn't available before 8:30 am which is a bit late for travelers.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Historic hotel

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Pros: Historic elegance, free breakfast, price.
Location: Walsenburg features at least one great art gallery, The Museum of Friends, and several antique/collectibles shops.
A great historic hotel established in 1907 with creaky floors, but well-renovated, reflecting early turn-of-the-century elegance. A nice breakfast featuring freshly cooked pancakes, sausage, and pastries. You MUST call the hotel directly to arrange for check-ins after 9pm! Someday, I'll get there early enough to try the attached restaurant's prime-rib special for a Friday- or Saturday night dinner.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Switzerland

Nice old hotel, romantic.

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Pros: The romantic facility in the lobby, the historical touch.
Cons: New air condition.
Location: Why do the trains make so laud each hour in the night? There is nobody on the street. But you can make highking.
Old hotel, needs renovations. Nice facility, familiar atmosphere, but very bad air condition. The ventilatory doesn't work. Small town, hardly no restaurants availabel, only fastfood and chinese. The bed was good, breakfast very good.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

The railroad track 1/2 block away ruined our night

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Pros: Quaint, historic, pleasant
Cons: Would really liked to have had the restaurant and lounge open . . . we were looking forward to that. Divert the trains??? Don't know what else.
Location: The town is pretty quiet. We walked around; went into the Dollar General for kicks! That's about it.
This B&B is in a very quaint, pleasant building, and we had a nice room. However, we were looking forward to being able to eat at the restaurant that is part of the hotel. We learned after arriving that the restaurant and the lounge are closed on Sundays and Mondays which is when we were visiting. The real downside, however, was that we had a terrible night's sleep, because this place is about 1/2 block away from a railroad track and we were awakened 6 times, about once an hour by the train whistle and the rumble of the train as it passed through town, seemed like almost under our window! Really a shame, because it is a cute place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 31, 2016
really nice hotel, great flair. but: breakfast was two muffins, nothing more
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from E from LA

Convenient to our travel route.

Posted Aug 2, 2016
I had a real problem with the food I ate. Be careful what you order. Don't misunderstand , the food tasted great, but the corn and crab did not agree with me. Otherwise the hotel was just fine.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice close to shopping.

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Pros: The privacy . Great breakfast as well. Fresh and hot.
I have never stayed in a Bed and Breakfast type of place before. I enjoyed it very much and would stay there again.