Ratings based on 47 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Excellent value for money

Posted Mar 5, 2017 on Lastminute
Denis and Veronique were excellent hosts. The staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was tasty but unvaried each day. My room was beautifully clean and recently tastefully redecorated. The only serious downside to the accomodation was the mattress was indescribablely hard (like concrete) to the point that I got a sore back and neck that was only remedied after 3 massages!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 15, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient guesthouse at a great location

Posted Nov 4, 2016 on Hotels
A convenient base to explore the northern part of Mauritius, especially in a rental car. The beautiful beach is just 50m away.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vaalwater

Posted Sep 6, 2016 on Hotels
Close proximity to beach is great. Dinner is only at 8pm which can be a bit late especially for families with children
5 out of 5
by anne from Perth, WesternAustralia

La Tonnelle, a beautiful friendly place to stay!

Posted Dec 4, 2015 on Hotels
I had a lovely stay after a busy few weeks so enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere of La Tonnelle. The room is adequate not luxurious by any means but dinner is an experience, brush up on your French, and you will enjoy the conversation. Even if you don't know much French it is still enjoyable as you sit with all the guests and fabulous food and hospitality. Lovely beach closeby to watch the sunset and paddle.
5 out of 5
by Trevor from New Zealand

Friendly,clean and tidy

Posted Jul 8, 2015 on Hotels
Great host with lots of local knowledge.would stay again and recommend
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ryde Isle of Wight

Excellent b&b that in reality is a 5 stars hotel!

Posted Dec 6, 2014
La Tonnelle is clean, well maintained and just few metres from the most beautiful beach in Mauritius, Trou aux biches. The owner is very kind and he is an excellent chef. Every evening we enjoyed his great French/Creole cuisine. Food is fresh and of the highest quality. The dinner takes place in one long and elegant table. Sitting together with the owner, his wife and all the other guests, this makes the atmosphere very friendly, sociable and enjoyble. The feeling of staying at La Tonnelle It is like when you visit a dear old friend or you have dinner with family. We asked the breakfast to be arranged at 6am and the owner had no problem with it, our last day we had the flight at 22pm and the owner had no problem to let us check out anytime we wanted so we could enjoyed the day on the beach. I recommend also the patisserie next door (also belonging to La Tonnelle) where you can enjoy tartes, macarons etc.
5 out of 5
by Thomas

Service et vacance sans précédent

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
L'accueil et le service sont juste phénoménaux. Quelles superbes vacances nous avons passés ! Nous recommandons vivement cet endroit !
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 3, 2017 on Hotels
Best place to see sunset!!
5 out of 5
by Anthony

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Hotels