Ratings based on 622 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Had a great room with a view, the hotel staff all spoke great English and everyone was very friendly, the breakfast was amazing and definitely worth waking up for every morning, the shower in our bathroom was very spacious and could easily fit two people
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 10, 2017 by Elizabeth (Reception), Hotel Management
Hello and thank you so so much for your kind words! We really appreciate it. We are also very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us. Hope to see you with us again. Best regards!
5 out of 5
by Kathryn

Good value.

Posted Jun 1, 2017 on Hotels
Great location. Very convenient and easy walking to shopping, restaurants, sightseeing. Excellent breakfast. Our room was noisy at night with the window open as the street it overlooked has a number of bars on it, fine with window closed. Front desk staff was extremely helpful and knowledgeable about local sightseeing, buses, airport buses, costs, times, etc. We arrived straight off cruise ship early in the morning and hoped to be able to store our luggage at reception for the day and were pleasantly surprised to discover that our room was available at that time and we were able to do an early checkin.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 18, 2017 by Maria Kristiansen, Hotel Management
Dear Kathryn, Thank you so much for your kind words, we really appreciate it :) We are also very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Tromsø and our hotel. You are welcome back to us anytime. - Team Grand (Elizabeth, front desk)
5 out of 5
by Lynne

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 25, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Fantastic Location & Staff

Posted Apr 19, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Very helpful staff and exceptional breakfast
Cons: Check cleanliness of rooms prior to guest arriving. Sadly the floor could have used a sweep.
Location: Great location but check prior to booking that shops and tours are operating. I arrived over the Easter break and nothing was open.
My experience to Tromso was incredible and the accommodation that I had booked contributed greatly towards this experience. Not only was the Scandic Grand Tromso in a fantastic location but the staff were more than willing to assist wherever possible either with tours or helping me find my way around the area. The breakfast was exceptional which I have not experienced in all my travels. Thank you Scandic Grand Tromso for a great stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Central England

Nice hotel close to the centre of town

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: Beds, shower, central location, food.
Cons: In room tea/coffee making could be provided.
Location: With a hire car, visited some surrounding islands with stunning scenery. Take the cable car to the mountain top! Excellent northern lights location.
Our important criteria for any hotel are bed and shower. On both fronts, this hotel scored very highly, providing a sumptuous sleep and a powerful, consistent temperature shower. Staff were on the whole helpful and the breakfasts were great. Not having any guest car parking lets it down though.
5 out of 5
by adam

The Tromso Experience

Posted Feb 11, 2017 on Hotels
Comfortable, warm, excellent breakfast, plenty of choice from the buffet. room had a view of the harbour, helpful staff. We were very lucky to see the northern lights 3 nights running. Great location to get to outdoor activities with local pick up points. Well organised
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

More than perfect

Posted Jan 26, 2017 on Hotels
Clean and comfortable room, very helpful and friendly staff, excellent location, and very well furnished modern rooms.
5 out of 5
by Daniel

Clean, spacious, friendly staff

Posted Jan 11, 2017 on Hotels
Great hotel. Large room with plenty of space for baby bed (high quality baby bed provided by hotel). Excellent breakfast. Free coffee in lobby. Cleaning service was friendly and willing to work around child's nap schedule. Front desk was very helpful with everything from restaurant recommendations to tour suggestions and friendly conversation.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient clean

Posted Jan 4, 2017 on Hotels
Tromso is small, and this is located in the centre. Convenient spot where the airport bus dropped off nearby. walking distances to most of the sites. Not fantastic view but spacious room with good heating. Seems new and well maintained. We were early for flight and my boy was not feeling well. They allowed us to rest at the lobby till times up for departure.
5 out of 5
by Anonymous

Winter Wonderland

Posted Dec 26, 2016 on Hotels
Great hotel, fantastic service