Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Shoreview, Minnesota

B&B Gem in the Desert with an Amazing Breakfast

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Pros: Gracious host who prepares gourmet multi-course breakfasts that are "Too Good!!". No need for lunch. Janos and his staff are wonderful and memorable.
Location: Only 2 blocks from the Saguaro Broadway Trailhead with numerous hiking options and short drive to Park's Visitor Center or the Mt Lemmon Scenic Byway.
A very quiet and secluded 4 room B&B with wonderfully landscaped grounds perfect for a reading escape, impressive Living and Dining Room will large windows filled with views of the Santa Catalina Mountains which is the perfect setting for great conversations with other guests as you enjoy your host's gourmet multi course breakfast with a different menu everyday. Janos is a wonderful and gracious host who makes your stay memorable. Our stay was over Valentine's Day and Janos gave beautiful red roses to the ladies before his outstanding breakfast. Our comfortable room was large, bright and very well appointed. The location is secluded but easy to drive to. Take the major Broadway Avenue from Downtown Tucson east until it ends next to the Saguaro National Park. The courtyard has a heated pool just 10 feet from our door, a heated whirlpool and numerous tables and lounges. Yet with so few guests, they are not often used and very quiet. Each room has its own private entrance and you park just feet from your door. We will stay here again on our next visit to Tucson and will recommend this B&B to all our friends visiting Tucson.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gilbert, Arizona

Absolutely fantastic

Posted Jan 25, 2015
Pros: Exceptional Staff, Comfortable bed, Amazing breakfast
Cons: I had a little trouble locking one of the doors but as soon as I mentioned it he said he wasn't aware and that he'd look into it that day
Location: Just East of Tucson. Only a few miles from a number of stores and right near the national park.
I don't think I can say enough good things about staying at this venue. I can unabashedly say this was the best experience I have ever had staying at any kind of venue, anywhere. The accommodations were gorgeous and comfortable. I felt at home as soon as I walked through the door and was immediately greeted by the staff. The breakfast was so good we are still talking about it days later. All that being said, the staff was still the best part. We ended up arriving much much later than we originally planned and they were gracious and accommodating. I will absolutely be coming back and, infact, we were already scheming how we could get back before we had even left.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bloomington, IN

Wonderful alternative

Posted Jan 23, 2015
The Suncatcher is so warm and welcoming. I felt like I was coming home every evening after a long day. My room was comfortable and spacious, much larger than most hotel rooms. The bath was well appointed. Every morning I was treated to a gourmet worthy breakfast. The staff went out of their way to make my stay special. I will definitely stay at the Suncatcher again and recommend that all of my friends do the same.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Bethlehem, PA

The Stay Was Too Short!

Posted Jan 18, 2015
Pros: The room, the location, the host.
Location: Just across from Saguaro National Park. Easy drive to Sabino Canyon - our favorite place in Tucson.
My wife and I had a too-short two night stay. We were in the Dreamcatcher. Just an amazing room. Large, well-appointed (including a Kiva-style fireplace) with the most lovely bathroom you could hope for. Janos prepares creative, tasty and delicious breakfasts. He is the consummate host. We will stay there again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Scottsdale AZ

Super B&B - secluded and quiet!

Posted Jun 20, 2014
Pros: Quiet, birds, bunnies, lizards, etc., host and breakfast.
Cons: Hmmm....nothing I can think of.
Location: We were on our way south so things to do nearby wasn't on our agenda. The next morning, though, we had Kartschner Cavern reservations.
This B&B is as nice as the ones in England, but with much better breakfast! My husband and I were the last visitors before the summer closing, so we had the place to ourselves. It's an older home that's been creatively remodeled, surrounded by our gorgeous Arizona desert. Our host was friendly, informative, enthusiastic and an excellent chef! It's in a quiet, out of the way location. We sat outside our room for quite awhile just watching the sunset. And animal life!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Roy from Vancouver, Canada

Tranquility

Posted Mar 15, 2014
Pros: Tranquility & the beautiful view of the Catalina Mountains
Cons: Very little
Location: Hiking, golfing, cycling
Our stay exceeded our expectations. The hiking & golfing in Tucson is well known. However staying at the Sun Catcher Inn B & B was fabulous. Janos the owner & host made our stay as memorable as any holiday we have enjoyed. His breakfasts were gourmet, variable & beautifully presented.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Michael from near Chicago

A gem near the desert. Janus is masterful charming

Posted Dec 23, 2013
Pros: The room was spotless, beautifully furnished with a spacious bath that has everything you may need and more.
I have never rated a facility before but my experience prompted me to do so. This is a great little place near one of the nicest desert areas on the eastern fringe of Tucson where you can wonder over the desert to your hearts content and come back to a place that is beautifully furnished, up to date and run by a charming man with a culinary background who will prepare breakfast for you as you probably never had, absolutely scrumptious, fresh and abundant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Linda from San Diego

Charming host, fabulous breakfast at small B&B

Posted Nov 11, 2013
Pros: Lovely desert setting, wonderful breakfast.
Location: Near Saguaro National Monument. Horseback riding and bicycling.
Lovely, interestingly decorated house on the edge of Phoenix. Our host was a good conversationalist, having had an entertaining life. The breakfast was fabulously good! Plan to skip lunch, as there were several courses, each absolutely delicious.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Elisa from Boulder, CO, USA

A Gem in the Desert

Posted Feb 15, 2013
The Suncatcher Inn is a beautiful, charming, and immaculate property. The hosts are welcoming, and the breakfasts are probably the best I have ever had. The grounds are beautifully landscaped and the great room of the Inn looks out over a dramatic mountain range. The Suncatcher is amazing!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dennis from Denton, TX

Gem in the desert

Posted Oct 29, 2012
Pros: Location and breakfast. Lots of wild life and cacti
Cons: Nothing
Location: On the east side of Tucson near the Saguaro National Park. Property is gated.
This is a real gem in the desert. If you want to stay away from all the noice and traffic of the city this Inn is for you.Beautiful spacious rooms and delicious food. Your host is a great chef. Note to Expedia: You need to inform guest that they need to call and make arrangements to get through the property gates before arriving