Ratings based on 162 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from berlin

Great hotel

Posted Nov 30, 2017
Me and my boyfriend had an great time at Hip Hotel. The staff is very friendly and you have plenty of palapas at the beach to choose from. I also enjoyed a lot the fact that the restaurant is beach front so we could have the breaksfast with the ocean view. The food was great! The rooms are spacious and all of them have a varanda with a hammock. A plus was the shampoo and conditioner they offer with all natural ingredients. Usually I get very disappointed with these details in other hotels, where the conditioner is like water or have no effect at all, but theirs is truly amazing, I even wanted to buy some for me. The only suggestion I would give is to not put any clients at room number 5. Unfortunately we had our first night there and it was not pleasant at all, the room is close to the street and reception and also right beside the generator of the hotel therefore is really noisy and we could not sleep. But they changed us to another room the next day and it was perfect!!! Sleeping with the ocean sound.
5 out of 5
by David

Paradise

Posted Jul 11, 2017 on Hotels
Amazing! Really, amazing. Great location with many great bars, restaurants, boutiques close by. Staff were great and bent over backwards to make our stay enjoyable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 12, 2017
Thank you for your comments, we greatly appreciate the opinions of our guests.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Antonio

Great experience

Posted Jul 8, 2017
The room was very clean and spacious. We had room#2, next to the restaurant on the second floor (see pic below). The front desk lady said this room was the only ocean view room with an A/C. Some palm trees were in the way of the "ocean view" but nevertheless, you are beachfront with a lovely hammock to lay on right on your front porch. They have beds out in front of the beach that you can layout on. We had read that Ana y Jose (hotel) is a sister hotel to Hip Hotel Tulum so we decided to walk there and have breakfast one morning, which was exceptional. We recommend the breakfast at Ana y Jose and it's free of charge since its a sister hotel. Overall our experience was great, we even had the fortune of seeing a sea turtle while walking the beach at moonlight. We will definitely stay at Hip Hotel the next time we are in Tulum.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 12, 2017 by HIP HOTEL TULUM, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments, we greatly appreciate the opinions of our guests.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Great ocean view hotel!

Posted May 1, 2017
Pros: Beautiful view, great location, comfortable, clean
Cons: The free breakfast offered was a little sparse. No A/C, but we didn't find that it was needed.
Location: Beautiful white sandy beach with clear turquoise water. Bar and restaurant at the hotel and many others in short walk.
We had a wonderful stay at Hip Hotel in Tulum. Staff were all very friendly and accommodating. The ocean view room was just as advertised and had a great breeze. The bed was comfortable and the room clean. Location in Tulum was excellent and a short walk to restaurants and shops.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loved it!

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Great staff, beautiful hotel. Will stay there again!
5 out of 5
by Melissa

Great for couples!

Posted Apr 12, 2017 on Hotels
The stay at Hip Hotel was amazing! This is a quaint hotel; clean, great customer service, amazing beachfront with cute cabanas and huts. The staff was able to answer all of our questions, they have valet parking always readily available. Breakfast is on the house and it's a great way to start your day. The wifi isn't great, but it was nice to get away and not have so much service :)
5 out of 5
by Alison

Hip Hip hurrah!

Posted Apr 10, 2017 on Hotels
We've stayed at the Hip Hotel before so knew what to expect, it's lovely if you want somewhere small and quiet, we enjoyed the breakfast but wouldn't recommend it for eating in otherwise. The beds can be quite hard, but the cleanliness and the friendliness of the staff make up for any short comings. We really enjoyed our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montana

Great Spot to vacation at!!!

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Pros: the staff and the room.
Cons: Maybe a little more variety in the dinner menu.
Location: great location on the beach and an easy walk to restaurants and shops.
I went with my two daughters(26,29) and we had a great time in Tulum. The gave us a large room with an extra bed which was very comfortable. The staff was very friendly and attentive. Plus we had a full breakfast every morning that was part of the room charge and it was very tasty. Definitely would go back again to Hip Hotel Tulum!
5 out of 5
by Lynette

Pure Enjoyment

Posted Feb 10, 2017 on Hotels
Hip Hotel was an amazing get away. The entire staff went out of their way to be courteous and helpful. The oceanfront room delivered the view and did not disappoint. With many Tulum restaurants to chose from, Hip Hotel should not be skipped. Loved this hotel and we look forward to staying here again next year.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maine

Wonderful hotel and staff

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Pros: Very kind staff, good restaurant and bar, great location. nice rooms. Very accommodating.
Cons: Rooms could be updated a little. Mosquito net looked a little old and covered in squashed bugs! Cleaning staff was a little forgetful of towels.
Location: It is down the road a bit, away from most shops, but still close enough to some restaurants and a few shops. Really good for just lounging on beach.
This was an amazing hotel. I have stayed at other hotels on the beach in Tulum, and this was by far the best. They were very welcoming and organized. The restaurant was great, and the waitstaff and chefs were just wonderful and so kind and accommodating. Chef Juan Carlos was especially friendly and helpful. We walked down the beach looking for lunch one day and were so turned off by the rude service at several restaurants and hotels we looked into having lunch at that we just returned back to Hip Hotel and ate there. So much nicer than anything else we encountered. It is a larger property and all the staff have walkie-talkies, so that if you request something, they get on the walkie-talkie and someone brings it to you or your room in under a minute! Restaurant food was very good too. Try the Ceviche sampler, it is fantastic. Never had octopus and octopus ink ceviche ever! Rooms were very nice. Could do with updating the doors as they stick and the lock fell off the last day. Mainly I would return because of how very nice and helpful the staff were. They really made the stay great. If anyone asks me where to stay in Tulum Beach, I would definitely recommend Hip Hotel!