Ratings based on 64 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Improving hotel

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Pros: Position rooms staff food and parking
Cons: Nothing I can think of
Location: Located on the south side of the St Bernard pass. Lots of walking nearby
We have stayed at this hotel over the last five or six years and it has improved every time
4 out of 5
by Diane from Le boupere

Excellent hotel

Posted Sep 1, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent stay with a delicious evening meal Aircon and double glazing made the room comfortable and quiet 2 small problems in the room which could have been easily fixed slightly took the shins of an enjoyable stay. The toilet seat was insecure and the shower bracket was missing Staff were excellent and the food was very good
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Pleasant hotel for the price with a French feel of the countryside
5 out of 5
by Jayne from UK

Great stay!

Posted Aug 15, 2016 on Hotels
One night stopover during long trip. Large family. Super big rooms. Atmospheric french hotel. We ate outside in the restaurant and had a fantastic meal. Great staff and overall really good value for money. Would definitely return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel for one night stop o trip back to Cala

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Friendly staff. Plenty of parking in village. Great local bakery. Comfy room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southport

Great place for a stopover or longer !

Posted Jun 23, 2016
Pros: see above
Cons: Parking is limited in front of the hotel
Location: We used this hotel as a comfortable stopover.
A warm welcome, and considering our limited French, we were able to understand everything as the Hotel Manager spoke clearly and deliberately to us. We had a very comfortable and spacious room. The restaurant was very chic but retained the original style of the building. We enjoyed a very good meal with very attentive service. The wine list was possibly a little expensive but very good. The next morning a very good self service breakfast is available in another salle a manger.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 22, 2016
Pros: Very attractive historical building.
Location: See above. Big lake close by.
An excellent stopover on our way home from skiing in the French Alps. Though half an hour from the motorway, a very easy drive through attractive countryside. The village is very historic (Napoleon stayed at the hotel) with some wonderful medieval buildings. Very pleasant staff and a good dining room with good-value 19 euro menu. Very busy on the Saturday night we were there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from London

Perfect hotel to transit to from south of France

Posted Sep 1, 2015
Pros: The food, the staff, the pool, the bar & the simple quality of the family room that we were given. Breakfast was also very good value & plentiful.
Cons: Room decor needs some updating, but it's not awful & it is an old building, so allowances have to be made & it doesn't detract from the comfort.
Location: A lovely village on the edge of a national park. It was a lovely drive from the motorway & had we more time, we would have stopped & gone for a walk.
After a long drive from the south, this hotel was the perfect place to kick back & relax for our family of four (2 young children). Easy parking, easy check-in (the young woman on duty was welcoming, showed us to our large, two king sized beds room, served in the bar & also waited on table later that evening - very hard working & lovely with it) and the bonus was an outdoor swimming pool which was very welcoming after a long, hot drive. The bar was very pleasant, but the icing on the cake for this venue was the extremely high quality of it's food which was served for the evening meal. We only went for the 19 euro menu, but it was quite simply magnificent, made better by good local wine at a reasonable price. This would not have looked out of place in either Paris or London, it was that good! There were more pricier options & from a quick scan around the terrace, they looked just as impressive as our own. The room was basic (room 6), in need of a little updating decor wise, but it was clean, was well stocked with toiletries & even had a kettle with tea & coffee! The only major problem was that we couldn't get the air con to work at bedtime, so it was a hot night! Breakfast was good value, with a wide selection of cheese, cold meat, breads, juice, yoghurts etc & there was plenty of it. At the risk of making it harder for me to book in the future, I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone, particularly this travelling with kids.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire

Convenient stop off hotel

Posted Aug 23, 2015
Pros: Value for money, convenience, staff.
Cons: The rooms are a little dated.
Location: It's close to the main motorway routes between the Channel and the South and East of France. Troyes is close by.
La Todorne is a convenient stop off hotel on the way back to the Channel ports. It's located in a small town just outside Troyes, East of Paris and close to the motorway. The hotel has parking right outside. The rooms are a little tired but full of character and clean and comfortable. The staff were really friendly and helpful. A major draw is the hotel's restaurant which has pretentions but also offers a very good quality and good value set meal. The hotel itself is extremely good value.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Pinner

An overnight stay

Posted Jun 8, 2015
Pros: Staff room size good restaurant good amenities good situation with the the forest and lake close by
Cons: Bathroom facilities were dated but perfectly servicable
Location: Lake with beach natural forest and Renoir's country home at Essoyes.
Easy check in. Room very good size but basic amenities but a electric kettle was very welcome. Hotel fronts a main road but as our room was at the back it was very quiet. Limited forecourt parking but easy unrestricted street parking close by. Restaurant lived up to expectations and we had drinks in the garden at the rear which was pleasant with a couple of sun loungers. Excellent breakfast they even had their own DIY waffle maker. My wife tried the sauna which was OK but as not as hot as she expected The hotel offers excellent value but it is typically French it's not luxury but you are not paying luxury prices. We would be happy to return in future