Ratings based on 165 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northern alifornia

Posted Feb 20, 2018
Clean, but older facility right on the beach. Nice comfortable king sized bed. Very friendly staff. Food in the restaurant was quite good. One small issue to me was that they recommended that we didn’t drink the tap water, but charged us 75 pesos for bottled water.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from berlin

Great hotel

Posted Nov 30, 2017
Me and my boyfriend had an great time at Hip Hotel. The staff is very friendly and you have plenty of palapas at the beach to choose from. I also enjoyed a lot the fact that the restaurant is beach front so we could have the breaksfast with the ocean view. The food was great! The rooms are spacious and all of them have a varanda with a hammock. A plus was the shampoo and conditioner they offer with all natural ingredients. Usually I get very disappointed with these details in other hotels, where the conditioner is like water or have no effect at all, but theirs is truly amazing, I even wanted to buy some for me. The only suggestion I would give is to not put any clients at room number 5. Unfortunately we had our first night there and it was not pleasant at all, the room is close to the street and reception and also right beside the generator of the hotel therefore is really noisy and we could not sleep. But they changed us to another room the next day and it was perfect!!! Sleeping with the ocean sound.
5 out of 5
by Paul

Posted Nov 8, 2017 on Hotels
Awesome central location. Beautiful beach, food just ok and beach bar just ok but plenty of other excellent bars and restaurants very close by. Chocolate shampoo soap and lotion were so awesome, smell great!!
5 out of 5
by David

Paradise

Posted Jul 11, 2017 on Hotels
Amazing! Really, amazing. Great location with many great bars, restaurants, boutiques close by. Staff were great and bent over backwards to make our stay enjoyable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 12, 2017
Thank you for your comments, we greatly appreciate the opinions of our guests.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Antonio

Great experience

Posted Jul 8, 2017
The room was very clean and spacious. We had room#2, next to the restaurant on the second floor (see pic below). The front desk lady said this room was the only ocean view room with an A/C. Some palm trees were in the way of the "ocean view" but nevertheless, you are beachfront with a lovely hammock to lay on right on your front porch. They have beds out in front of the beach that you can layout on. We had read that Ana y Jose (hotel) is a sister hotel to Hip Hotel Tulum so we decided to walk there and have breakfast one morning, which was exceptional. We recommend the breakfast at Ana y Jose and it's free of charge since its a sister hotel. Overall our experience was great, we even had the fortune of seeing a sea turtle while walking the beach at moonlight. We will definitely stay at Hip Hotel the next time we are in Tulum.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 12, 2017 by HIP HOTEL TULUM, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments, we greatly appreciate the opinions of our guests.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Great ocean view hotel!

Posted May 1, 2017
Pros: Beautiful view, great location, comfortable, clean
Cons: The free breakfast offered was a little sparse. No A/C, but we didn't find that it was needed.
Location: Beautiful white sandy beach with clear turquoise water. Bar and restaurant at the hotel and many others in short walk.
We had a wonderful stay at Hip Hotel in Tulum. Staff were all very friendly and accommodating. The ocean view room was just as advertised and had a great breeze. The bed was comfortable and the room clean. Location in Tulum was excellent and a short walk to restaurants and shops.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loved it!

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Great staff, beautiful hotel. Will stay there again!
5 out of 5
by Melissa

Great for couples!

Posted Apr 12, 2017 on Hotels
The stay at Hip Hotel was amazing! This is a quaint hotel; clean, great customer service, amazing beachfront with cute cabanas and huts. The staff was able to answer all of our questions, they have valet parking always readily available. Breakfast is on the house and it's a great way to start your day. The wifi isn't great, but it was nice to get away and not have so much service :)
5 out of 5
by Alison

Hip Hip hurrah!

Posted Apr 10, 2017 on Hotels
We've stayed at the Hip Hotel before so knew what to expect, it's lovely if you want somewhere small and quiet, we enjoyed the breakfast but wouldn't recommend it for eating in otherwise. The beds can be quite hard, but the cleanliness and the friendliness of the staff make up for any short comings. We really enjoyed our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montana

Great Spot to vacation at!!!

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Pros: the staff and the room.
Cons: Maybe a little more variety in the dinner menu.
Location: great location on the beach and an easy walk to restaurants and shops.
I went with my two daughters(26,29) and we had a great time in Tulum. The gave us a large room with an extra bed which was very comfortable. The staff was very friendly and attentive. Plus we had a full breakfast every morning that was part of the room charge and it was very tasty. Definitely would go back again to Hip Hotel Tulum!