Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.4 out of 5
44% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
2.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by Diane from Grand Lake, CO

A good place to stop between Denver and Santa Fe

Posted Oct 4, 2013
Pros: Rawleigh and Darrel are outstanding hosts,
Cons: Facility is dated, pool was closed (not on web info). lobby was locked up after hours, no access to fresh air in room unless the door was propped open
Location: Celtic Music, hiking, boating, sight seeing, good museums, arts and craft stores
We had a great stay at the Rio Cucharas Inn. Rawleigh and Darrel are great hosts. We liked the warm and friendly atmosphere and quiet night, Rawliegh made sure that we got the best off season and senior rates when we checked in. The facility is dated, but our room was clean and everything worked just as it should. Breakfast was great, With lots of choices, fresh fruit and excellent coffee. We were disappointed that the pool was closed, Darrel offered to open it for us and went out of his way to make sure we were comfortable.
4 out of 5
by henry from nebraska

Quaint inn-type motel.

Posted Sep 9, 2013
Location: Stayed there on the way to Alamosa.
This motel reminds me of motels of old. The entry is to the outside. Room was spacious and everything worked. Decor is a bit 'dark'. Beds comfortable. We were guided to a small restaurant in Walsenburg that was open only to 7PM, but we eked in before closing. Would stay there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disapointing

Posted Jul 23, 2013
Cons: Needs updating--worn bed linens, dirty carpet
This motel was very old and rundown. The staff was very nice,breakfast was OK. Could't get any WiFi in room or lobby.
1 out of 5
by Steve

Stuck in the 60's

Posted Jun 15, 2013
Pros: The view of the Spanish Peaks is beautiful. It would be a great camping spot.
Cons: Everything
Upon arriving they gave our reserved room away. It is in desperate need of HELP. The hotel has a beautiful setting and I am sure it was a wonderful place to stay 20 years ago. The mattresses are very old, the bedding is dated, the smell is horrific. To make up giving our room away they gave us joining rooms, one of which was a smoking room. The other just stunk. We would have done better going to 7-11 for breakfast. They left out frozen waffles in a bowl.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor Hotel

Posted Jun 10, 2013
The staff didn't know what they were doing - going so far as to barge into our room at 10:30 p.m. to try to give it to someone else. The facilites were ramshamble, but pretty clean. We were not comfortable there.
2 out of 5
by James from Mancos colorado

MY stay at rio cucharis. Walsenburg colo

Posted Dec 3, 2012
Pros: the vew was nice from out side .
Cons: it needs remodled badley.
Location: The motel is in a nice location. easy excess .
The rooms were clean. the staff was nice. the whole place needs to be remodled, new carpet . new blines , every thing in the entire place needs up dated and replaced .
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad experience and I never complain.

Posted Aug 14, 2012
I rarely give negative reviews but this place deserves one I'm afraid. 1) When we arrived we were told the only rooms available were a double with a faulty air conditioner, or a single, although I had made reservations. We took the double since my brother and I did not want to share a bed. It turned out the AC worked well enough to sleep but it never got very cold. OK it happens. The manager did knock $20 off our bill. 2) They advertised a continental breakfast, but the next morning, there was no breakfast, and not only that, the front office was completely locked with nobody there. Nice! When we returned to the room for our 2nd night to pay, the manager told us that somebody called in sick - wow , really 3) Then when we got to our room - they did not make up the room!! Beds untouched, no towels, nothing. 4) The 2nd morning, they did have the continental breakfast. It was sustenance, but the bare minimum. But they have 2 or 3 dogs running around, one of which comes up and lays down next to me while I'm eating breakfast. I love dogs but I don't want strange dogs milling around my breakfast table. Also the manager had to holler at the dogs several times when it started barking or chasing customers pets... not professional.
2 out of 5
by Lisa from Kansas City, Missouri

Would not stay there again.

Posted Aug 7, 2012
Pros: The owner had a couple nice dogs.
Cons: Very poorly maintained. Management not very friendly.
When we arrived we were told they only had one king size bed available even though we had reserved a room with two queen beds. When we said that was not acceptable for three people the manager suddenly came up with a room with two double beds. The pool was so dirty you could not see the bottom. In addition, we were charged $10 more than the rate quoted by Expedia. The manager said it was because we had 3 people. I showed him that our reservation confirmation said 3 people. He then got rather rude and said if I had a problem I should take it up with Expedia.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Off the beaten path

Posted Jun 11, 2012
The location of this hotel gives it charm, but it is also off the beaten path, so it is also away from more business.