Ratings based on 572 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Moncton, NB

Nice small hotel, 5 minute walk to the beach

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Pros: Quiet and clean. Fair price, very well situated. Close to beach, restaurants, boutique and groceries store, walking distance to all those places
Cons: Would be nice to have a place to wash your feet at the beach
Location: Great location, close to the beach, restaurants, grocerie store and boutique
Had a nice 1week stay at this small resort. Breakfast is reasonably good, fresh fruits, cereal, eggs, toast, juice, coffee and tea. Very well situated, close to the beach (5minutes walk) chairs and beach umbrella are available at no charge. Grocerie store just across the street, you can find almost anything . Two huge BBQ , including the BBQ tools are available at the resort, you just need to ask and you can cook your meal there. Quiet place, bar close at 9pm, very relaxing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 13, 2017 by dpapke@portsofcallresort.com, Hotel Management
Thank you for both choosing to stay with us and for the nice review. Happy to hear that you got the chance to use our new barbecues.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Lancaster, PA

"Just right"

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Clean, attractive, comfortable and very convenient to dining and shops.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 13, 2017 by dpapke@portsofcallresort.com, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the wonderful review...hope you get a chance to return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from connecticut

Just fine

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Looks just like the pictures, nice staff and close to everything. Not plush but very nice. Rent a car cause cabs are expensive.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 13, 2017 by DPapke Owner, Hotel Management
Thank you for the nice review...much appreciated.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Milwaukee, WI

Economic Diamond

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Pros: Owners were great hosts, staff friendly, proximal location to shops, restaurants, beach, grocery store, rental car and dive shop.
Cons: Hospitality room for late check out needs vent or better air conditioning.
Location: Beach, shopping, dining, bars, rental car agency, dive shop, grocery store, massage, spa, snorkeling, parasailing. Central locale, but quiet/peaceful
My friends and I stayed at this hotel when we came to TC I to celebrate milestone birthdays. All of the staff as well as the people of TCI were very friendly and helpful. Although the hotel is not directly on the beach, it is a very short five minute walk to the beach where they provide beach chairs, umbrella's and paddle boards. The hotel is ideally located is there is a very good grocery store across the street there is also a pharmacy and you were very close to many shops and restaurants within easy walking distance of 5-10 minutes. We had a deluxe room with walkout Terrace. There was plenty of room for four adults and one room. There is an in room refrigerator which was handy for storing cold drinks and deli items we bought at the store. Breakfast was included with options of cereal, yogurt, hard-boiled eggs and fruit
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 13, 2017 by DPapke Owner, Hotel Management
Thank you for the wonderful review and for choosing to celebrate with us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto Canada

Nice hotel close to beach

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Pros: Location and staff
Cons: Open the bar before 1pm
Great location with bars, restaurants, grocery store and beach nearby
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 15, 2017 by DPapke Owner, Hotel Management
Thank you for the nice review. The reason that we don't open the bar before 1 is because we allow our guests to purchase discounted liquor at the grocery store next door and enjoy it around the pool. Very few of our guests actually purchase drinks from our bar. Also we don't want to compete with our 3 bar and restaurant tenants in our adjacent plaza.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario

This was a very nice hotel and somewhat underrated

Posted Mar 4, 2017
The difficulty in getting an upgraded review at this hotel is that it is not on the beach. It is only a very short walk however, and a shuttle is provided hourly. It is close to a grocery store, many restaurants and shops. The breakfast provided is ample and changes in menu appear almost daily along with the regular items. The management are on site and are very anxious to please and accept suggestions gratefully. We will be going back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 5, 2017 by dpapke@portsofcallresort.com, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the nice review. Happy that you enjoyed yourself and that you are considering returning.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Okay to stay

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Pros: Close to the restaurants and shopping
Location: The location was nice. Close to the grocery store and to restaurants.
This hotel is not on the beach. It is a short walk to beautiful Grace Bay Beach. The golf cart shuttle was a joke. I stayed 5 days and never saw the golf cart in use. The males running the golf cart seemed very lazy and never asked if we wanted a ride back to the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 23, 2017 by dpapke@portsofcallresort.com, Hotel Management
My apologies but both our shuttle carts were down awaiting parts from Florida for the period Feb 2-20th A sign was posted at the FD explaining this to guests and as well it was discussed at our weekly Managers Social. Fortunately they are repaired as of this morning. My apologies for the inconvenience but we were caught off-guard with the backup cart breaking dowm the day after our main cart experienced issues. Has never happened before and I doubt will ever happen again. Fortunately the beach is only a 3 min walk away.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, Ma

Nice and quiet hotel

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Overall the hotel was really nice. The room was extremely clean. The staff was really helpful and courteous especially staff member Nadgery. She helped us with a lot of questions that we had and helped us book multiple day trips. She definitely deserves recognition. Some of the negatives that I would recommend to be looked at by the owners: 1) the sheets in the room were really hard and uncomfortable to sleep in. 2) the bar should definitely be open later than 9pm, it was noticeable that people were a little bored and decided to go other places. It would be nice if we could just have stayed at our hotel instead of giving business elsewhere. 3) There should also be a vending machine of some sort. After 9pm everything is closed and you really can't get a quick snack or a soda to drink anywhere which is unfortunate. 4) The breakfast was okay -- definitely fills you up but should definitely have a little more variety than just hard boiled eggs and ham every.single.day. But if you don't want to pay to go out to eat its definitely good and fills you up just don't expect different options. Overall, it was great and we would definitely return but it is definitely a resort for if you want peace and quiet. The location is great everything is near restaurants and shops. The beach is less than a 5 minute walk across the street and is incredible. The staff that help with the lawn chairs and umbrellas were really nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 11, 2017 by DPapke Owner, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. Their is two reasons that we close our poolside bar down at 9pm. One is to ensure that there is no noise for guests retiring early, and the second is to not compete with the three bars and restaurants that are our tenants in our adjacent Ports of Call Plaza jusrt steps from our lobby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Pros: More economical compared to the luxury beachfront resorts. Very nicely furnished, conveniently located, quiet.
Cons: Perhaps a small restaurant and/or room service.
Location: Centered in the middle of the Grace Bay restaurants, shops and bars. I walked everywhere, never had to take a taxi.
I stayed for 5 days & 5 nights over the New Year holiday. Very nice room, comfortable, quiet. But I spent most of my time across the street on the beach and eating meals in the resorts and restaurants on the beachfront.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 11, 2017 by DPapke Owner, Hotel Management
Thank you for the nice review. We actually have four bars and restaurants located in our adjacent Ports of Call Plaza on the same property within steps of our lobby. I
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bath

Good, practical hotel at a reasonable price

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Pros: Easy walking distance to Grave Bay bars, restaurants & supermarket and very short walk to the beach. Nice pool area and comfortable loungers.
Cons: Need to watch out for cold showers early evening as they can run out of hot water!
Location: Bar, restaurants and beach all nearby. Worth renting a car for the day or go diving.
Hotel was good. Clean and comfortable room. Nice pool area though the bar was disappointing. No atmosphere and small plastic cups for high price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 11, 2017 by DPapke Owner, Hotel Management
Thank you for the nice review. The shower issue you mentioned only occurs when one of the solonoid valves to the heaters seizes shut. We believe that we have corrected this since your stay. Thank you for your comments re our poolside bar. This is a small little used bar that we maintain for our guests convenience. We have tried to make it more eventful but with our policy of allowing our guests to purchase their liquor and beer at the store and serve themselevs around our pool we don't expect the bar will ever be a 'happening" spot.