Ratings based on 830 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CANADA

NOISY ROOM

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Pros: NICE GROUNDS AND NICE STAFF.
Cons: HOTEL NEEDS SOME SERIOUS UPGRADES, SHE IS GETTING A LITTLE TIRED.
Location: GOOD LOCATION LOTS OF REALLY GOOD PLACES TO EAT.
OLD HVAC SYSTEM KICKS ON ALL NIGHT LONG, 10 SECONDS ON 60 SECONDS OFF THEN CLICK, CLICK THEN OFF FOR 60 SECONDS THEN BACK TO 10 SECONDS ON THEN 60 SECONDS OFF, EXTREMELY AGGRAVATING. SOME KIND OF ROLLING NOISE EVERY MORNING AT 7:00 AM JUST IN CASE YOU WERE ACTUALLY SLEEPING. PILLOWS WERE SO THIN THEY WERE UNCOMFOTABLE. GAVE MY WIFE A SORE NECK.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2017 by Jim Morrissey, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. I do apologize that the HVAC kept you awake. Please feel free to notify us as soon as a problem occurs, such as the HVAC noise, rolling noises and pillows that are not to your satisfaction. We will gladly send you additional pillows to ensure your comfort and have maintenance sent out to check on your HVAC. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we will always do our very best to ensure your stay is restful and rejuvenating. We do hope that you will consider giving us another opportunity to recreate this experience with one that is pleasant and revitalizing. We welcome that opportunity whenever it may present itself. Be Well, Jim Morrissey-General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Great scenery surrounds the hotel. The adult pool was quiet and a great place to relax. My only concern was that I was on the second floor and you could hear people walking around in the room above me (very inconvenient when it wakes you up at 3 am).
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2017 by Jim Morrissey, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I do apologize that the guests above you caused a disturbance. We are always quick to assist when notified of a noise disturbance and we will send our security officer to look into the matter for you. We do hope that you will consider giving us another opportunity to recreate this experience with one that is peaceful and rejuvenating. We look forward to that opportunity. Be Well, Jim Morrissey- General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Tucson Resort

Posted Mar 23, 2017
There were some difficulties find my reservation. Once that was cleared up, everything was smooth with the rest of the check-in. I had purchased an upgrade to include breakfast each morning, but was not reminded nor informed where that breakfast would be served. So money wasted. Other than that, the hotel was very pleasant. Parking was fairly out of the way, but the grounds and rooms were very nice. The jacuzzi and one other pool was closed for repair which was a disappointment.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2017 by Jim Morrissey, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am pleased to hear that your agents smoothed out your reservations to your satisfaction. I do apologize that the location of breakfast wasn’t specified. I have shared this with our leadership team as we are also eager to assist to ensure your stay is flawless. We do hope that you will consider giving us another opportunity to renew your experience with one that truly exceeds your expectations. We look forward to that opportunity whenever it may present itself. Be Well, Jim Morrissey- General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from L

Nice hotel. pool was dirty

Posted Mar 19, 2017
The hotel was nice. Very large and spread out. We were there with a wedding group and I called months earlier to guarantee two beds in my room. Upon check in, they had me in a single bed room. They moved me to a double bed room, but I was no longer near my friends room who were also there for th wedding. That was a bit inconvenient. On Saturday, there were too many kids in the pool area and the main pool was very murky looking. I did not want to dip even my toe in it. The mineral pool was nice. Room was comfortable and the bathroom was beautiful
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 23, 2017 by Jim Morrissey, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I do apologize that your room location was not as convenient as you’d hope. We always do our very best to ensure all location requests are honored but unfortunately unable to make any guarantees to the location of rooms. I am pleased to hear that we were able to correct the room type and do apologize for the error. We certainly look forward to seeing your during your next stay with us. Be Well- Jim Morrissey- General Morrissey
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

***WARNING*** Basement Rooms & High Surcharges

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Hotel refused to honor the discount advertised on their website, so we booked through expedia. Already disappointed, the hotel looked lovely in pictures. Rooms are in a series of buildings that must be accessed by walking outside through hotel grounds. Got to our building and went downstairs to a basement style room. View was below grade and mostly dirt. We soon learned that the long concrete hallways would be trouble. You could hear every single guest who walked by, every single door that slammed down the hallway and a rolling suitcase was like a thunderstorm. Late that night we heard our neighbors above, they weren't rude our abnormal loud, however we could hear every movement they made. The next morning their sliding door and patio furniture above us was like a tornado. Toilet handle didn't function so every other time we flushed we would have to return and jiggle the handle to get it to stop running. Icing on the cake for us was the ridiculous charge at the business center. Left the laptop at home because they advertised a business center. Arrived to find a $6 charge per 15 minutes and $.40 a sheet to print. A quick 45 minute work session was near $30. Will find a place that better meets our needs for our next trip to Tucson in a couple months.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 17, 2017 by Jim Morrissey, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We enjoyed reviewing the different rate offers available to you and I understand that our team personally made certain to review all discount options with you to ensure that you were able to make a well informed booking decision. We regret that this service was not to your satisfaction. We would have been happy to honor the discount you mention but you chose not to book that discount; the Sunsational Discount was a flexible rate that allowed for changes to your reservation, a complimentary night, and a $50 Resort Credit. The lower rate you saw was for a pre-paid, non-refundable, non-changeable reservation. Both were great offers that we were happy to make available to our guests and we made sure you understood that both options were available at your time of booking – it was simply a matter of preference and whether or not you required flexibility with your travel plans. Please know that all of your comments have been shared with our Management team for internal follow up (particularly on any maintenance inconveniences). We always strive to exceed guest expectations and look to guest feedback first when making improvements. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you both back in the future for a relaxing and enjoyable experience. Be Well, Jim Morrissey-General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis

Nice Property but Moldy Room Needs Updated

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Our room smelled like mildew/mold and was very dark. We were on the first floor in building H. The dark curtains and decor made it feel even darker. The room is in need to updating as the carpet was dirty, chairs were stained, beds were old and frumpy, shower had mildew on the grout and around the edges. No fan in the bathroom certainly did not help. A good bleach cleaning is in order. The property, pools and main hotel common areas were beautiful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 14, 2017 by Jim Morrissey, Hotel Management
I do apologize that your room did not meet your expectations or our very high Westin Brand Standards. Please notify us the moment your feel as though your room does not meet your expectations in cleanliness. We will make sure to have our housekeeping address the issue immediately to ensure we provide you excellence in all ways. Also, if you are ever dissatisfied with the location of your room, please let us know. We will always do our best to accommodate all room type and location requests. I do hope that you will consider giving us another opportunity to recreate this experience for you. We certainly welcome and look forward to that opportunity whenever it may present itself. Be Well, Jim Morrissey-General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Paradise Valley, AZ

overnight stay-excellent in every way

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Pros: everything-no complaints whatsoever.
Cons: n/a
Location: in the high desert rolling Catalina foothills above Tucson. everything you could want as well as vibrant downtown scene only 10 mins. away.
from beginning to end everything was the best. staff, room, setting, amenities, food. beautiful high desert location (awesome sunset view), friendly staff everywhere (especially the nice gift shop lady), clean comfortable room with excellent TV-easy wireless, all kinds of things to do on the grounds or nearby (try hiking in Sabino Canyon), golf course as good as it gets, very nice ambiance at the bar. I was attending a gala so the food was several buffets but everything was scrumptious.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 7, 2017 by Jim Morrissey, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your memorable experience with us. We are take great pleasure in knowing we were able to meet your needs and exceed your expectations. It was a pleasure having your group and event with us and certainly look forward to having your next stay with us. Be Well, Jim Morrissey-General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from palo alto, California

Beautiful resort in the desert

Posted Feb 25, 2017
La Paloma is a beutiful resort and we really enjoyed the patio breakfast looking out on the golf course. The lsppool and workout facilities were great. We were a little surprised by the $25 tennis court fee especially since there was no one playing for most of the day.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 28, 2017 by Jim Morrissey, Hotel Management
Thank you for your 5-Star review! I am pleased to hear that you were able to explore some of our many amenities and enjoyed our invigorating views. We certainly look forward to seeing you again during your next stay with us. Be Well, Jim Morrissey-General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from El Paso, TX

Charges for EVERYTHING

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: The view, location
Cons: Customer service, reduce resort fee if pools cannot be used due to inclement weather, don't charge for business center or internet, should come w stay
Location: There is plenty to do nearby, spectacular views
The deluxe room was smaller than expected. I thought the price I paid would cover the trip, but when you get there they charge you an additional $25.00 per day for the resort fee. It was a rainy weekend, so the pool wasn't used much, we didn't use the shuttle, they charged for internet separately and when we used the business room, they charged for that as well. Basically the only thing we got for the resort fee was extra bottled waters. Since they don't have an indoor pool and it happened to be rainy, they should look into that and bring the resort fee down. I just didn't feel it was worth the expense and then to be nickel and dimed when you arrive. That was disappointing. Other than this, the location and spectacular view was amazing, perhaps this is why they can get away w/the above.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 24, 2017 by Jim Morrissey, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We do apologize that you were not fully informed on what the resort fee includes. Part of what our resort service fee covers is complimentary internet access that can be used on your mobile devices; there are additional costs if you would like to upgrade to a wider bandwidth or high speed capabilities. If you are needing to use our business center for boarding passes, that service is complimentary as well. There is a charge for additional internet usage for the business center when browsing the internet. I do apologize that weather prevented you from taking full advantage of our revitalizing amenities but hope that you will consider giving us another opportunity to ‘Wow’ with our Signature Westin customer. Be Well, Jim Morrissey-General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good resort but spread out in various wings .

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Pros: beautiful Mt. setting. Nice pools.
Cons: Free shuttle to the airport because it cost over $60 one way.
Location: Good restaurants near by.
I enjoyed the resort and rooms.We had a handi- capped person in our group and it was difficult for her to always have to ask for a cart due to the far away position of our room. Their lobby also had way to many steps to various levels. Not a good resort for those who have trouble going up and down a lot of stairs.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 17, 2017 by Jim Morrissey, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I do apologize on behalf of our team that your stay wasn’t to your satisfaction. In any event that you feel as though your room may be too far away from our main building, please let us know. We will always do our best to accommodate any location preferences and/or floor level. Also, if you do have difficultly locating any ramp, lifts or elevators please let us know immediately and we will gladly show where they are located. I do hope that you will consider giving us another opportunity to recreate a more wholesome and rejuvenating experience. We look forward and welcome that opportunity whenever it may present itself. Be Well, Jim Morrissey-General Manager