Ratings based on 419 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I think we got the "bad" room 225

Posted Dec 3, 2016
Pros: Bed was comfortable and staff was nice.
Cons: That room needed a deep clean. I didn't dare walk on the carpet without socks on. The bed needed the top sheet or comforter.
Location: Saguaro National Park
Carpet was stained all over in various colors. Curtains didn't cover the window. Valence wasn't attached and hanging down. Mini blinds wouldn't shut. Bed was comfortable, but didn't have a comforter on it or a top sheet. The room layout was nice with a high-top table and chairs. The room smelled like cigarettes even though it is a smoke-free facility. There were people smoking right outside our door and it was coming in the heater.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from W

Very scary neighborhood

Posted Nov 30, 2016
I would never suggest this hotel, very dangerous area, dead bolt was broken, not good service.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mexicali Mexico

Hotel limpio y sin malos olores

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Habitaciones muy comodas y el personal muy amable. El area es segura sin presencia de limosneros en los alrededores
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

uncomfortable experience for us

Posted Nov 18, 2016
Pros: The staff were polite.
Cons: Tighter management of housekeeping and restaurant.
Downtown, construction on street. Rough neighborhood. Night manager disorganized, lower king room unavailable. Promised for next day (of three day booking). At breakfast, 4 people appeared to be stealing large quantities of food. We told the manager, he knew, and said Choice hotels insist on allowing it. We cancelled the rest of our stay, and fortunately got our money back.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hamilto, ON, Canada

Clean, nice hotel

Posted Nov 18, 2016
Good location with parking, breakfast; good service, clean hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Hotel needs more staff.

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Pros: Location is good. Hotel has potential, but it is not realized.
Cons: Room was not cleaned one day.
Location: Location is good.
Poor maintenance, a bit run down. Carpet and desk chair badly in need of replacement. Breakfast OK.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent breakfast, poor wifi

Posted Oct 28, 2016
Pros: It was clean, a good location, and they provided more breakfast options than standard continental, but the egg patties were still a bit cold and dried out. I liked the price for this hotel too.
Cons: Front desk employee was on his phone every time I came in and I had to wait about 15 minutes to be seen for check-in because he was on the phone. He was apologetic and it seemed to be an issue of understaffing, but it was still a bit out of the norm from my previous hotel experiences to be kept waiting so long. I also heard lots of intense arguments coming from the hotel room next door, but I was never able to get through to the front desk when I called at 30 minute intervals. I eventually fell asleep, but it was a bit unnerving. And probably my biggest concern with the hotel is that the wi-fi was horrible and I really needed consistent wi-fi for work during my stay.
Location: Located close to the University, lots of restaurants and shops
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 3, 2016 by Amit, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate you taking the time to give us such specific details on how we may improve your overall experience. we have taken these under review and look forward to receiving you again in the future as we work toward a better stay for you in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from california

undesirable neighborhood gives hotel a bad overall

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Location: not much but a quick drive to college campus and other nice areas just be careful to walk at night
the hotel, which was built in 1950's and could be a cool hip historical hotel is sadly surrounded by a really shady neighborhood and also has many guests that are less than "stellar". The lobby is nice and gives you a good feel and the rooms are not terrible, comfy bed and some decent decor but sadly out of date bathrooms and amenities.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 27, 2016 by Amit, Hotel Management
Thank you for great feedback, we look forward to welcoming you and hope to provide a far superior stay for you in the future. We have taken note of the issues that arose during your stay and are working diligently to resolve those.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 17, 2016
I'd go back because it was convenient. Not really clean but for the weekend it was fine. I had to slam my shoulder into the door to get it open but at least I knew no one was going to come in without me knowing it. :)
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 27, 2016 by Amit, Hotel Management
Thank you for great feedback, we look forward to welcoming you and hope to provide a far superior stay for you in the future. We have taken note of the door issue that arose during your stay and are working diligently to resolve it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Antonio

Wow, a 63 year old hotel!

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Pros: For a 63 year old hotel, this unit is doing great. New crew plans on revitalizing the property. Wonderful breakfast room.
Cons: Clean pool, hot tub.
Location: Road being rebuilt, Old Tucson closed for off season.
For a 63 year old hotel, this unit is doing great. New crew plans on revitalizing the property. Wonderful breakfast room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 27, 2016 by Amit, Hotel Management
Thank you for great feedback, we look forward to welcoming you and hope to provide a far superior stay for you in the future. We have taken note of the issues that arose during your stay and are working diligently to resolve those.