Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Love this hotel. Highly recommended

Posted Jul 3, 2017 on Orbitz
Staff are friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean spacious. The decoration of room and property gives a great sense of living in ancient Mexican culture. The shampoo and soap are bee honey and smells just so GREAT. Landscape are being maintenaed at professional level. Love it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2017 by chelseaZAMAS, Hotel Management
Hola! Thank you for kind words and for your stay at ZAMAS. We loved having you here and we're so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope you come visit us again in the future! Hasta pronto! Chelsea
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel spot in Tulum for the price

Posted Mar 5, 2017 on Orbitz
Minus the wifi issues we had a nice stay, nice restaurant and bar - I even lost my wallet on the property at one point and they found it for me which was great
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Enjoyed my stay. Great location and lovely rooms.
4 out of 5
by Mary

We loved this location

Posted Jan 25, 2017 on Hotels
Our bungalow was right on the beach, and we had a front row view to pelicans flying around all day. The restaurant was reasonably priced, the staff was incredibly friendly. The bed was very comfortable, though it would have been nice to have a little extra space in the room and bathroom.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by ChrysRo

First time in Tulum, not the last!

Posted Oct 21, 2015 on Orbitz
The room: We had a cabana on the beach which we reserved for a great deal at the time, maybe $150 a night. Great for the price, would not pay above that for this room as it was bare bones, tiny, no A/C, no dresser, no chairs, no hooks to hang towels or wet clothes (you know, things you pay extra for). You really don't need those things in Tulum anyway so we were completely content, just wouldn't go back if the price were higher. We could hear traffic from the street but it wasn't bothersome and never woke us, I imagine the rooms closer to the street would be obnoxious noise wise. Either way, bring earplugs. The birds start screaming at dawn (not bad because sunrise in Tulum is beautiful). Restaurant: Good food, we ate most meals here as we were too lazy to head out (aside from Chencho's down the street which is great affordable, authentic food). Their restaurant offers enough variety so you can eat there multiple times without getting bored. They do have rotating chef's though so I can only hope they're all great. They also had live bands or DJ's every night until 10:00 so you could easily make dinner last hours if you felt like lounging. Also, breakfast overlooking the ocean was an amazing way to wake up every morning. Beach: Water was beautiful, occasional waves but not overwhelming. Unfortunately, there were some random rocks out in the water that we kept hitting our toes on. I didn't encounter the rock issue at other beaches in Tulum but that may just be coincidence. There were plenty of palapas to go around, I rarely saw people having to lay directly on the sand. Tip: Ask the front desk for a cooler and some ice so you can BYOB to the beach! Would def stay here again, but will be looking for other hotels on our next trip just to see what else is out there. If you're looking to be pampered, this is not your hotel. If you're up for a little rustic, you've found a home.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kirk L.

Gorgeous and tranquil

Posted Mar 2, 2015 on Orbitz
Zamas is in an especially good beachfront location just beyond where the ro from Tulum turns south toward the Sian Ka'an biosphere reserve. The setting is very special, with a low rocky ledge immediately behind the hotel overlooking the Caribbean, and a short but attractive sandy beach to the side. Buildings are interspersed in a coconut grove so there's good shade while retaining a sea view from most of the grounds. Built in the palapa hut style common in Tulum, the cabanas are spacious and thoughtfully laid out and decorated with colorfully painted walls, Mexican tile floors, and all-white bedding. There's a constant sea breeze and the ceiling fans are mounting directly over the beds inside of the mosquito netting, so it's easy to set the breeze to your liking and it never feels too hot. The beds themselves are luscious, supportive but with soft bedding and high-quality linens. Each cabana has a pretty spacious patio, about 10' x 15', furnished with 2 good-quality hammocks and a small table with a couple of chairs. While some of the cabanas are close together, all afford a good deal of privacy. Each room is equipped with a bottled water dispense, and we never ran low. The staff was truly outstanding. They clearly work very hard to keep the place scrupulously clean and took evident pride in their work. With beachside cabanas you expect to have critters in your room (occasional roaches and the occasional small lizard are common) but I didn't see any during our stay, and noticed that they regularly spray for bugs. One especially impressive observation is that they seem to have a full-time staff person dedicated to keeping the bathrooms that are shared by some of the cabanas constantly cleaned. The managers Salvador and Max both knocked themselves out to meet client's needs with things like printing up boarding passes or giving local travel advice. The restaurant is a very attractive palapa set right on the beach, half on sand and half with a floor. The food was pretty good, not as remarkable as you can get at a few places in Tulum, but solid and fairly priced. Cocktails were a strong point they have a habanero-infused passion fruit margarita that was the best thing I've had to drink for quite a while. The really special thing, though, is that they have a live band playing almost every evening, usually with traditional music. All were very good, and one that I think was called "Son Jericho" was one of the best bar bands I've ever seen. They typically played from 7:30-10 nightly, and listening to Spanish music in that beautiful, candlelit seaside palapa was just wonderful. Having low-key entertainment right at your hotel in Tulum is especially important, as otherwise there's not much to do in town after dinner. It's incredibly pleasant to sit for a while sipping nice cocktails and listening to good music, then walking the few feet to your cabana nestled in a coconut grove with the waves roaring in the background. We slept like babies all week. The only cautionary note I can think of about this place is that the beach is rather small and not connected to a larger beach, so you can't take long beach strolls right from the property. The beach is certainly large enough for the guest of this relatively small hotel and it was never anything close to crowded there are lots of beach chairs and we never had any trouble finding one and having some space around us to boot. There's also shade around the beach that makes it usable for more of the day. The seafront between Zamas to the south and Diamante K to the north looks like it's mostly rocky shore with little strips of sand the longer beaches are from about Mezzanine to the north from there, and south from Amansala Chica toward Sian Ka'an. These longer walkable stretches of beach have far more activity, with some stretches being pretty dominated by loud music with a thumping techno beat. Overall, Zamas was 'muy tranquillo' by comparison.
4 out of 5
by Simon from Surrey

A great stay at Zamas

Posted Nov 27, 2014 on Hotels
The hotel was pretty much what we expected, sited on the main road but within walking distance of a number of restauraunts and bars and a 2 minute walk to the beach. The hotel is an eco hotel but this wasn't a problem, we didn't have hot water the day we arrived but this was fixed within a hour. We had a fan to keep us cool when it was really warm. The staff were generally really helpful, as the receptionist was on the phone when we arrived they took our bags and gave us a free drink while we waited which was a nice touch. The bars and restauraunts are slightly more expensive than other places in Mexico but as a beach holiday destination this is to be expected. Definately look out for the bars with live music in the evening showcasing Mexican and Latino music! Overall we had a lovely time, on the beach, in the hammocks, eating and drinking with great views of the sea!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

paradise

Posted Nov 19, 2014
Charming, rustic, steps away from a beautiful beach, sea breeze, great food, good music...need I say more?? Had a great stay at Zamas! No need to go to a resort anymore, I will be back.
4 out of 5
by Scott from Greensboro, NC

Nice place to stay

Posted Nov 6, 2014 on Hotels
Clean rooms, good food and cocktails, nice private beach. Overall a nice mid-level place to stay with roomy cabanas. Wi-fi is slow but you shouldn't be on your computer anyway.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 21, 2014
mosquitos, tiny tiny room, right by the road. This is lovely and quaint but if you are expecting comfort this is not the place.