Ratings based on 1,690 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Beautiful historic hotel

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Pros: We liked the spacious, upscale feel of our room.
Cons:
Location: The University of Arizona is a 10 minute drive away.
We stayed 6 nights at the Lodge on the Desert. We stayed in the Deluxe King Casita. Our room was a ground floor room which had high ceilings, a fireplace (which we did not use as it is summer), a comfy king bed, spacious bathroom with two sinks, and the grounds are beautiful. The room was really nice. We were there to move our son into his dorm at U of A. This hotel is within 10 minutes to the University. We will definitely be back.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2016
My dtr goes to school in Tucson, this hotel is close to campus and the rooms are very spacious and beds very comfortable
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenix

Delightful place to stay in Tucson

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: The young woman at the desk was very friendly and had a great smile. We only stayed overnight, should have planned for two nights.
Cons: The only disappointment was the "breakfast buffet". The kitchen help were really slow in refilling the chafing dishes and the serving trays.
Location: I liked the location.
The hotel was easy to find, we drove in from Phoenix. I enjoyed the various desert cacti and fruit trees. It was a short walk from our room to the restaurant and pool. The Happy hour menu had several food choices, I had the Fried Root Veggies, delicious. The room was clean and included a fireplace and separate tub from the shower. Towels were thick and a great size, so were the pillows on the bed.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phx

Nice hotel close to U of A

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Pros: good value
Quiet. Large room and bathroom. Refrigerator and ironing board were great!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from White Mountains Arizona

Beautiful desert environment

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: We like the fact that it is located in a beautiful well kept desert environment and the fact that it was built in 1936 and has a historical component.
Cons: Keep animal friendly rooms reserved for those guests with animals.
Location: We were in Tucson to attend a wedding. There were some nice choices for dining nearby.
We enjoyed an overnight stay this past weekend. We loved the beautiful, well kept desert grounds of this hotel. Unfortunately, the temperature was so hot we could not enjoy sitting outdoors. Our room was small and smelled of dog urine, but the bed was comfortable and there was good water pressure in the shower. We would return in cooler weather and would ask for an upgraded room. We enjoy unique hotels rather than cookie cutter, chain hotels; and, this hotel was unique.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Posted Aug 8, 2016
We will make this out destination home from here on!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from seattle

Nice hotel close to shops and restaurants

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Had a very relaxing 24 hours. The pool area was calming to read and relax
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from p

Nice setting

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Stayed for the weekend in August. AC thermostat had to be reset multiple times . Came back to a room temp of 88.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

Peaceful, affordable, beautiful

Posted Aug 3, 2016
Pros: Architecture, grounds, bed linens, nice staff, _real_ breakfast.
Cons: Nothing! This place is incredibly well-managed and cared for.
Location: Quiet neighborhood near a golf course. Go to Feast, which is up the street, for dinner - it's one of the best places to dine in Tucson.
We stay here every time we're in Tucson with our dog. This hotel has a chill vibe, nice linens, and a great restaurant - the grounds are pretty and very well kept. It's an "older" hotel (from 1931?) and is absolutely charming. Perfect for those that don't want to drop major bucks on a stuffy hotel but still like nice linens, a professional and attentive staff, and good vibes.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Watch for unauthorized charges

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Pros: Beautiful and clean room and serene scenery.
Cons: If someone pays through Expedia, their credit card should not be touched at all
When I checked in they demanded a credit card and I told them it has been fully paid through Expedia. They insist for incidentals. I then received notification from American Express that my card was charged $354. I called Expedia but they seem to want me to talk to the hotel instead of them calling the hotel. I went to the front desk and spoke to "Mason" and he stated that accidentally the bill for Expedia went onto my card and promised to reverse the charge. Five minutes after I walked out of the office, I was notified by American Express that my card was charged $341!! When I spoke to the manager he stated they had no record of this (but clearly Mason must have done it since he was the only one in the office on the computer). The manager said he will look into it but doesn't seem to be that interested.