Ratings based on 194 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel with one fatal business flaw

Posted Aug 30, 2017
This is a very elegant hotel with exceptional staff. We enjoyed staying there. However, in our room (0214--Valentines Day!) the Internet service was abysmal, less than 1 Mbps upload speed. I had to go to the lobby to get work sent. Even there the upload speed was less than 10 Mbps.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 7, 2017 by Florence Poli, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your kind words. We took good note of our improvements and hope to show you on your future visit taht we will make everything to enhance your parisian experience at the Raphael. With my best regards, Florence Poli
5 out of 5
by Sidney

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 19, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Summer in Paris – Hotel Raphael.

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Pros: Great location and traditional Parisian Grande Dame Hotel feel.
Cons: For decades, the Raphael was among the best places to stay in Paris, but no more. This Hotel needs major investment.
Location: Sight seeing and shopping are all right there.
I really really wanted to like the Hotel Raphael again– if not love it, but unfortunately it is time to move on. This is now a 3 star Hotel with 5 star pricing. The Hotel needs major investment – at the top of the list, reliable air conditioning. No one wants to toss and turn trying to sleep in a hot room on business or for vacation. We moved rooms three times. Even worse, we reserved months in advance and paid extra for an upgraded Deluxe room and a junior suite. Breakfast was expensive, understaffed, with people waiting for too few tables, and although the food was ok, it was often picked over with guests told “c’est finit.” Only after we were asked about it by the Hotel Manager did we see a huge improvement. The good news -- the hotel is in a great location (near the Arc de Triomphe), has a true old Paris feel, and the Manager and her staff are very nice attempting to solve problems, but this hotel needs work to keep its stars. One last point, I observed the Manager of the rooftop bar refuse a table to a group of well-dressed Parisians and hotel guests, only to watch two teenagers plop down in flip flops and order a Coke. When questioned that the other group had been waiting, he was rude and mockingly announced “this is the best rooftop bar” and “it would make no sense to break our group into a few small tables, and miss the ‘fabulous’ rooftop at its best. Apparently, he has not been to the rooftop at the new Peninsula Hotel across the street.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2017 by florence poli, Hotel Management
Dear guest, I would like to thank you for choosing the Raphael while in Paris recently and for sharing your experience. I am really pleased to read that you are linked emotionnally with the Raphael. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience and technical issues you had during your stay, we are indeed in the process of sourcing better suited technical solutions for some of our in-room air conditionning.as well as in regards to the restaurant where we have adressed all these points with the team in order to make sure that such an attitude will never happen again. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon on a future trip and wish you a lovely summer seasons, with my best regards, Florence Poli.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from j

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Great staff, hotel very well located , beautiful room , the only down side is guests of the hotel have no priority on the roof top
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 5, 2017 by Florence Poli, Hotel Management
Dear guest, We thank you for your nice comments and concern about the bar. For your information, be aware that I have reviewed this with the team to have tables reserved for the hotel guests. With my best regards, Florence
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Very calm and nice area near l'arc de triumphe and les champs élisés.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 5, 2017 by Florence Poli, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for your nice comments and we look forward to welcoming you back. With my best regards, Florence Poli
4 out of 5
by Melissa

Posted Jun 26, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely characterful and old traditional hotel. The staff were fantastic and the conceige very informative, recommending a great restaurant on our first evening there as their restaurant was fully booked. They also compensated for this and the fact the room didn't have the view we were after with a bottle of champagne that was a lovely surprise! Highly recommend this hotel- the rooftop terrace has amazing views!!!
5 out of 5
by Whe Do

Old charm and elegant.

Posted May 30, 2017 on Hotels
This was absolutely beautiful hotel and the staff was very friendly. I really enjoyed breakfast and the view from the terrace was magnificent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 17, 2017
Pros: The black out shades on the windows to keep the sun from streaming in. A mosaic of Leda and the Swan in the bath.
Cons: It was difficult at first figuring out how to work the ancient light switches.
Location: 2 blocks from the L'Arc de Triomphe.
The roof terrace is quaint with a great view of the Eiffel Tower and the L'Arc de Triomphe. The room is very old and elegant with extreme French decor. I loved having windows that I can open out to a tiny balcony both in the room and bathroom. There is an elevator with a maroon velvet bench. It's an old and very romantic French building.
5 out of 5
by George

Wonderful hotel!

Posted May 13, 2017 on Hotels
First time at the Raphael. I could not have been any happier. Great hotel, wonderful experience. Beautiful, luxurious, and the staff was great. Sorry to leave!
5 out of 5
by Margaux

Loved the location!

Posted May 11, 2017 on Hotels
Amazing!