Ratings based on 144 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I'd stay here again....

Posted Jan 19, 2018 on Hotels
Great location. Breakfast was a classic Norwegian buffet of all the good stuff I love to eat...especially all the good breads. Just minutes from the train station and the city center.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 21, 2018 by Morten Vines - GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for your nice comments and hopefully see you again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortabl, quiet and very central!

Posted Jan 8, 2018
In town for a family get-together, needed a hotel in town that would be convenient to get to, easy for the transportation from airport, and comfortable and quiet enough for some sleep. Thon Nidaros didn’t disappoint! Single room booked, but got a double, lots of space for clothes and a very generous bathroom/shower. Breakfast buffet and even an evening snack included! Superb!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 21, 2018 by Morten Vines-GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for your very nice feedback , we really appreciate that.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, close to train station

Posted Oct 28, 2017
Room was fine, nice selection at breakfast and decent cold buffet in the evenings was a real bonus.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 17, 2017 by Thon Hotel Nidaros, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your kind review. Best regards, Thon Hotel Nidaros
5 out of 5
by Lisa

Great hotel!

Posted Oct 5, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful hotel, great service. Excellent breakfast. Central location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 15, 2017
Dear Lisa, Thank you so much for your kind review. Best regards, Thon hotel Nidaros
5 out of 5
by Rickard

Excellent place to stay

Posted Sep 25, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent location in the center of Trondheim, and close to the train station and airport coaches. Comfortable room, not large but similar to the standard in Europe. Bluetooth speaker in the room, and possible to log in to some sound and film providers through the TV (to your own account that is). Free coffee and fruit in the lobby. Breakfast is excellent compared with most places, although not quite at par with Scandic Nidelven (but no other place is either).
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 15, 2017
Dear Rickard, Thank you so much for your kind review. Best regards, Thon hotel Nidaros
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable, good location

Posted Aug 4, 2017 on Hotels
Comfortable and laid back, good choice at breakfast buffet, (go early to get a seat!) Evening buffet free and included with stay, useful if you are in a budget as dinning out iin Trondheim is expensive. Conveniently located for town centre, Station and old town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Shallowater, TX

A great place to stay in Trondheim

Posted Jul 29, 2017
Pros: The breakfast was excellent. Everything was nice.
Location: Great location with lots of shopping and restaurants nearby. Easy to walk to much of the city from the hotel. But there are also many bus stops nearby
We stayed two nights at this hotel while visiting Trondheim. Of the four Thon hotels we stayed at in Norway over a two-week period, this one had the best breakfast. The room was comfortable. Because it was actually warm in Trondheim, we had to leave the windows open in the evening to cool off the room, so there was a bit of noise from a dance club down the street. But it was not bad. There is no parking for the hotel. Both evenings we were able to park on the street in front of the hotel for free all night. We just had to be out by 8:00, which worked fine for us. We also stayed at the Thon Trondheim (which is nearby) a few days later and we would recommend this one (the Gildevangen) over the Thon Trondheim. There is also the Thon Prinsen nearby, but we did not stay there. We would stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 1, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Jeffrey

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 2, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington USA

Good location to town center

Posted Aug 9, 2016
The Thon Hotel was a pleasant part of our trip to Trondheim. The room was nice, the beds ok and the heated bathroom floors a nice surprise. We had easy access and walking to all the sites we wanted to see. Parking was not available at the hotel so if you rent a car the garage is about 10 min walk and runs about $20 US dollars a day. Parking spots are very tight :( The breakfast at the hotel was excellent and had lots of variety. There are many lively late night pubs/restaurants below so it can stay loud for those who want to sleep early. I would stay again.