Ratings based on 96 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Stay

Posted Sep 14, 2016 on Hotels
Stay was quiet and the hotel is centrally located
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Close to the town

Posted Jul 21, 2015
I arrived the hotel after midnight the staff keep my keys in the safer and told me how to open let the check-in so smooth and room is clean the free WiFi passwords was ready to you.
3 out of 5
by alex from Oxford

Basic

Posted May 28, 2015 on Hotels
Firstly the hotel is in an excellent location, 2 minutes walk from the main street and not far from the harbour. The rooms are basic and a little tatty, but clean and satisfactory for a night. Breakfast was pretty awful- no staff around and very very limited choice. Whilst in English standards the hotel offers poor value, its worth baring in mind that Tromso is extremely expensive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John from Uttoxeter, Staffordshire, UK

Good value, clean hotel and helpful staff

Posted Mar 18, 2013
Pros: The view of the bay from our spacious, warm room
Cons: Nothing to complain about
Location: Excellent for accessing all amenities in Tromso
We found the Skansen to be great value for money. It was conveniently located for all amenities in Tromso. The staff were extremely helpful, particularly when responding to an email request regarding the room. An ensuite with a bath would have been nice but the view of the bay more than compensated. The room was most comfortable, warm and spacious. The breakfast was basic but there was variety and it was wholesome (a good start to the day!). If visiting Tromso again we would not hesitate in using the Skansen.
2 out of 5
by Sarah from Melbourne

great location, but terrible pillows!

Posted Dec 11, 2011
We stayed for four nights. On arrival, we were greeted with a very indifferent young girl. We had to pay our full tariff before we were shown our room (which I think is very odd). The room was small, but comfortable. The worst part were the pillows - I think they were 20 years old! Really lumpy and had that musty smell. We went downstairs and asked for a firmer pillow, but were given another 2 lumpy ones! Slept badly the whole time, which was pretty annoying as we had jetlag. I understand Norway is expensive, but good sleep should not be an 'optional extra' in a hotel. Shower seals were bad, so the bath mat was saturated every morning. At least they replaced towels, etc. daily. Wouldn't stay there again, would pay the extra for a better hotel. Breakfast was very good. The other staff were nice, but still very distant, which i found strange if you work in the hospitality industry.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

the bed is awful

Posted Oct 25, 2011 on Hotels
the bed sheet, pillow and duvet are so old, dirty and awful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Oxford

Tromso - the only hotel I've stayed in so far

Posted Sep 5, 2011
The room is fairly basic but comfortable, if your lucky you will get a view of the sea like my friend did and a better view of the sky, other wise the view is the top of the high street the road can be a bit busy even late at night, seemed pricey for what it was but then Norway is expensive so probably about right. Shower was good, wooden floor in main room seemed a bit worn which made the room look a bit tatty. A kettle would of been nice but there are coffee machine and vending machines in reception area. I did hear the distinct sound of high heels on the wooden floors either side of me heading out at about 11pm but didn't get disturbed later on.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

A no frills hotel

Posted Jun 30, 2011 on Hotels
I booked this hotel as it was the cheapest I could find in Tromso. Everything was basic - the room (no refreshments provided), the cleaning (bedsheets and bathroom were clean but the floor was gritty with dirt), the service (efficient but not friendly), the breakfast (sufficient in quantity but limited in choice) but I have no complaints and would recommend it if you are on a budget.
4 out of 5
by Thorsten

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 28, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Ann

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 10, 2016 on Hotels