Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
58% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

That's not a hotel

Posted Oct 2, 2016
Lots of mosquitoes, worst bathroom ever. I just think my home is way better a hotel than MelbourneInn Hotel. In as much as Expedia need to do business, i think MelbourneInn hotel must not be a hotel to be associated with. Expedia is a great company with better reputation
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Location, Decent room for short stay

Posted Jun 2, 2016 on Hotels
Location of Melbourne is excellent as it is just off the central hub of nightlife in Port of Spain (Ariapita Avenue). Easily inside walking distance to restaurants, street food, fast food, Clubs, pharmacies and a supermarket. The room was quite clean with the exception of the Air condition vent. Daily cleaning ensured the room was well maintained. It is a fairly simple room containing a bed, small refrigerator, pair of nightstands, table, sink, television mounted on the wall and a wardrobe. Though it should be noted that the layout is a bit awkward when it comes to the washroom as one has to pass through the shower to get to the toilet. From arrival to departure all staff was very courteous and helpful. However after leaving the room we realized an item was left behind. i re-visited the next day to ask management however the gentleman said that he did not get any items therefore it must have been tossed out. I asked him if he could be so kind to check the room as no other person had yet used it but he refused. I thought this could have been handled a lot better.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overpriced motel not hotel!

Posted Nov 8, 2015
This hotel was very disappointing. It was rather expensive and facilities were poor. There was no hot water for the first night and I was told it was heated by solar power so let the water run which I did for over 2 hours.Not my idea of a hotel experience thumbs down!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tobago

Nice Guest House in the heart of Port Of Spain

Posted Nov 6, 2015
Pros: Clean, Comfortable, Proximity to the Avenue, Accommodating staff.
Location: Near Ariapita Avenue. Many food places and bars and clubs near by within walking distance
Short but sweet! Basic room for persons just looking for a bed to sleep in while visiting Trinidad. Located just a few short steps from Ariapita Avenue so easy access to food places and the night life.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay on a budget.

Posted Apr 29, 2014
The room was clean, comfortable and air conditioned ( which was most important). In walking distance from food store, restaurants and bars. No phone in the room but a great stay while on a budget.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Craig from Lake Tahoe, NV, USA

Good Location for food and fun.

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Pros: Clean, nice staff, good location.
Cons: I feel that the price is a little high. However, it is on par with the other budget hotels in the area.
Location: 1 block up is a street filled with good food, fun nightlife, and a chance to really see the local side of the city.
For a budget hotel, it is everything you need. A/C, clean room, friendly staff, and close to many good restaurants, bars, and the waterfront.
2 out of 5
by Lynn from Calgary, AB

Meh

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: customer service
Location: near Ariapita Ave
The location was good, close to lots of bars and restaurants of Ariapita ave. Our overall experience was pretty negative though. The reason we booked this hhotel initially was because of the price and it seemed acceptable. We were not expecting anything fancy. First off, we had to wait an hour to check in as there was nobody at the front desk from 3-4pm. We were shown to our room which was supposed to have 2 double beds and a mini fridge and had one double bed and no fridge. just a tiny room with A/C and a television. We were told when we checked in that breakfast was from 8:30 to 10:30. When we went downstairs for breakfast at 10am the next morning, we were told "you're late" by the man working there. We asked when breakfast was done and were told it was at 10am. We decided to leave and have breakfast elsewhere. We did have breakfast there 2 other mornings and the service was fine. Seems like the staff do not understand the concept of customer service here, one woman who served us breakfast was quite pleasant but others made me feel like I was inconveniencing them. We decided to check out a couple of days early and we given quite the hassle and only a partial refund even though we gave them 2 days notice. All in all, I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. It's not terrible, but if you like to feel at home when you travel, this is not the place. Also, this location is very loud, earplugs recommended.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very well located.

Posted Feb 18, 2014
Pros: the location only
Cons: eveything!!!
Location: very well located near aripita ave where all the bars ans restaurants are
Staff was rude and didn't warn us about the parking rules. You have to park your car 9 meters from every corner otherwise they tow your car, it's what happened to us. When we ask about parking our car in the street, the staff never told us about this rule! They should at least mention this rule at the entrance or in their guest book. Plus the toilet was leaking and they never fixed it as they told us. It is very noisy, the staff at night is watching tv very loudly, they don;t care about their guests.
2 out of 5
by A from guyana

Too short

Posted Feb 8, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: The rooms need to be clean more often . The wash rooms need to be upgraged. Each rooms should have a microwave, iron, phone and mirror infront sink.
Location: The location was ok .
I felt scared because i havn,t seen any security guards. Too much noise coming from the fridge which makes it hard to sleep.
3 out of 5
by Mortensen from Denmark

Location

Posted Feb 5, 2014
Pros: Lacation
Cons: The norske from next door neighbour
Melbourne Inn - Trinidad I stayed there 3 days from thursday 30/1 to sunday 2/2.. When i arrived The next door neighbour was renovation his house or at least i thought, saturday morning at 0715 he started demolizing his house with Big machinery, so it was impossible to sleep.. Sunday morning g he started again, but this time at 0600, talked to the guard there who talked to the neighbour, they stopped for 20 min but Then it was destruction time again. So if you're gonna stay here make sure that the next door neighbour is done with demolizing/constructing, because he dont give a sh#t about Your sleep