Ratings based on 74 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 26, 2017 on Hotels
We paid a lot of money for a nice room and barely received any service. We had to chase down waiters to take our order by the beach and the lounge chairs were nothing compared to other hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

Very nice hotel

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Pros: Staff was lovely, room was very nice, beach was amazing.
Cons: The restaurant isn't that great but there are TONS of other places to go within walking distance of the hotel.
Location: Ana y Jose is right in the middle of everything on the more happening southern side of the Tulum beach.
We very much enjoyed staying at Ana y Jose. It's a lovely hotel, very nice staff, great and super fun breakfast every morning. It's a quite spot for the southern section of the Tulum beach. Absolutely heavenly beach. We would absolutely stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Nice Hotel on the Beach

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Pros: Location, steps from the beach, nice spa, and the best restaurants/lounges are all within walking distance on 5 minute cab ride.
Cons: The wifi was spotty but that is pretty common in Tulum.
Location: About a 10 minute drive from the Mayan ruins and Gran Cenote. Walking distance to most of the top restaurants/lounges on the strip.
My wife and I stayed here a few weeks ago. Prime location and you are right on the beach.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

"The vacation we take every five years.

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Pros: The pool was pristine.
Cons: The list is too long, but I think the experience I've already written about covers some of the most outstanding problems.
Location: The streets surrounding the hotel area are packed with all kinds of crazy traffic. Trash was everywhere. The shopkeepers couldn't care less.
We were greeted by sullen staff members that bordered on bring rude. The Garden View room we booked was like a basement and the "Garden View" was a tiny patio that backed up to a storage area. We up-graded our room the next morning. There was trash on the dining room floor and on the beach that the staff didn't seem to notice. The beach chair area wasn't taken care of and the chairs weren't set out to look nice and inviting. They were just left like they were from the day before. The food was so-so, and the drinks tasted watered down. The bed was a mattress on a concrete slab and the bedding was very poor quality. The Bathroom sinks were cracked and all the fixtures were totally corroded. House keeping was haphazard but was improved by requesting another maid. I didn't see anything before I booked about construction, but it was going on. The hotel one down from us had music playing Loudly all day long until late at night. It was very disturbing to see the parrot they keep at check-in. His cage was filthy and his perch was so short he just dangled off of it. He was fed on the floor along with his droppings and everything covered in ants. I checked several times, and there wasn't water for him. I consider this abuse. The furnishings in our room were very dated and unattractive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from minnesota

Best spot on the beach!

Posted Feb 1, 2017
Ana Y Jose surpassed our expectations in every way. The staff was so friendly and accommodating. The breakfast included every morning was absolutely terrific. Unlike most places, you are able to choose your breakfast option off of a menu. We had a garden/pool room close to the street- it was like our own private paradise. A few reviews complain of street noise, but I only heard a few trucks go by- we mainly woke up to the birds singing. The beach area at Ana is also the best- their beach chairs are spread apart and everyone can have a wooden umbrella for shade. Other hotels have people crammed together and no shade to be had. Also, Kevin at he hotel helped us plan a day to the visit the Mayan Ruins and swim in a cenote. I would not hesitate to stay here again!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Outdated rooms and antique bathrooms

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Pros: Restaurant staff are very kind and attentive and go out of their way to serve you with a smile. Fo.od and drinks as well as the service are quite good
Cons: Total refresh of the rooms is a must. The bathrooms are dangerously outdated. Management response to problems is more motel and less boutique.
Location: Location is good with most beach restaurants within 15 min walking distance or a short taxi ride.
We stayed at the hotel for 5 of our 9 nights in Tulum. Our room was ocean front at cost of over $500 per d nigtht. Tiny room with outdated furniture and old style wooden shutters without actual windows. The room has a cheap noisy AC that barely cools the room with the winds blowing thru the closed shutters. If you chose to open the windows and front glass you will splashed in rain and sand blowing in. Other rooms may be better but this top room is uncomfortable. The sink barely had any water for the first 2 nights while our shower needed a safe cracker to adjust the delicate cold/hot water combination. Even then every 30 seconds you must jump to avoid the water turning mysteriously from warm to boiling. after 2 days they managed to fix the sink but the shower remained a constant danger. Even a precious afternoon nap was impossible with children constantly screaming below my closed shutters which happen to overlook the pool. So If you are a couple escaping from your own kids and looking for a place to relax avoid this hotel. The manager offered us 2 free 30 min massages as consolation for the sweaty nights, camping style bathroom and missed naps. I politely declined. There are plenty more charming hotel at half the price in Tulum and many much nicer hotels at the the price. There's no excuse for this hotel to charge misleading prices for the low quality they offer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Carbondale, CO

Best place on Tulum beach

Posted Dec 8, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Location, rooms, spa
Location: Tulum is growing and there are lots of amazing restaurants and shops to go to that are nearby
Ana y Jose's is an amazing hotel. We spent four nights there in an ocean suite and the staff could not have been friendlier or more accommodating! From the staff at the spa to the restaurant people to the people in reception, everyone was very helpful and went out of their way to make sure our stay was perfect. And it was! I would highly recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very clean and beautiful

Posted Dec 6, 2016
We stayed in Tulum for a wedding. Here are some random things to know: we hung out at multiple restaurants, hotels, and houses. this was literally the ONLY place where you can flush the toilet paper. Every where else you have to discard of the tissue in the trash can which can be kind of weird when you go number 2. Our shower was aaaamazing. Great temperature and water pressure. Everyone that works there is super friendly. They provide you a pretty large bottled water in your room everyday plus deliver some kind of dessert every evening. The free breakfast you receive is not your standard cold continental breakfast. It's delicious, hot food with some sort of appetizer (for free). All you pay for is drinks. All of their food is so fresh and fancy. I loved the omelette. The room is a decent size, not huge or anything. But nice and incredibly clean. Very few places in Tulum have AC. this place does! They do not have king sized beds available FYI. Room does not come with a TV or fridge or microwave. But that's ok. Whatever room you're in, you're so close to the restauarant and beach. Beautiful beach. Loved the hotel and recommend!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lives Up to its name

Posted Oct 23, 2016
We were upgraded from a garden view to an ocean room which was a nice surprise. We loved everything about the hotel - very pleasant staff, wonderful location on the ocean, beautiful grounds. Only downside was the food which was not so great but that seemed to be a factor in the entire area. Limited choices and quite expensive. However, hotel is very pleasant and comfortable.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fantastic stay in Tulum!

Posted Jul 7, 2016 on Hotels
Ana y Jose was a great place to stay during our sister trip to Tulum. Everything about the trip was great. The service at the hotel - the entire wait staff, was fantastic, friendly and accommodating. They arranged a snorkel trip to Akumal for us, which was the highlight of the trip. We just wish we had more days in Tulum.