Ratings based on 1,317 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London UK

The hotel is very centrally located,

Posted Feb 25, 2018
Pros: the central location
Cons: In my room I found the chair stained. Somebody should have noticed it and cleaned
Location: The collection points for the various activities start in the hotel which is very convenient. Also the airport bus stop is opposite the hotel .
The staff is very courteous and helpful. The room spacious as is the bathroom. The only thing I would suggest is that HEALTHY snacks are put in the room rather then salted peanuts. I am already looking forward to visiting the place again next year.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 26, 2018 by Lise, Hotel Management
Dear Monika, thank you for staying with us and for your nice review. We look forward to welcome you back next year!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Zurich, Switzerland

The beauty of Tromso

Posted Feb 19, 2018
Pros: To reiterate, the exceptional qualities of Ms. Sandra Loe, the superb breakfast buffet and its attentive servers and the room's comfort/cleanliness.
Cons: Can't think of any.
Location: I think it is more the city's job to see to it that the roads are less icy as I had a bad fall hitting my head and developing contusions in my body.
Three factors I always consider when traveling: what the place can offer, food and the hotel comfort and amenities. As it turned out, Tromso is the best place I have ever been to considering the various places I have traveled around the world. And staying at Radisson Blu Hotel at room 947 during the period Jan 15 - 22, 2018 was a big plus because of the superb service, help and kindness of a professional receptionist by the name of Sandra Loe. The excellent breakfast buffet served daily and its attentive servers are also factors to consider as they start the day positively. I'm a 67-year old woman who was very adventurous during my younger years. But knowing the limits of strength when one grows old I decided to do three things during this trip before I grow older, namely: the evening husky sled ride organized by Tromso Villmarkssenter, Whale Safari - Tromso Safari and Aurora Safari Minibus - Tromso Safari. The latter two are highly commendable especially the chasing of the Northern Lights last Jan 19 as the tour had the facility of providing the guests with downloading the fantastic views. My only suggestion is to the Tromso Villmarkssenter, for them to provide a small stool with cushions on the sleds as it is very uncomfortable for an old woman to just sit on a plank of wood, especially with the rough, snowy bumpy road ahead.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 19, 2018 by Lise, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and for your fantastic review! We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to welcome you back sometimes in the future!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Not great based on length of stay

Posted Feb 18, 2018
Pros: Location.
Cons: Standards of the rooms, requests and needs responded to quickly.
Location: Plenty of excursions to choose from, and everything you need is close-by.
I booked to stay for six nights, expecting to get a fairly decent sized room given the amount of time and money spent there. The room was quite small and not particularly nice - the bathroom was clean enough but towels weren't changed even when asked to and products weren't replaced when needed to (shower gel). The staff were very friendly, however I had to request twice for additional pillows to be sent to the room (only one per person were provided, and no additional pillows available in the room - very strange). The location was great for the excursions, as I think all of them pick up and drop off at the hotel, regardless of whether you're staying there or not. It's also right in the middle of town - however Tromso is so small that there are plenty of other hotels in a similar location to choose from!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 19, 2018 by Lise, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and for your hones review!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hemel Hempstead, UK

Great Hotel right by the water!

Posted Feb 14, 2018
Pros: Everything - breakfast exceptional!
Cons: Slightly better/bigger lunch/dinner choices on the menu at "Charly's" restaurant would be appreciated
Location: Great location in centre of Tromso and utilising Tromso Safari located in the hotel foyer (as we did) allows you to undertake almost any trips/tours.
Great service, great welcome, great rooms, great location and Tromso Safari (located in the hotel highly recommended) - excellent value for money.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 15, 2018 by Lise, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us! And wow what a review, thank you so much!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Good hotel very busy

Posted Feb 10, 2018
Pros: Clean rooms, the breakfast food and helpful staff
Cons: Little bits of maintenance need doing. Nothing was very broken, just loose or will need fixing at some point.
Location: The Museums, Arctic cathedral, Cable car, trips of Northern lights, ect
This is a good hotel it is always busy and full. Very helpful staff. Good breakfast, i went at different times it was away full, but there was no empty stations. Nice sauna, good views. Ladies Sauna has a window, no-one can see in. Nice to watch the ships as i was in there. Bed was a bit soft for me. But all in all i had a good time there. The single room is a single room but it was big enough for just me.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 12, 2018 by Lise, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and for your nice review!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

better than others

Posted Jan 22, 2018
Tromsø hotels are fairly spartan, but the Radisson was for me the best of the three I’ve stayed at. (The other two are the Clarion Edge and the Scandic Ishavshotel.) My bathroom at the Radisson had a shower over a tub — a vast improvement, although treacherous if you’re unfamiliar with the swinging glass half-door that offers no support if you lean on it. The breakfast buffet, however, was inferior to the other two hotels — a smaller selection and many items tepid, not even warm. Plus, the dining area is way too small. The staff is mostly friendly, but sometimes brusque, but then, that’s Norway.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 23, 2018 by Lise, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for staying with us and for your nice review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

GREAT LOCATION

Posted Jan 14, 2018
Pros: Great location, great value for money, clean and comfortable room.
Cons: A small empty fridge in the room would be the only improvement needed.
Location: Located in the centre of town, water views, close to shopping, restuarants and cafes.
This was great value for money. A clean and comfortable room with friendly staff. The hotel is located in a great location in town. Close to shops, cafes and restaurants and the attractions on offer were all easily accessed on foot. There is a supermarket and pharmacy close by to purchase any items required. Our room did not have a mini-bar but room service was available. A great breakfast was included in the cost of our room and the wi-fi connection was great. We were able to change our currency at the post office next door for a small fee 75 NOK. The airport transfer bus pick-up and drop-off is across the road. The tours we booked were all departing from the hotel which was so convenient.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2018 by Lise, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with as for your nice review!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, Georgia

Worn out but not uncomfortanle

Posted Jan 11, 2018
Radisson Blu Tromsø had comfortable beds (if foam beds appeal to you), a good location, and some convenience in that Tromsø Safaris is located in the lobby. Breakfast was good, and overall staff were delightful. Tromsø itself is charming. However, this hotel needs updating since it is threadbare in places, and I felt the rooms were not quite as represented in the photos. Despite that, we were quite comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2018 by Lise, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and for your honest feedback!
4 out of 5
by Breda

Good but food very expensive over Christmas.

Posted Dec 31, 2017 on Hotels
Room was small but clean however it was so hot I couldn't sleep even after turning off the radiator. Personally I don't like the foam beds which seem to be the norm in Scandinavia. Breakfast was very good but with only one coffee machine there was always a Q - coffee from coffee pots was not good. Cost of food Christmas Eve and Day was outrageously expensive. Airport bus and tour buses stop outside hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2018
Dear Breda, thank you for staying with us and for your honest feedback. Your feedback is very important to us and we are therefore concerned to read that we did not meet your expectations. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience you experienced.
5 out of 5
by Ekta

Tromsø!

Posted Dec 31, 2017 on Hotels
Our stay at the Radisson blu in tromso exceeded our expectations. At first we were given s room without any view but upon request they were happy to change our room to a room with a beautiful view of the water! The hotel is perfectly situated most of the tours start from around the hotel. There are enough convenience stores and restaurants at a short walk.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2018
Dear Ekta, thank you for staying with us and for your nice review! Hopefully we can welcome you back sometimes in the future!