Ratings based on 113 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sheffield

Good value in Tromso

Posted Apr 4, 2018
Perfectly acceptable modest hotel at a good price. Staff helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 21, 2018 on Hotels
The room is simple and clean enough, but TV didn't work. No desk and hair dryer in the room.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Definitely not

Posted Feb 26, 2018
Room was old, wall scratched, mold smell all around, bed super flappy with consequential back pain. Hair all over the bathroom. We won't come back here
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 22, 2018 on Hotels
Cannot fault any aspect of this great little hotel. Most comfortable spotlessly clean en suite room. Good choice buffet style breakfast. Top marks for staff helpfulness.
5 out of 5
by James

Good basic hotel for a reasonable price

Posted Dec 9, 2017 on Hotels
Overall I was happy with my stay at Skansen Hotel. + Comfortable bed + Clean bathroom + Good breakfast + Friendly staff - Small maintenance could be done - windows were not quite airtight, grout in the shower could be replaced
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Stay

Posted Sep 14, 2016 on Hotels
Stay was quiet and the hotel is centrally located
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Close to the town

Posted Jul 21, 2015
I arrived the hotel after midnight the staff keep my keys in the safer and told me how to open let the check-in so smooth and room is clean the free WiFi passwords was ready to you.
3 out of 5
by alex from Oxford

Basic

Posted May 28, 2015 on Hotels
Firstly the hotel is in an excellent location, 2 minutes walk from the main street and not far from the harbour. The rooms are basic and a little tatty, but clean and satisfactory for a night. Breakfast was pretty awful- no staff around and very very limited choice. Whilst in English standards the hotel offers poor value, its worth baring in mind that Tromso is extremely expensive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John from Uttoxeter, Staffordshire, UK

Good value, clean hotel and helpful staff

Posted Mar 18, 2013
Pros: The view of the bay from our spacious, warm room
Cons: Nothing to complain about
Location: Excellent for accessing all amenities in Tromso
We found the Skansen to be great value for money. It was conveniently located for all amenities in Tromso. The staff were extremely helpful, particularly when responding to an email request regarding the room. An ensuite with a bath would have been nice but the view of the bay more than compensated. The room was most comfortable, warm and spacious. The breakfast was basic but there was variety and it was wholesome (a good start to the day!). If visiting Tromso again we would not hesitate in using the Skansen.
2 out of 5
by Sarah from Melbourne

great location, but terrible pillows!

Posted Dec 11, 2011
We stayed for four nights. On arrival, we were greeted with a very indifferent young girl. We had to pay our full tariff before we were shown our room (which I think is very odd). The room was small, but comfortable. The worst part were the pillows - I think they were 20 years old! Really lumpy and had that musty smell. We went downstairs and asked for a firmer pillow, but were given another 2 lumpy ones! Slept badly the whole time, which was pretty annoying as we had jetlag. I understand Norway is expensive, but good sleep should not be an 'optional extra' in a hotel. Shower seals were bad, so the bath mat was saturated every morning. At least they replaced towels, etc. daily. Wouldn't stay there again, would pay the extra for a better hotel. Breakfast was very good. The other staff were nice, but still very distant, which i found strange if you work in the hospitality industry.