Ratings based on 117 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful scenery.

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Cons: In the "historic" part of the hotel, the A/C is very loud to the point of being annoying. This needs to be fixed for sure.
Location: Go to the Crown Tavern on Sabino and Tanque Verde. You will not be disappointed. Its a local place, good food and a fun time.
Tucson is a very beautiful place if you take the time to look. Life slows down as it really should. The hotel holds the tradition of the desert. The morning sun casts the most amazing shadows. The evening sun even more so. The newly remodeled hotel is excellent. But if you are use to the old "traditional" HDS it will take a moment to accept. But once you do you will see what a beautiful job they did. Both the restaurant and the bar are amazing. The bar has to have the best salsa I have ever had. And given that I spend time in Tucson and frequent all of the best Mexican restaurants that is really something. The views in the morning whilst having breakfast are tranquil and inspiring at the same time. Truly, truly a wonderful place.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Moore Ok

Nice hotel for stay during road trip.

Posted Jun 10, 2016
Pros: It's comfort and size of rooms.great wifi.
Cons: Nothing
Location: It is close to foothills. Shopping is convient.
Great room with plenty of space. Comfy beds. Great scenery.beautiful infinity pool with beautiful sunsets.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Germantown, TN

Fabulous Unique Hotel

Posted May 19, 2016
Very, very unique hotel. My husband and I travel a lot and have stayed in many places. We've never stayed in a place as unique as this! Gorgeous, large rooms. Nicest hotel room we've ever stayed in. Beautiful views. The view from the pool is to-die-for !! Just a lovely place. Be sure and reserve one of the larger rooms ..... it's well worth your money. We stayed in C 73.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SC

Excellent resort hotel in the foothills.

Posted May 16, 2016
Exceptional views of Catalina mountains and the city lights in the valley. The staff treated us exceptionally well! The horseback riding available on property was great.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nanaimo, B.C.

Posted May 11, 2016
Pros: Beautiful grounds, historic southwest feel and helpful, pleasant staff
We had a lovely 3 night stay, with several memorable meals at both the Grill and the Terrace. Both pools were quiet and had great views of the mountains and surrounding desert terrain. Sunsets were spectacular. We stayed in one of the renovated historic rooms with a spacious, quiet, private patio. The feel of the whole place is of stepping back into an earlier time in an elegant hacienda, but with the comforts of a modern resort.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 2, 2016 on Hotels
A beautiful resort!
5 out of 5
by Philip from Salt Lake City

Comfortable and relaxing

Posted Mar 28, 2016 on Hotels
We had a wonderful stay at the hotel. The hotel had just the right amount of character and history to make it interesting and the new addition fits in well. We especially enjoyed taking a dip each afternoon in the new pool and hot tub with the amazing views. The sunset views are were fantastic. It was a wonderful place to relax after exploring the desert during the days. We would absolutely stay there again.
4 out of 5
by Douglas from Palisade, Colorado

Nice part of town and great landscaping.

Posted Mar 21, 2016 on Hotels
Overall very nice. They recently added a second swimming pool with a great view of the arroyo below and mountains above. The entrance, grounds, courtyard are superb. No expenses spared on the landscaping, desert plants, giant potted cactuses, etc. The parking lot was almost full on arrival so we carried our luggage quite a ways to our room. They had free valet, but I'm kind of cheap when it comes to tipping for something I can do myself. They have two dining areas. Entres at the high end one are in the $35-45 range. I think our room was about $250 per night. It was my wife and I and our 21 yr old daughter. The room would be good with one king bed. For two queens it was a bit cramped. We also had next door neighbors with small noisy children and a yapping dog that woke us at 7:00 AM. Its great they allow pets, but it's not very fair to neighbors if the pets are noisy. Better sound-proofing would have helped. There also was no refrigerator or counter for food. Finally, the distance from our room (room 2) to the only ice maker was way too far.
4 out of 5
by Donald

Posted Mar 8, 2016 on Hotels
I you want a fabulous place to stay and enjoy Tucson. GO NO FURTHER. The hotel Staff, Ambience, food and VIEWS were wonderful. I have stayed at La Paloma and other similar hotels and Hacienda del Sol is Tucson.
5 out of 5
by barry from Phoenix

Great history, great view, a fine resort

Posted Mar 1, 2016 on Hotels
Wanted a get away from nearby Phoenix. Liked the idea of a desert resort and this is a good one. Best part: gardens and view.