Ratings based on 177 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Excellent venue with sea view

Posted Nov 23, 2017
Pros: Great location only 40 minutes from Glasgow. We walked into Troon Centre which only takes 15 minutes a lovely walk along the beach
Cons: W did ask for a blanket as we were cold. There were none available. The heating was up full. Not a lot can be done with an old building
Location: Very easy to get to. Chinese and Italian restaurants excellent. Handy shopping and plenty of charity shops.
We had a great stay. The staff are really friendly without being overbearing. Our room had a great sea view. We did not eat in the hotel. The breakfast was buffet style and that is why we decided to go Room Only.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great golf course view

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Great view, place is somewhat tired & needs some renewall.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aldergrove BC Canada

Walk to Royal Troon

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Ideal if you are golfing troon. There's not much else around and the tv does not have many channels and no movie options. The restaurant has amazing food and the staff are excellent.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Faded Glory

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Pros: The views across the golf course to the sea, Arran, Lady Isle, Ailsa Craig and the Heads of Ayr are simply wonderful and uplifting.
Cons: The entire hotel badly needs refurbishment. Bedrooms, bathrooms disappointing and feel "old and tired".
Location: Location is excellent. 9 golf courses surround the area, excellent restaurants at Troon Marina and Harbour and surrounding areas, great beach.
Flagship hotel right next to Royal Troon Golf Club, very tired and jaded, needs serious investment. Manager and staff all very helpful but it's obvious they are concerned about lack of investment too. Good Spa facilities and indoor swimming pool, wonderful views from the outside veranda
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kilmarnock

Very nice hotel

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: Views and facilities
Location: Location excellent, particularly for golfers.
Very nice hotel, overlooking Royal Troon golf course. Room had a great view across to Isle of Arran. Room 110 was very comfortable. Didn't get a chance to use the very good leisure facilities. Breakfast was very good,
4 out of 5
by rivers

Posted Aug 23, 2017 on Hotels
it was a beautiful setting
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Great location

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Excellent staff. Really friendly and couldn't have been more helpful.
4 out of 5
by GUS

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 25, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Good Location (And That's About It)

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: On the positive. The location is central to Royal Troon and Prestwick. The staff was kind and tried to be helpful.
Cons: Beds, physical conditions of the hotel. Bell staff would be helpful.
Location: Golf!
We booked two days here earlier this month as we were staying in the area to play golf. We ended up only staying in this hotel one night as it was not a pleasant experience. I suppose it's my fault as you get what you pay for. Here are some of the lowlights of our stay: -When we checked in (~9pm) there was no bell staff around to help us with our luggage. Normally this wouldn't matter — but we had a lot of stuff as we were there to play golf. -The room was basically in the basement with random workers walking right by our windows in the service area to the back of the hotel. There was no light in the room and it felt like a dingy dungeon. -Wifi didn't reach our room -Shower was tiny. -Beds are very cheap and not comfortable. We disliked the hotel so much we opted to abandon our room and go stay at another place for the second night. I would compare the Marine Troon hotel to a roadside Super 8 off the interstate. Not a pleasant place. I would not ever return.
5 out of 5
by Joan Frances

Overnight at The Marine!

Posted Jul 10, 2017 on Hotels
Having read some negative views on net re the marine, I was pleasantly surprised- really enjoyed overnight stay- room fine & v clean ( only disappointment was view of a roof!) but otherwise all good! Pool facilities great & breakfast too! Lunch outside on a very unusual sunny day for Troon! Was presented nicely & v tasty! All in all a great stay & wld def return!