Ratings based on 382 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely friendly hotel.

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Pros: Rooms were clean and spacious. Excellent breakfast - and waffles every afternoon, of course.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: We visited the Arctic Cathedral and listened to an orchestral regearsak, went to the Sunday morning service in the Lutheran Cathedral opposite the hot
Lovely, friendly hotel - ideal location - had everything we needed.
4 out of 5
by Hilary

Posted Mar 9, 2017 on Hotels
Convenient hotel in the center of town. My room had a nice view, but not all do. Breakfast is standard, and they have a nice waffle time in the afternoon.
4 out of 5
by Robert George

Posted Jan 19, 2017 on Hotels
The Norwegians were courteous, patient, helpful and friendly throughout. It was very expensive due to its own high salary economy it must be said, "worth every penny" due to their welcoming manner. Sadly the publicised high average of Northern Lights displays were not met on our our 7 nights visit and passed us by. The disappointment was well compensated by the high quality of our accommodation and the staff were so good.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 1, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

earlybird breakfast is very good

Posted Nov 23, 2016 on Hotels
air conditioning system : no switch control
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

city centre

Posted Mar 23, 2016
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing
Location: If hoping to see the Northern lights do book a "chase". Bit more expensive but the guides go all out to find the lights - even Finland where we saw
couldn't have chosen a better hotel. Reasonable price, bang in centre of Tromso, airport bus stop virtually outside, staff fantastic and friendly, 24 hr tea/coffee/hot choc was a nice touch and as for the afternoon complementary waffles........amazing!
5 out of 5
by Lora

Stay here!

Posted Mar 20, 2016 on Hotels
Wonderful hotel! Staff is very friendly/helpful, excellent breakfast, free waffles in the afternoon, comfortable beds with soft sheets, two beds you can actually separate, and walking distance to everything. Although we didn't take advantage of it, there is a reasonably priced (for Norway) dinner offered as well.
4 out of 5
by PRASUN

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 25, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Garry from England

Good

Posted Jun 25, 2015 on Hotels
Blackout curtains would have been helpful at this time of year, otherwise a great hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London/Surrey

Excellent hotel, perfect central location

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: Staff, décor, general facilities, complimentary breakfast, 24hr tea and coffee, and complimentary DIY waffles.
Cons: The shower wasn't great, and the room was a bit hot.
Location: Perfect location, very central. Nearby: tonnes of restaurants, shops, cafes, tourist attractions.
Hotel was absolutely wonderful; staff, facilities and food were all exemplary. The only things I could criticize were the shower, which was okay but not fantastic, and the heating in the hotel room, which I found far too hot even though I normally feel the cold, and which meant we had to have the windows open all the time. We were comfortable, it just seemed a bit of an unnecessary waste! Overall, the experience was lovely. In addition to great facilities and general comfort the hotel was tastefully decorated, with a few really nice homely touches like a lounge area, complimentary tea and coffee 24/7, and DIY waffles available every day around 4-5pm.