Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by Nicholas from Sussex

2-3 Star hotel with 1star attitude

Posted Jan 11, 2015 on Hotels
Could have been an excellent stay but unfortunately marred by extreme complacency on the part of management. Twice within three days, the lavatory in my room had no water - very distressing and inconvenient if you, like me, suffer from upset stomachs when abroad. The advertised WiFi was not available in my room until the last afternoon of my stay, and then only because I had made a second complaint. The public areas were frequently infested with cockroaches and the pools were dirty and had a film of greasy suntan lotion floating on top. These points were brought to the attention of Vincent, duty manager, who suggested that these were 'minor' issues and suggested that I was making a fuss about nothing to try to get a discount! The breakfast buffet was very good and Lily, the call order chef, was a delight. Other staff in the restaurant looked disinterested and walked around like zombies, with little attention to guest's needs. The hotel is well located close to the nearby public beach (about 5 mins walk), and there is a supermarket nearby if you want to get picnic items / booze for your room. Overall it's a 2-3 star hotel with a 1 star attitude from management. Avoid if possible, there are much nicer, cleaner and cheaper alternatives nearby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Glob

Fantastic short stay

Posted Oct 3, 2012 on RatesToGo
Unfortunately we only spent 4 nights at the Palmiste and were very sorry to leave. We could have very happily stayed another week or two. The hotel is set in beautiful tropical gardens and is well maintained. There are 3 different, clean swimming pools. The rooms are clean, comfortable and spacious with a nice balcony. There is a kettle and fridge but unfortunately no tea and coffee etc. There is a small supermarket 200m along the road though. Remember to bring your plug adaptor as the sockets are three pin and the hotel do not lend you one. You have to buy it for 3€. The bathrooms only have a shower even though there is plenty of room for a bath. The showers could do with a slight makeover as the shower head is set very high and is not adjustable. We booked B&B but were given a free upgrade to half board. The meals are on a buffet basis. Breakfast is excellent with plenty of choice of cold and hot food. Omelettes are cooked fresh to order. Dinner has a different theme every evening: Mauritian, Indian, Italian etc. There are plenty of salads and a different soup and then a good selection of hot dishes. There is also an option to book a seafood menu at an extra charge. We opted for this on one evening and weren't disappointed. It was all very fresh and delicious! The staff are all fantasticand can't do enough for you. Any request they try and fulfill. You are greeted with a smile and a friendly hello from every member of staff from the gardeners to the managers. Vijay who is in charge of entertainment works incedibly hard to ensure there is a range of activities. Each evening there is a different themed entertainment. The Mauritian evening with traditional Sega dancers and musicians is excellent. I definitely hope to go back one day soon!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North America

Needs professional touch

Posted Jun 15, 2011
The hotel is ok with one or two very good and a lot of clueless staff. Manager is somewhat insensitive. Langugage was the primary barrier I think. Food needs to be more diverse. Breakfast is good. Dinner needs attention and depends on your luck. Someday it can be very good, and the other day it's not edible. It's pretty close to the sea (less that 2 min walk). Spa is ok, but not open for 24/7. Staff at the reception is somewhat clueless. Hiring a few professionals and doing a few transformation can elevate this place to the next level.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

deceiving

Posted May 3, 2011 on Hotels
very deceiving! beside the three swimming pools, nothing to be proud of! Animation really poor, food approximate, have to walk 200m on a really dangerous road to get to the beach, no effort from the direction to try to please you... i It is a good thing that the little staff try to compensate by their kindness and their smiles, but not enough!
1 out of 5
by Lea J.

séjour caché par un vol dans la chambre

Posted Dec 24, 2015 on Ebookers
je regrette vraiment d'être allée dans cet hôtel: après un passage de la femme de ménage pour faire notre chambre, nous nous sommes aperçu qu'il manquait de l'argent dans le sac que nous avions laissé dans notre chambre. nous avons signalé ce fait à la réception, ils nous ont dit qu'il reviendraient vers nous mais jusqu'à mon départ, rien a été fait pour nous. ils nous ont dit que le fait a été signalé à la police. toutefois aucune dédommagement n'a été fait pour nous. je suis très déçue
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Antti ja Sanni

kiireetön rauhallinen loma

Posted Nov 24, 2015 on Ebookers
Viihtyisä ja rauhallinen hotellimiljöö ja aivan ihana ja ystävällinen henkilökunta. Hotellilla omia aktiviteettijä järjestetään päivittäin - hienoa. Ravintolan aamiainen ja illallinen toimivat loistavasti, kiitos kokeille tarjoilijoille. Hymyt eivät hyytyneet kovimmassakaan kiireessä.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by ADAMS FAM

Un hôtel de charme qui est très bon au niveau qualité-prix.

Posted Nov 10, 2015 on Ebookers
Très bon hôtel familial, près de la plage et du commerce Chez Popo, idéal prendre du répos, calme et tranquile, je recomamde sans autre pour de vacances en famille.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Paris

Le PALMISTE : Hotel de charme très bien situé

Posted Apr 1, 2015
Pros: Tout est parfait pour un trois Etoiles, site, chambres, propreté, personnel et restauration. Bonne situation calme.
Cons: Je n'en vois pas vraiment
Location: Calme, plage superbe, à ne pas manquer les excursions dans les iles
Nous avons été agréablement surprises car cet hôtel est beaucoup plus charmant que ce qu'il est indiqué sur le site qui pourrait être plus vendeur. L'accueil est très bon, nous avons été très bien prises en charge par l'agence choisie par Expédia de l'arrivée au départ.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Massa Marittima

grazioso albergo a due passi dal mare

Posted Jan 22, 2015
Pros: le camere sono molto spaziose e confortevoli, il personale disponibile
Cons: il buffet, le aree comuni
Location: vicino al mare, con servizio spiaggia a pagamento, vicini a grand baie giardino botanico
Esperienza buona, purtroppo il tempo non è stato favorevole, ma, comunque brevi acquazzoni e poi sole, escursioni facoltative acquistabili in hotel
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Il y aura toujours un meilleur hôtel à Maurice.

Posted Dec 24, 2014 on Hotels
Prestations très bas de gamme pour un prix haut de gamme. Ne reflète pas la qualité mauricienne. Repas sans imagination, sans choix et avec beaucoup de gélatine.