Featured Image

Reviews of Best Western Glengarry Hotel

2.5 out of 5
Best Western Glengarry Hotel
150 Willow Street, Truro, NS

Overall score and ratings

3.9

Good

Rating 5 - Excellent. 105 out of 323 reviews
5 - Excellent 33%
Rating 4 - Good. 123 out of 323 reviews
4 - Good 38%
Rating 3 - Okay. 57 out of 323 reviews
3 - Okay 18%
Rating 2 - Poor. 20 out of 323 reviews
2 - Poor 6%
Rating 1 - Terrible. 18 out of 323 reviews
1 - Terrible 6%

4.1/5

Cleanliness

4.1/5

Staff & service

3.9/5

Amenities

3.8/5

Property conditions & facilities

4/5 Good

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
They didn't have any ads of local shops.
Stayed 1 night in Nov 2021
Response from Georgina T on Nov 16, 2021
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to leave us a comment. We do apologize that we didn't have any brochures on hand for the local shops. With so many Covid restrictions it makes it hard and if the shops don't have them to hand out then we can't get them.

4/5 Good

Traveled with group, Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, amenities, property conditions & facilities
The employee who checked me in was not friendly, and added to a very heightened and visible stress level. However. All the other staff I interacted with were wonderful. Especially the lady who checked me out. She was beyond helpful and informative.
Stayed 2 nights in Nov 2021
Response from Georgina taylor on Nov 8, 2021
Thank you so much for taking your time to provide us feedback. I apologize on behalf of whole team. We will definitely look into this and try to cheer up our staff members.

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Close to downtown.
Stayed 1 night in Oct 2021
Response from Georgina T on Nov 1, 2021
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to leave us a comment. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoy the location of our property. We hope to see you again.

4/5 Good

Traveled with pets, Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Close to downtown.
Stayed 4 nights in Oct 2021
Response from Georgina T on Oct 28, 2021
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to leave us a comment. We are so pleased that you enjoyed that our property was so close to the downtown area. We are in such a great spot and within walking distance to the downtown and so convenient. We hope to see you again.

3/5 Okay

Traveled with group, Traveled with family
Disliked: Amenities, property conditions & facilities
I was expecting a best western standard kind of hotel this is just a motel. Our reservations is supposedly on the main building but we were given rooms on the annex building. Beds are ok. Coffee machine IS DIRTY the coffee we made is oily.
Stayed 1 night in Oct 2021
Response from Georgina T on Oct 28, 2021
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback from your recent stay. We do apologize if your weren't satisfied with your room, however you booked through Expedia and they usually always book guests in the annex building. You can always call directly and then we can make sure ahead of time that you get what your expecting. Of course this would be based on availability at the time of the booking. If we had a king room in the main building we could have moved you but chances are, they were booked as we only have so many king rooms and they do book up very quickly.

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Great place to stay
Stayed 1 night in Sep 2021
Response from Georgina T on Oct 19, 2021
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to leave us a comment regarding your recent stay with us. We are so happy to hear that you feel that we are a great place to stay. We take great pride in our property and our staff love hearing comments like yours. We will pass this on!

4/5 Good

Traveled with family
Liked: Staff & service, amenities
The lobby and rooms were very clean. The beds were comfy. The restaurant for breakfast smelled of smoke. Not appealing for breakfast. The toilet in our room ran often through the night requiring the lid to be removed to fix. I am not a plumber.
Stayed 1 night in Oct 2021
Response from Georgina T on Oct 14, 2021
Dear Sandra Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback from your recent stay with us. We are glad to hear that you found your room and our public areas so clean and comfortable. We do apologize that you could smell smoke, we are a non smoking property but we will certainly check into that as that's the first time we've heard this. We have had our maintenance personnel replace the flusher on that toilet, our apologies. We do hope to see you again soon.

4/5 Good

Liked: Staff & service, amenities
Easy to get to from the highway. Very nice staff. Wish the dinning room was open more, alot of restaurants closed in town both Sunday and Thanksgiving Monday.
Stayed 2 nights in Oct 2021
Response from Georgina T on Oct 14, 2021
Dear Krista Thank you for taking the time to leave us a comment. We are so happy to hear that you had such a great stay with us and that you liked our friendly and accommodating staff. Unfortunately with this pandemic we have had to restrict hours in our dining room. My apologies.

4/5 Good

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
The front desk guy was great. We loved the pool and hot tub and the included breakfast was very good.
Stayed 1 night in Sep 2021
Response from Georgina T on Oct 14, 2021
Dear Marion Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a comment regarding your recent stay with us. We are just thrilled to hear that you loved everything from our awesome staff , pool and our hot breakfasts. We hope to see you next time!

4/5 Good

Traveled with group
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Check in was slow. Pool was by appointment only. Facility was clean. Parking was cramped.
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2021
Response from Georgina T on Oct 14, 2021
Dear Marilyn Thank you for taking the time to leave us a comment regarding your stay with us. We are so pleased to hear you found our property so clean . We realize that some procedures are much slower then normal but it's related to having to take extra precautions with the pandemic and when we are busy it can slow things down and also full our parking lot. We appreciate your feedback though and we do hope to see you again.

3/5 Okay

Traveled with partner
Own entrance
Stayed 1 night in Sep 2021
Response from Georgina T on Sep 16, 2021
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to leave us a comment. We really appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again.

3/5 Okay

Traveled with family
Liked: Property conditions & facilities
Disliked: Cleanliness
There was a dirty mask left in the room. There was a bag of chips left behind the night stand. This was very disappointing for a room that was supposed to be clean. Breakfast service was very slow. Bacon tasted expired.
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2021
Response from Georgina T on Sep 16, 2021
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to leave us a comment. We really appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again.

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with group
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Very Nice
Great easy access to our vehicle. Very comfortable beds sleep well got up early to go see tidal bore
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2021
Response from Georgina T on Sep 16, 2021
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to leave us a comment. We really appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again.

5/5 Excellent

Business traveler
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Nice hotel! Comfortable stay.
The hotel was sooo clean. The staff there obviously have worked really hard during covid to get the place scrubbed down. The free breakfast was proper (oatmeal, eggs, bacon, toast, waffles) as opposed to yogurt and a banana. Busy hotel so book soon. Location was great! 5 mins from downtown Truro or the hwy. And there was a full service gas station right across the street. Super useful! Room was well air conditioned and bed very clean and comfortable. I would stay there again. Thank you to all the cleaning staff for your hard work!!!
Stayed 2 nights in Aug 2021
Response from Georgina T on Sep 16, 2021
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to leave us a comment. We really appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again.

4/5 Good

Traveled with group, Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Overall good
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2021
Response from Georgina T on Sep 16, 2021
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to leave us a comment. We really appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
The staff were helpful and friendly. The outdoor pool was amazing with a little area for toddlers. The lounge chairs and picnic tables around it were well kept and made for a great afternoon. The breakfast options (free) were fantastic as well, lots of choice and great food. The beds were comfortable and the room was well kept/clean.
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2021
Response from Georgina T on Sep 16, 2021
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to leave us a comment. We really appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again.

1/5 Terrible

Traveled with family
Liked: Staff & service
Disliked: Property conditions & facilities
We had a terrible sleep because of another guest it was very troubling and upsetting. In the morning the very kind staff said they would comp our stay but couldn’t because we booked with Expedia.
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2021
Response from Georgina T on Aug 30, 2021
Dear Sarah Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and comments. Again, our apologies on behalf of the noisy guests. Like I explained, unfortunately whereas you pre paid with Expedia I couldn't adjust your rate. We do apologize.

5/5 Excellent

Stayed 1 night in Aug 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Excellent Best Western service. Outdoor pool, BBQ.
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2021
Response from Georgina T on Sep 16, 2021
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to leave us a comment. We really appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again.

3/5 Okay

Liked: Staff & service, amenities
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2021

4/5 Good

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities
It had both an outdoor and indoor pool! The free breakfast was vouchers to the attached restaurant; it was great! The foyer looked new and updated. The rest of the hotel needs updating-i.e.hallways etc.
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2021
Response from Georgina T on Sep 16, 2021
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to leave us a comment. We really appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again.

5/5 Excellent

Stayed 1 night in Aug 2021

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Our room was on the "motel" side, with a window pool side and one garden side. It was quiet enough, although the AC is not recent therefore noisier. Breakfast options were excellent. Room was very clean, roomy, and cozy. Service employees were very professional.
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2021
Response from Georgina T on Aug 17, 2021
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to leave us a comment. We are so pleased that enjoyed our breakfast selections and your clean room. We hope to see you again.

4/5 Good

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 2 nights in Aug 2021
Response from Georgina T on Aug 17, 2021
Thank you for leaving our property a rating. We really appreciate that and hope to see you again.

1/5 Terrible

Traveled with family
Disliked: Cleanliness, amenities
I liked that I could see my motorcycle from my room window. I didn’t like they the towels we were provided had holes in them no face clothes and the menu was all Indian related couldn’t wait to get out of that place for a Best Western it was disgusting
Stayed 1 night in Jul 2021
Response from Georgina T on Aug 26, 2021
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to leave us a comment. We are happy you liked the location of your room. We will certainly pass your comments on to our Chef and his team regarding the menu, we do however offer quite a selection of all foods but appreciate the feedback. We are under new management and are making changes but of course it all takes time. I do hope your stay with us again in the future.

2/5 Poor

Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 1 night in Jul 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
The outside pool is a nice touch to your summer stay
Stayed 1 night in Jul 2021
Response from Georgina T on Jul 20, 2021
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to leave us a comment. We are so happy to hear that you got to enjoy our outdoor pool this summer. We do hope to see you again in your travels.

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, room comfort
Good stay
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2021
Response from Georgina T on Jul 20, 2021
Dear Don Thank you for taking the time to leave us a great rating for our property. We really appreciate that and are so pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.

4/5 Good

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities
Disliked: Property conditions & facilities
The staff was very friendly and helpful, the kids loved the pools inside and out, we didnt find the beds very comfortable and the air conditioner didnt work very well at all.
Stayed 1 night in Jul 2021
Response from Georgina T on Jul 16, 2021
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to leave us a comment. We are so happy to hear that our staff were so accommodating and that your children loved the pools. We will certainly look into the air conditioner too!

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
The start of our stay was disappointing because we booked a room with a king bed but they gave us a room with 2 queen beds. I showed the clerk our confirmation email that showed a king but he said it showed on his computer 2 beds. Besides that it was ok
Stayed 1 night in Jul 2021
Response from Georgina T on Jul 15, 2021
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to leave us a comment regarding your recent stay. We are so pleased to hear that you had a good stay and we do apologize that we didn't have a king room to move you too. We do hope to see you again in your future travels.

3/5 Okay

Traveled with partner, Traveled with pets
Liked: Staff & service
Disliked: Cleanliness, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 1 night in Jul 2021
Response from Georgina T on Jul 8, 2021
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to rate our property. We really appreciate that and hope to see you again in your future travels.

5/5 Excellent

Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2021
Response from Georgina T on Jul 8, 2021
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to rate our property. We really appreciate that and hope to see you again in your future travels.

4/5 Good

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Great location, only complaint was the door to my room was sticky. Sometimes had problems opening and even closing the door to my room
Stayed 1 night in Jul 2021
Response from Georgina T on Jul 8, 2021
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to leave us a comment regarding your recent stay with us. We will certainly get that door looked at and we appreciate you letting us know.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2021
Response from Georgina T on Jul 8, 2021
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to rate our property. We really appreciate that and hope to see you back again.

5/5 Excellent

Stayed 1 night in Jun 2021

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 3 nights in May 2021
Response from Amar Sandhu on Jun 1, 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you for 10 star rating. It means a lot to us. We hope to serve you again soon. Take care

1/5 Terrible

Stayed 1 night in Apr 2021
Response from Cassie on May 6, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to rate our property. I'm sorry you were not satisfied with your stay. Take care.

4/5 Good

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Clean rooms and friendly staff
Stayed 1 night in Apr 2021
Response from A.Sandhu on May 23, 2021
Thank you for staying with us. Please let us know if we can improve further so we deserve 5 stars from you next time

3/5 Okay

Business traveler, Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
It was convenient to our appointment in Truro. Staff was friendly however, front desk was not well trained. Covid requires we eat in our room but the were no tables to sit at and food had to be juggled on our lap. The room was sale price. When we got there we found out it was next to elevators and vending machines.
Stayed 1 night in Mar 2021
Response from A.Sandhu on May 24, 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your time. We are sorry that you were close to elevators and vending machine. Please let us know your preferences in advance so we can accommodate you accordingly. Rest assured other points you mentioned will beaddressed.

4/5 Good

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Overall very comfortable, however the free hot breakfast was not very appetizing.
Stayed 1 night in Feb 2021
Response from Georgina T on Feb 19, 2021
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to leave us a comment regarding your recent stay. We are so pleased to hear that you had a comfortable stay with us and we will certainly pass your comments on to our Chef and his staff about breakfast.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Above and beyond
We had an amazing stay! Went up to Truro to spend a few days at Wentworth skiing. We were super excited for the hot tub after a day of -15 degrees but got back and it was out of service. We were pretty bummed but the amazing receptionist called our room to see if we were interested in an upgrade and moved us to a room with a jacuzzi tub! Went above and beyond which wasn’t necessary but super appreciated. Made our stay just perfect!
Stayed 2 nights in Feb 2021
Response from Amar Sandhu on Feb 13, 2021
Lindsay, Thank you soo much for leaving us the comment. We are glad you enjoyed the jacuzzi suite. See you again

3/5 Okay

Stayed 1 night in Feb 2021
Response from Georgina T on Feb 19, 2021
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to leave our property a rating. We really appreciate that and hope to see you again.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
my room was large, clean and extra i did not expect eg the microwave and individual coffee perk , iron and ironing board -
Stayed 1 night in Jan 2021
Response from Georgina T on Jan 21, 2021
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to leave us a comment regarding your recent stay. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your room and the extra perks. We hope to see you again.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 2 nights in Jan 2021
Response from Georgina T on Jan 15, 2021
Dear Monique Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We hope to see you again.

4/5 Good

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Great price and good service. Nice and quiet during COVID
Stayed 1 night in Dec 2020
Response from Georgina T on Jan 2, 2021
Dear Irene Thank you for taking the time to leave us a comment regarding your recent stay with us. We are so pleased to hear that you found our prices so great and had a nice quiet stay with us. We hope to see you again in your future travels.

4/5 Good

Stayed 1 night in Oct 2020
Response from Georgina T on Nov 24, 2020
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to rate our property. We really appreciate it and hope to see you again in your future travels.

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with group
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Great value for the price. Friendly staff. Bed was very comfortable. Hot breakfast included was good. Very satisfied with our visit. Will definitely return.
Stayed 1 night in Oct 2020
Response from Georgina T on Oct 27, 2020
Dear Anna Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a comment. We are so thrilled to hear that you enjoyed everything from the price to breakfast. We really appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 1 night in Oct 2020
Response from Georgina T on Oct 27, 2020
Dear Jamie Thank you for taking the time to give our property a rating. We really appreciate that an hope to see you again.

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
It was clean & well kept. Very friendly staff. There was a hot breakfast or cold included in our stay. Very nice.
Stayed 1 night in Oct 2020
Response from Georgina T on Oct 27, 2020
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a comment. WE are so happy to hear that you enjoyed our awesome staff and your breakfast. We really appreciate that an hope to see you again.

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Comfortable and clean hotel.
One of the best at this price point. Very clean and comfortable.
Stayed 1 night in Oct 2020
Response from Georgina T on Oct 7, 2020
Dear Brian Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us a comment. We are so pleased that you had a comfortable and clean stay with us. We hope to see you again.