Ratings based on 164 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
54% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Grand Rapids

Fair rooms and rude hotel staff

Posted Oct 1, 2017
It was extremely hard to find any staff. Staff was unable to provide any extra pillows due to the desk staff "not having keys to the house keeping room" when trying to locate staff it took over 30 minutes to locate them. The cutler was heavily used and slightly dirty. Overall a very disappointing stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 3, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Dominick, we're sorry you didn't experience our staff at their best. We have followed up with our team to make sure we don't disappoint you in the future. We hope you will give us another chance to show you our commitment to service. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel. Sincerely, Hotel Management
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from auburn hills, mi

Clean

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Room was clean, walls are thin, you can hear neighbors and people walking around above you
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for being our guest. Although you had an overall pleasant stay and liked your clean room, we are sorry for the noise issue you experienced and regret the inconvenience it caused. I will be sure to share your feedback with the future enhancement team as we plan any upgrades. We appreciate you choosing us and hope to make your next stay a perfect one. Sincerely, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gainesville FL

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Our room was nice, cozy and clean. Hotel staff was helpful. The hotel looked very new as well.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 6, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Niyomi, it was a pleasure to have you as our guest at Extended Stay America. We are delighted to read our service and facilities were up to your satisfaction. Reviews such as yours mean a lot! We look forward to welcoming you back. Sincerely, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Grand Rapids, MI

Everyone was kind

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Pros: The staff and the room.
Cons: The free breakfast was not what I expected. Muffins and granola bars and beverages were not as sustaining as yogurt, cereal, & hard boiled eggs.
Location: We went to the DTE energy theater.
Everyone was helpful. The manager went out of his way to print an address of our concert location. He also showed us a good place to park near our room. The night person gave us change for a larger bill so we could get something from the vending machine.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 16, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Sue, thank you for sharing your experience at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Auburn Hills - Featherstone Rd. It’s nice to know you enjoyed your stay and that our staff met and exceeded your expectations. We have also taken a note of your feedback in regard to our breakfast offerings as we plan any changes to our selections. We value your business and look forward to your return visit. Sincerely, General Manager
4 out of 5
by Angelina

Posted Jun 27, 2017 on Hotels
Usually its great but this time there was couple rooms around us with people partying so it was pretty loud on the floor I was on.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Angelina, it was a pleasure to have you as our guest at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Auburn Hills - Featherstone Rd. We happy to read an overall pleasant visit and our facilities were adequate to your needs. However, we apologize for the disturbances from other guests during the night. We're sorry you did not sleep well in our hotel and that if you did notify us, we failed to resolve the problem while you are here. We appreciate your feedback and hope you will stay with us again in future. Sincerely, General Manager
4 out of 5
by weixing

Posted Jun 18, 2017 on Hotels
my stay is just for one night, overall impression is good, breakfast is simple, but room has a small kitch and frigo, more suitable for long stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 20, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
It was a pleasure to have you us our guest at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Auburn Hills - Featherstone Rd. We are glad to read liked your room with the kitchenette and our facilities were adequate for your needs. Thanks for all of your great feedback, and we look forward to your next stay! Sincerely, General Manager
1 out of 5
by Jennifer

Unsatisfactory room condition

Posted Jun 5, 2017 on Hotels
We stayed at the Extended Stay America hotel on Featherstone in Auburn Hills, MI for one night. The room was filled with black carpenter ants that were crawling everywhere, on the wall, floor, filled the bathtub, etc. It was disgusting and had we not checked in so late, we would have not stayed. We told the front desk the following morning and were told that the front desk attendant would let the manager know. We asked for compensation for the room results, and were asked to leave our names and phone numbers and the manager would get back with us. We've heard nothing. Will not return to this location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 8, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We take these matters very seriously and will take the necessary actions to ensure this is properly addressed.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 28, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
May 30, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your stay at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Auburn Hills - Featherstone Rd. and for your four-star rating. We are happy your overall experience with us was a pleasant one. We hope to see you again soon. Sincerely, General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cheap place to sleep on a bed

Posted May 24, 2017
Room was good. Staff and amenities we're good as well; however, the whole hallway leading to the mechanical room smelled like weed. Safe to say, the only thing mechanical going on was the smoking of joints. Continental breakfast was a joke unless your idea is the same as the hotel - cup of coffee and a muffin.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 27, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We take these matters very seriously and will take the necessary actions to ensure this is properly addressed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fair hotel

Posted May 14, 2017
Pros: Clean
Wifi was horrible, continental breakfast was granola bars, with muffins in plastic wrapping, and oatmeal you had to make yourself. No fruit, no yogurt, no other food options. The only drinks offered were coffee or tea, no juice, no milk. Ive stayed withnthis hotel chain before and they offered a much better breakfast. The ac in the room only came on intermittently and never cooled the room down.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We take these matters very seriously and will take the necessary actions to ensure this is properly addressed.