Ratings based on 698 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from IN

This hotel has a lot of miles on it. Three star

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Pros: Nice staff;breakfast was ok.
Cons: Lots of maintenance
Location: Close to Saguaro National Park and Colossal Cave.
Staff was pleasant, but location and maintenance were uninspiring.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nj

Most delightful Spanish style motel for the money.

Posted Mar 2, 2017
Pros: The art , the bed the courtyards the breakfast the staff the location.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Easy access to the mountains, the desert art museum and lots of restaurants!
Set in a mall in Tucson this motel is an exceptionally quaint and charming place to stay. I loved the Spanish style courtyards with trickling fountains . The rooms are small but comfortable. In fact the sumptuous Bed was the most comfortable,clean smelling bed I have ever enjoyed sleeping in! The staff was extremely courteous and helpful at the front desk and the generous breakfast surpassed our expectations! We loved the convenient location. Hated to leave!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 2, 2017
hotel was very comfortable and clean! The staff was always friendly and helpful! It was very quiet even though it was on a busy street! Breakfast was good! I highly recommend!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

water issues

Posted Mar 1, 2017
had a problem with the water being turned off and then being rusty. offered 50% off of one night stay but water was un-useable for the entire day, so felt it should be a free night.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 28, 2017
Need to replace carpet in bathroom and rooms need some updating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from north central Arizona

Reasonably priced and good location

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Pros: Location
When we arrived, the water was shut off due to a leak. This lasted for a few hours, so it was an inconvenience for guests. The front desk person, April, tried her best to reassure guests. When the water did come back on, there was still no hot water so when I called the front desk for a status, April promised to call me back with an update and she did within 30 minutes. She is to be commended for her responsiveness. Other than this incident, the hotel was clean and comfortable with friendly staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I think ownership has changed.

Posted Feb 3, 2017
Pros: breakfast
Cons: see above
I was disappointed. Some other people there from England for 3 weeks said they did not have hot water, phone service, clean sheets, or public television. The fountain in our courtyard leaked and there was a pool of dank water there the whole time. It no longer deserves four stars.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

"Pet Friendly", with $25/day fee

Posted Dec 28, 2016 on Hotels
Great location for our visit. A tired facility, needing some heavy maintenance. But loved the courtyard layout and fountains, which buffered road and local noise. I wish Hotels.com would display "Pet Fees" in the app. Many hotels these days do not charge for pets (deposit only, which is fair) and a non-refundable fee is a hidden factor in selecting a place. $25/day per pet is a high charge. The free breakfast is a C- and the Happy Hour is a D.
5 out of 5
by Laurie

Great location and nice people

Posted Dec 27, 2016 on Hotels
I left early for hiking and returned late, after dinner - the staff is friendly and helpful
5 out of 5
by Diane

Dependably Clean, Comfortable and Friendly

Posted Dec 23, 2016 on Hotels
We mainly chose this hotel because we have stayed there before and always enjoyed it. Sweet lady welcomed us at check-in was the same person that checked us in last year. The interior courtyard has fountains and vegetation that makes it like a private retreat. It's very quiet even though it's along a major street, Tanque Verde. We also like this hotel because it is within a few miles of Tucson Medical Center and many of our medical specialists. This would also be a good hotel for anyone planning a trip to Mt. Lemmon and/or Sabino Canyon as it is relatively close to access roads.