Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by terrisa from utah

cute but needs plumbing updates

Posted Mar 14, 2016 on Hotels
The staff was very friendly, yet understaffed, and I loved the paintings and hammock in the room. The breakfast was included and it was great...eggs, fruit, juice, bread. The neighborhood was so so...a little noisy. The biggest problem was the plumbing! The sinks leaked and in the morning there was NO water pressure...only a small stream of water...so we couldn't flush the toilet or shower.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Very nice owner

Posted Jan 2, 2016
The hotel is located in a residential area so it was sort of hard to find, but the locals are willing to help. It is a basic hotel but each room has character because they are all different colors and have hand painted drawings on the wall. The breakfast was better than continental because we got scrambled eggs, toast with butter, fruit salad, and fresh squeezed juice. The owner was also very nice because he gave each of us a gift and offered us the traditional, local Christmas cake.
4 out of 5
by Gloria

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 30, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Richard from BC

Feb stay over

Posted Feb 28, 2015 on Hotels
The room we were in could use some TLC but it was clean Room was spacious and there was a hot breakfast.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mexico

Old, run down hotel in poor neighborhood

Posted Feb 7, 2015
Pros: Walking distance to restaurants, good wi-fi
Cons: Just about everything. Price!
Location: One block from Main Street. Camellias and Tulum Barricuda very good restaurants closeby.
Room needs makeover. Toilet did not flush properly, ran a lot. Shower curtain fell down and couldn't put back up. Sewer smell coming from shower. TV not plasma as written on website. It was 10x10 ". Only got one channel. Beds were very hard. A/c quit working after 3 hours, could not get it back on. Worst hotel we have stayed in for several years. Very expensive for what we got.
4 out of 5
by alice from seattle

Clean and comfortable

Posted Jan 26, 2015 on Hotels
Good building, a little hard to find.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Quiet location and decent hotel

Posted Jan 25, 2015
Pros: Quiet location and friendly staff.
Cons: The hotel need updating in general. Nothing is wrong just very dated.
Location: Most of the restaurants and shopping can all be walked to from this hotel. It was about 10 minutes to ADO bus station.
The hotel did not have our reservation but accommodated us anyway with a very large suite which was very nice of them. They later found the paid reservation. Quiet location 1 block from the main street with all of the restaurants and shopping. Not close to the beach but that is the case for most of Tulum (except for a few high priced resorts). The room was OK, a tiny TV and noisy A/C but it all worked well. Good shower and comfortable, large bed. Decent WiFi. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is basically coffee, juice, toast and a scrambled egg but adequate to start the day. You need to take transit or rent a bike or scooter to get to the beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Dallas

nice place for our first visit in MEXICO.

Posted Jan 13, 2015
Pros: Everything from the decor to the food, the location
Cons: The only thing is that the balcony of our suite was partially covered by the cabana of the ground floor.
We liked the atmosphere . Very friendly. The hotel is very comfortable and very clean. Breakfast lovely . Close to the town: you can walk to many restaurants and shops and bars without taking a taxi. Definitely I would recommend if you are the type of tourist that wants t to be in Mexico and not just at the beach. The beach is taxi distant , but is not very far.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good basic hotel with nice owner

Posted Jan 6, 2015 on Hotels
This is quite basic but is fine for most purposes. No extra facilities though, not even a garden. Price-wise it is cheap for Tulum and the owner is very helpful. Breakfast is included in the price and was substantial. It is a long way from the beach but so are most hotels in Tulum. It is not as hard to find as some reviews say. On the main Tulum highway, look for the popular Camello restaurant. Turn down the road at its side and then next left. La Mariposa is on your right on this street. lf you hire cycles to get to the beach we suggest you bring small bike lights with you as these are not included with hire bikes, the roads are busy and it gets pitch dark at 6 pm. our room had a small kitchen and there is an Oxo store very near, on the main road.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Too far off the beaten path...

Posted Apr 22, 2014
Although the place was clean and the bed was comfortable, I would not stay there again. Too far off the beaten path. I would rather be closer to the beach. Cab rides got expensive and there is no paths close to ride a bike. Breakfast was really weak, no effort put into it at all... Coffee was REALLY BAD!