Ratings based on 54 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wautoma WI

Nice Safe Hotel with great staff.

Posted Mar 12, 2016
Pros: Expedia
Great place to stay in Tulum. Staff is really friendly and helpful. Breakfast was great. (eggs made to order daily) The only draw back was the beds were much firmer than we are accustomed to. Well be back!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Annoying

Posted Jan 31, 2016
As I opened the door after checking in, I was notified that they double booked and I would have to move the next day. Very annoying and an inconvenience. The hot water in the room did not work, the wifi was spotty at best, and there were no real apologies by the owner. The pool was empty.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 26, 2015
Good, convenient, large room, good breakfast, friendly staff
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2016 by Carolina, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for taking the time to write us a review! The friendly staff got happy! Safe travels! Saludos
3 out of 5
by vernbodeen from Fort Collins, CO

Nice appearance, but lacking in some areas

Posted Mar 27, 2014 on Hotels
The desk clerk was friendly and helpful about the location of the bus station, where to go to hail a taxi, and with suggestions for restaurants. The free breakfast in an upstairs open-air dining area was very nice. Our room, however, did not allow us to get a good night's sleep. The bed mattress was nearly as hard as the floor. The AC worked, but was excessively loud and the remote control had as many buttons with obscure symbols as a cable controller. The fan above the bed had two setting: off and helicopter take-off. There were windows, but no screens on them. We ended up using the AC and frequently waking up to turn it off because of its noise.
5 out of 5
by Amara from California

Excellent Service

Posted Jan 5, 2014 on Hotels
We stayed in Tulum for two nights and we are so glad we chose the Xibalba. Richie (the owner) made us feel very well taken care of and gave us lots of information about local cenotes. My kids loved this place, the pool was a nice little retreat. The room was immaculate and contained two huge king beds and a twin. The breakfast offered under the palapa on the roof was wonderful and they will make you scrambled eggs with whatever ingredients you like.The location is right in the twon and it is easy to walk to restaurants and shops. There is a night watchman on site all night as well. If we ever go back to Tulum we would definitely stay here again. Very safe and clean.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 7, 2013 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay

Posted Jul 20, 2013 on Hotels
I loved it hear. The staff is so nice and helpful. It was great to have a safe place to leave my car and a place that takes you cave diving. Only problem at all was not have wifi in my room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jane from Melbourne VIC, Australia

great for scuba divers

Posted May 25, 2013
We had a good time at the Xibalba, The room was spacious, but very basic, and the bathroom was clean but tiny. The best thing about it was the dive shop, the lovely Richie took us out on an introduction dive for the day in one of the senotes which was lots of fun.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a good value for your money

Posted May 11, 2013 on Hotels
rooms are small. the door between the bedroom and the shower is a sliding door without a handle which means you can get stuck inside the bathroom. there is a large space between the front door and the floor, which gets many mosquitoes inside. towels are very dirty. we were amazed by how the staff of the hotel allows this to happen. breakfast is OK, not really a buffet. just some scrambled eggs and Yogurt. the hotels runs by a German family. location is bad - far away from the beach, and 15 minutes walk from city center. night life in Tulum is a bit quiet so when returning to the hotel you would need some TV time. but no TV in the room. we only realized that we needed a TV when we stayed in Tulum. this hotel really doesn't worth the money you pay for it, better take a Hostel.
2 out of 5
by PJ from Seattle, WA, USA

Expectations vs. reality

Posted Dec 16, 2012
Pros: Good location if Tulum/diving is your thing. Good quality for the price.
Cons: No Internet access or working TV. Very rude night staff. Bed was pretty hard/uncomfortable. Not a very relaxing place - loud early in the morning.
Location: Walkable to all of downtown Tulum as well as a large supermarket. If you're staying here - or anywhere in Tulum - you WILL need a rental car.
As once stated by a friend, "Disappointment is often the result of when expectations don't match reality." Hotel Xibalba is an OK hotel, but could make for a fine stay, depending on what/why you're in Tulum. If you're a diver and plan on primarily doing that on your trip, stop reading now - this is the place you should stay. In a nutshell, this hotel is a good place - in terms of price/quality - if you're literally using it as a base and place to crash at night. Outside of that, you're wasting your time/money if you think you can squeeze much more out of it, in light of other accommodations in the region. The Good: -Walkable to pretty much any part of 'downtown' Tulum. I guess this could be considered a minus, but trust me, it's better than having to constantly drive, but definitely noisier. -Good location - 800m from a large supermarket, 8K from the beach -Nice clean room The Bad: -You'd never find this on Expedia (or otherwise), but they only staff the office with an English speaker from 9AM - 5PM. The guy who runs the 'night shift' is extremely rude and was very unhelpful, which made a very bad impression given that we arrived at midnight, after travelling for an entire day. -They don't have Internet access, despite claiming the opposite. -Although there was a TV in the room, it didn't work Basically, if you just sleep there, it's probably not a fine place. If you're looking for anything in the realm of relaxing/beachy, you're wasting your time.