Ratings based on 1,340 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Breathtaking resort!

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Staying at the Royal West Indies was a delight. It completely exceeded my expectations. We had a beautiful studio botanical room that overlooked the very well-kept scenery and the pool/hot tub. While walking through the resort there's a walk way directly to the breathtaking beach which the resort offers complimentary chairs, towels, umbrellas, and water sports if desired. The room was very clean and if we needed a service, maintenance came up right away. The staff was very pleasant and helpful especially with booking excursions for you. We went snorkeling through Island Vibes Tour which was beyond amazing. We also spent a lot of time at the Pelican Bay restaurant/bar. The food and drinks were a bit pricey but delicious to say the least. If you're staying on a Wednesday night you must do their lobster extravaganza which is an all you can eat buffet with live music, definitely well worth it. My mother and I had an awesome time here and would definitely come back again. Some of my favorite staff members were Noel, who carried our bags to our room and constantly reminded us to "just be happy," and WJ from the bar who was very attentive and genuine. All of the staff were great but those are just two who I will always remember, they took very good care of us. Overall just a very relaxing and pleasant experience!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from californai

poor service

Posted Nov 26, 2016
As a guest booking through Expedia, they tried to give us a room in the worst part of the hotel. To get a better room, we had to wait until after 3:00 pm, and then could,not find a bell boy to help us to our room. So we dragged our luggage by ourselves. There were no towels at the pool--you had to walk out to the beach shack to check out towels. There is a quiet pool, and the jacuzzi is attached to that pool, so it is difficult for playful kids to enjoy it. The regular pool water was cool, so enjoying the regular pool was also difficult. Service in the restaurant for lunch was not much better. The room is a suite with a kitchen. It is designed for four people, yet the bathroom is small and only has a three foot long sink vanity--barely long enough for one person to use the area, let alone four. Overall, the property is not a bad place, but for the price we paid--around $400, I would consider this about the worst use of this money for a hotel stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Very good location

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Pros: beach
We had a great time, Hotel is close to the airport and right on the beach. Nice stuff. Everything is very expensive. But a good happy hour at the bar. We would come back
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

Nice hotel on the beach.

Posted Nov 22, 2016
The ocean view was only barely such, but the location was great. It's farther from the shops and restaurants but closer to truly gorgeous beach. The hotels has bikes you can borrow which were great for going to shops, restaurants, and the grocery store. The property was beautifully kept. The Pelican Restaurant was very decent with good prices on breakfast meals. The front desk staff was a tad surly on occasion but overall very helpful. The availability of sun umbrellas and towels and water equipment was a huge plus. I would stay here again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, United States of America

Great stay with our kids

Posted Nov 21, 2016
We had an amazing time with the family in a one bedroom with botanical view. Our room was a bit of a walk to the beach but not far at all. We stayed here for a friends wedding and the service was great! Our dryer didn't work in the room and it was fixed the same day which was great! They offered to move us to another room if the problem weren't fixed but we said no because we were leaving the next day so it didn't make sense. The service was great and friendly!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from atlanta, Ga. US

Comfortable stay for a reasonable price

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff beautiful landscaping, clean rooms, reasonable price
Cons: Need a View of beach from bar
Location: Plenty of bars and restaurants within a walk down beach
Very nice stay, location of the hotel is very good. We had a rental car and it was very easy to get around island from this hotel. Staff was friendly and helpful, checked us in in minutes. Room was clean and had everything we needed. Never ate at the hotel, as they were doing some renovations, Would definitely return to RWI
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Nice resort on beautiful beach.

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Beautiful Resort. Stayed in a nice studio with amenities that included a full size fridge sink and microwave. Staff is very nice. Room had lots of mosquitoes but typical around the island.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Great resort with excellent amenities

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: I liked how affordable this place was and included lots of amenities.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Right in front of the beach, great sand and chairs out.
I really enjoyed my stay at this resort. Huge reason for choosing this one was they have snorkels, paddle boarding, kayak, hobie, and perhaps others. One thing I felt was strange was there were areas blocked off for snorkeling where you coudln't go further out. We unfortunately couldn't paddle board as the water wasn't still enough to do it. The hobie requires experience with it first. The rooms were nice, good size, clean, comfortable. I liked the staff as they were all very friendly, not extra friendly in the office and for the the tours but decent. Overall great experience.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Great hotel, shower was clogged but not a deal breaker I guess.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 1, 2016
The hotel is well maintained with a beautiful lush landscape. The beach is conveniently located on property