Ratings based on 236 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by Arturo

Don't offer this place to anybody.

Posted Apr 21, 2017 on Hotels
The French lady (owner) there was very unpleasant. We did not stay there, it was terrible. We are seniors and the entrance was very small to enter.The stairs are dangerous, no elevator. The description of this place is a fraud.I want a refund of this terrible place, I will not recommend it to anybody..We drove back to Playa del Carmen and stayed there instead of this unpleasant. Yoy should investigate this lousy place.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

DO NOT GO TO THIS HOTEL !!!

Posted Apr 20, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: CANT SAY, WE WERENT PERMITTED TO STAY THERE.
Cons: better management and we were never contacted..we could've easily been emailed 1 month earlier and changed if there was a simple hotel mistake...
Location: decent location, easy walking distance to shops
I have never ever written a review before... we stayed in 6 hotels during this last trip to mexico and all were great except this one. OMG !!! When we arrived at the hotel, we were told the hotel was overbooked and, then TRANSFERRED US to a different hotel and at the new hotel we were told that the RESERVATION WAS MOVED 1 MONTH AGO, but i had never been contacted ! the hotel we were TRANSFERRED to had a value of about 1/2 OF WHAT WE PAID THROUGH ORBITZ ! ALSO, our reservation was PAID for three people, but the new reservation in the new hotel was for only 2 ,and had 2 single small beds, my son had to sleep on the floor !!! NEVER GO TO THIS HOTEL !!! I believe that the owners are actually making money, selling rooms out...and that ORBITZ SHOULD NOT CONTINUE TO BOOK THIS HOTEL.
5 out of 5
by Adam

Perfect location and intimate, clean hotel

Posted Apr 14, 2017 on Hotels
The coffee is fresh and excellent. The family dog is like a little Ewok. The location could not be better. We will be returning for sure.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Charming little gem in Tulum

Posted Apr 7, 2017
If you're looking for reasonably priced accommodations in Tulum, this charming little rustic spot is great. A little off the beaten path in the center of the town, away from the more tourist flooded beach area, it gives a nice taste of the local culture. The street is lined with taco stands, markets and restaurants, a soccer field and dogs wandering. The room we had was simple, clean and cute. The air conditioner worked great. We were a little disappointed that our room didn't come with the bath tub as the pictures had shown, but we made do. The bed was roomy and firm. The bathroom was set under a little indoor cabaña, offering a little privacy. We made the most of the tiny patio with hammock. Lo Nuestro has a cute little innercourt where breakfast is offered at a reasonable rate. We decided to explore our options at neighboring spots and found lots of great food. The enthusiastic hostess, Mirka, is full of great recommendations, which took us to some great spots like the gorgeous Ixcacel Beach & cenote, The beach between Zamas Hotel and El Pez in Tulum Beach where pelicans delight, Pescadores Beach, snorkeling at Yal-Ku in Akumal and more. This hotel is not walking distance to the beach. You will have to get transportation there. We rented bikes in town one day and a scooter the other two-all very reasonably priced. The hotel rents out snorkels, but I'd recommend getting a better one for cheaper in town. Overall we were happy with our stay!
1 out of 5
by Darragh

NIGHTMARE

Posted Mar 4, 2017 on Hotels
*****WARNING ***** These people are crooks. We were thrown into the street and charged an extra $250 on top of the room money lost over a cracked glass shampoo bottle. We were warned by another guest of the owner and her heavy drinking. This place was a nightmare.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis

Lovely small hotel

Posted Mar 1, 2017
I was pleasantly surprised that we had air conditioning... I didn't remember this from the hotel description. It has a good location close to the main drag, very walkable to lots of bars and restaurants, though some taxi drivers needed directions to find it. It felt homey and safe and the Wi-Fi was reliable. The outdoor private porch was nice. Be aware there's no fridge or TV. I would have liked a full length mirror, but this is a very minor issue. This was the perfect home base for us on our trip.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quaint hotel near Tulum's downtown area.

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: Ponchito, the dog! :) Also, very friendly owners and good location for accessing Tulum center (however, beach access requires a taxi or bike ride).
Cons: I think Jorge and his wife have done a great job!
Location: Delicious restaurants: Asaderos and El Capitan on Jorge's recommendation. Taxi to beach: Pescadores (near the ruins). Cafe: Babel (couple blocks away)
This hotel was very clean, comfortable, and nicely decorated. The owner, Jorge, and his wife were very sweet and accommodating and had great recommendations for food and activities.Their English is limited, so if you're a gringo, remember to speak slowly for them. And if you want to practice Spanish, this is the perfect place. As for the room, very firm but comfortable bed. Bath tub awesome (no jets fyi). The AC works really well. We had trouble figuring out how to use the control and woke up in the middle of the first night freezing (our fault)... realized in the morning that there was an extra blanket folded up in the corner of the room. Balcony is nice. Bathroom is very clean- the top is sort of open (covered by straw with a small gap), so maybe not the best for a couple not yet comfortable with pooing around each other (not our case). The location was so so- very convenient for arrival on bus (0.4 mile walk from the ADO bus station) and access to downtown Tulum, but directly across from an expo event center so it can get noisy. A taxi ride from the hotel to the beach ran anywhere from 80 to 100 pesos (4-5 bucks). 200 pesos from the beach to Gran Cenote (you can probably get this down but we were in a hurry). 100 pesos from Gran Cenote to the hotel. There was an event going on at the expo our first night (Friday), but it shut down by midnight, and we didn't have any problem the rest of the nights. Still, you might want to bring ear plugs if you're not used to city noise.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good

Posted Feb 11, 2017 on Hotels
Good beds nice room
1 out of 5
by Elaine H

SHRIEKING HOTEL OWNER

Posted Feb 7, 2017 on Hotels
Soon after I registered, I received a hotels.com 3-question survey. I responded that the hotel was pretty and the staff fine but that it had been difficult for me to find. I attach photos of the street, the almost invisible sign as I approached (it's obscured by a tree), and the wood-stick front of the hotel with its locked door and no sign. The hotel is four or five blocks from the main street where there are restaurants. Right after I sent in my response, I guess the hotel owner couple saw it. The woman confronted me and shrieked, "You wrote that our hotel is hard to find but it is NOT hard to find. YOU are not normal. YOU have a problem." I was shocked to be treated like this (I am 75 and have travelled a lot) but also to find that hoteliers can see our responses immediately and take our responses to your surveys out on us while we are staying there! It's hard to be candid if you think that there's going to be fury at your response!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, MN

Quiet, quaint Tulum hotel en El Centro

Posted Jan 25, 2017
Pros: Small, quiet, family-run hotel. Very comfortable, large beds and pillows. Decorated in a Santa Fe style. Nicely located off the main street area.
Cons: Because the plumbing is not great in Tulum, there was the smell of urine because of back up in the pipes, (not because of a dirty bathroom)
Location: This small hotel is located about two or three blocks from the small downtown area where you will find the restaurants, bars, and taxis.
This small, quiet, Santa Fe decorated hotel is nicely located just a few blocks from El Centro. This is where you will find the restaurants, bars, banks, plazas, and taxis. The check-in was quick and welcoming. The Wi-Fi was up and running just fine the 4 nights I stayed there. There is no TV but a comfortable Hammock to use while reading and relaxing in an outside enclosed area. The air conditioning was needed to sleep comfortably at night because of the heat.