Ratings based on 556 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Good location, close to freeway room was quiet.

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Pros: Good value
Location: Truckee, great food and shopping.
We had a great time at a wedding at Squaw Valley. Only 20 minutes away.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Hotel was average. Too pricey. Bad location - right off highway, near lake but Lake not easily accessible.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, CA

Nice, clean and convenient

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Hotel was clean and comfortable, and quite. Very convenient to Interstate 80, Donner State Park and not far from downtown Truckee. Looks like it was remodeled in the mid-90s. Free breakfast was more than I expected with waffles, eggs, sausage, muffins, bread goods, yogurt. juices and coffee. We were very happy to find an open room on Expedia on a busy August weekend.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Nice overnite before Tahoe

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Pros: Comfortable beds & nice b'fast
Cons: It's just a "tired" property.
Clean with comfortable beds...what really mattres after a long day's drive. Hotel is "past its prime" but the staff was really nice.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Woodside, CA

Convenient location near Donner Lake

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: They could improve the sound-proofing on the doors/prevent them from slamming.
I stay here each year for the Donner Lake swim and it is very consistent. Rooms are clean, breakfast is always ready at 6:30 and they are fast on the check in/check out. The little pool is perfect if you cannot convince your family to swim in the lake and there are a few nice walks just out the door from the hotel. I recommend asking for a room on the side facing the trees/Memorial State Park as it is quieter than the side facing the road.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brighton Michigan

Friendly staff and comfortable bed

Posted Aug 13, 2017
Pros: Great location and friendly staff who helped me figure out something on the hotel computer
Cons: Fresh fruit for breakfast
Location: Great place for hiking
There is only one thing that I would alter. There was no fresh fruit offered at breakfast as one would expect in California. A big bowl of strawberries, rasberries, or watermellon etc would have been great.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Great Location, except for the freeway noise, so no open windows . Facilities are usable and clean, just a little dated.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 30, 2017
Great facility. We enjoyed our nostalgia trip around Donner Lake which is very close.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 26, 2017
Nice hotel clean. The pool area had caution tape on a broken down fence. But the pool & spa were clean
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bay Area, CA

OK if you're passing through

Posted Jul 24, 2017
OK for a night, but nothing special. Room more like a 1980's Motal 6 - basic accommodation, but nothing to write home about. Staff was less than happy to serve when they noticed the booking was made through Expedia.