Ratings based on 186 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 9, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

First class, luxury hotel close to all amenities

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Luxury hotel, very comfortable, friendly staff great location
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Awesome Views

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: Location. Views. Breakfast
Cons: The time spent at the check in should be less.
Location: The location is great. Visit Comporta Beaches. Do the Dolphins trip. Visit Comporta Village and watch the huge bird nests on the top of the chimneys.
It was a great experience. The hotel stay was very good overall. Due to the good location we managed to do a lot in the region. The long stretchy beaches are great for long walks. We ate great food in Comporta village in this amazing traditional restaurant "Sao Joao". This hotel has great views into the "Estuario do Sado" river and the Atlantic Sea. Great location if you want to do the Dolphin (Roazes do Sado) trip. You literally came out of the hotel and board the catamaran. The breakfast is also great, check the delicious varied fruit and different cakes every day. Free car park. Avoid going to the restaurants by the marina. The food is not good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel and great staff.

Posted Aug 14, 2016 on Orbitz
One of the best hotels in Portugal. Will definitely recommend it.
3 out of 5
by Yuka from Queens, NY

Bit disappointing but good overall

Posted Aug 9, 2016 on Hotels
Located just a few blocks away from the Troia catamaran pier, the Design Hotel is the most convenient place to stay if you're planning to go back and forth to the mainland. However, because of that proximity, the beaches closest to the hotel (about a 5-10 minute walk from the property) are also the most crowded, and palapas cost about 15 euro to rent. The restaurants in the area (there are quite a few to choose from right next to the hotel) also leave a lot to be desired. Every place we tried served sub-par, drab eats that were disappointing compared to the fresh and delicious seafood that can be found right across the river on the Setubal waterfront. When we arrived at the room, I was a bit sad to see that it really didn't look much like the photos at all. All of the photos depict room with a modern bathroom encased in glass, giving the space a light and airy feel. Our bathroom was completely enclosed behind a wooden wall, which was perfectly fine, but it did not look like the photos. The overall feel of the room was still nice but a bit dingy. Not what I expected from the pics and reviews. Our air conditioning also did not work (on a 90-degree day), so we had to call someone to come fix it. We were also told that our bags would be delivered to the room right away, but had to call the front desk after 45 minutes of non-delivery to remind them. My last annoyance was that the coffee maker was finicky and worked only when it wanted to work.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 5, 2016
Very poor service. Unable to get into room at check in time. Food and drink from the pool bar took over 40 minutes to arrive.
5 out of 5
by Jim from Cork

An excellent stay

Posted Jul 11, 2016 on Hotels
We had a great week in Troia. The hotel is modern and we'll equipped. The staff were all excellent and professional. It was nice to be in a location where so many other Portuguese were on holidays. Used the pool daily and had no issues getting loungers with umbrella and access to the pool. Breakfast was a treat every morning,definitely a higher standard than most in Portugal. Loved our room with a view over to Setubal, Arrabida Hills and local beach/marina. The spa area was modern, clean, relaxing and never crowded. Loads of underground parking provided by the hotel. Would recommend this hotel
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bit too limited for a longer break

Posted Jul 1, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed 10 nights Resort lacked facilities for this length of stay with limited good restaurants. Ferry service to Setubal offered much needed shops & restaurants. Hotel food offered poor options apart from breakfast which was excellent. Refused entry to one hotel restaurant as not half board ?? Apart from weekend hotel quiet in public areas
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Portugal does Carribean (aka Troia)

Posted Apr 10, 2016 on Hotels
Off season so very quiet. Beautiful beach. Walk for miles. Hotel very funky. Good breakfast. Free carparking. Ferry over with car but you can return as foot passenger to Sebutal for €6.50. Only a few restaurants open at this time of year ... but fun to head back to Sebutal ... only takes about 15mins. Golf course good and not too challenging. Hotel gets a reduced fee.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice experience

Posted Jan 12, 2016
Cons: Shower isolation. Each time you take a shower, the bathroom floor gets completely soaked.
An amazing experience, especially for couples. Beautiful view of Serra da Arrabida and the Sado Bay. Excellent beach. Next to restaurants.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 17, 2016 by Manuel Duarte , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience at Tróia Design Hotel. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you again in a near future. With kind regards, Manuel Duarte Hotel Manager