Ratings based on 54 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Ann

A great good quality quiet hotel

Posted Mar 14, 2017 on Hotels
We loved our stay here. Great modern room and bathroom, lively pool and sunny terraces. Sumptuous breakfast and friendly service. This hotel is also a dive school which we had not fully realised when we booked so most of the guests weee out for the day diving.
4 out of 5
by Adlin

Posted Feb 12, 2017 on Hotels
Good
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 23, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quaint and comfortable hotel.

Posted Nov 9, 2016 on Hotels
We enjoyed our stay at Xibalba Hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We also got a chance to chat with the owner, who was also very friendly. We had a great, made to order egg breakfast along with fresh fruit, yogurt and granola. It was centrally located. The hotel had a very quaint, artistic style. It met all of our needs.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect for scuba divers

Posted Aug 3, 2016
The staff is helpful and friendly. The dive shop is excellent.the only thing is they need to buy some beds that aren't so hard or cover them with a foam mat. Excellent for the price.
5 out of 5
by Alicia from Shy town

High 5

Posted Jul 19, 2016 on Hotels
Awesome short stay, close to ruins, shopping, bus terminal & food.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely personable hotel

Posted Jul 14, 2016
Pros: location and tranquility
Cons: Services/amenaties.
Location: As mentioned near both the town and access road to the beaches.
Hotel was quite well located for both the town and beaches. One road back from main road so really quite peaceful. Room was great. Staff were pleasant. With more amenaties this could really improve the hotel, ie a fridge in the rooms etc.
4 out of 5
by amy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 5, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los angeles

Great place, at great cost

Posted May 12, 2016
Pros: Location, staff, cleanliness.
Cons: ideally small fridge in the room
Location: super close to restaurants and bars, perfect
Location is great, staff too - breakfast is perfect. Balcony is the highlight, there is always breeze, was hard to leave. Staff is super helpful and nice. The swimming pool is another highlight, definitely recommend this place, can't go wrong.
3 out of 5
by Terry from Canada

Nice enough, but...

Posted Apr 19, 2016 on Hotels
Xibalba Hotel is in a great location, on a quiet street close to restaurants, shopping and the bike path to the beach. The rooms are very basic, no TV, weak Wifi, no mini-fridge, no hairdryer, no toiletries other than hand soap, but it was clean and comfortable with a big bathroom, good shower and free bottled water. We would have preferred not to use the air conditioner at night but there were no screens on the windows so leaving them open was not an option. The breakfast was very nice and included granola, yogurt, fresh fruit, eggs any style, ham, juice and coffee. The two staff who we met, Tomas and the housekeeper/breakfast server were pleasant and helpful. The ground are very pretty and well-kept, but the pool was murky and covered in debris so we didn't do much swimming, although we did enjoy sitting around the pool at the end of a busy day. However it is clear that the hotel is geared for the diving community, and when the divers return around 4:00 p.m. the pool area becomes a rinsing off, drying area for scuba equipment. There are only four lounge chairs and two were covered in laundry and one with scuba gear. It is also a little noisy early in the morning when the divers are having breakfast and packing up equipment. Otherwise, the hotel is very quiet. We found the hotel to be just okay, but guests who are divers probably enjoy it much more.