Ratings based on 1,388 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Nice hotel with a short walk to beach.

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: Umbrellas and chairs on the beach.
Cons: Staff could be friendlier and more accommodating for a later checkout. Offer shower facilities. Offer lessons on the Hobie. Bikes were very heavy.
Nice hotel with lovely pools, grounds, great rooms and balconies. Very quiet and relaxing. Good music!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Retreat

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Cons: Staff could be more cheerful.
Location: We rented a car and drove to all ends of the island. It was a way to really get to know all aspects of this island
We enjoyed the serenity of this place. There's a quiet pool/hot tub area that's away from the bar/pool/kids area. The beach is just a short walk away, and we honestly didn't miss not having a view of the beach. We had a ground floor unit in building #5 with an outdoor patio. For the price compared to other places, this was a gem!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ohio

Nice quaint boutique size hotel

Posted Feb 11, 2017
This was our second year in a row staying here. It's hard to say much bad about this place but this year was a bit of a disappointment. We reported hot water issues multiple days in a row and gave up because clearly it wasn't being fixed. We had ants in kitchen and it wasn't properly delt with so again, we gave up. Our rooms were never cleaned well and maid always came in late in day. Towels and umbrellas on beach have seen better days. We would try again another year in the future if reviews show it worthy but may go somewhere else on the island next year. The beaches on this island are one of the best in the Caribbean!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle WA

Great place to stay. Awesome beach, great pool.

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Pros: Facilities, the beach, and the friendly staff. The restaurant was really good as well.
Cons: AC needs to be updated in the room. It had a loud rattle. They could use a gym too.
Location: Great location on Grace Bay. Close to the main village area.
The resort was on the smaller side which suited us perfectly. Although small, it had great facilities with a nice pool, awesome beach access and access to water toys (Hobbie Cat, kayaks, paddle boards, etc) included. The location was great as well with only a short bike ride/taxi to the main village area and it was close to the ferry and golf course as well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Chillaxing in Paradise!

Posted Feb 7, 2017
After reading all the reviews and considering how we would like to spend our hard earned dollars we chose Royal West Indies for its location, price and reviews. It was better than we hoped! The botanical gardens are beautiful and create a great sense of paradise and add privacy. Right on glorious Grace Bay Beach, this place is not too small and not too big, Chairs, umbrella and towels all provided just need a copy of Pat Leonard's "The Man His Father Was" to read as you lose yourself in the sound and turquoise watercolor of paradise.The staff was very helpful and nice. 2 hour bike rental was great exercise and took us on various exploring adventures. We brought a backpack for bottles although the bikes have baskets for carrying treasures. Our room was clean bright and fresh and had washer, dryer, microwave, coffeepot refrigerator as well as toaster sink, dishes,silverware and wine opener, dishwash liquid, coffee and detergent. We wanted for nothing and met very interesting people from all over the world. Many retirees returning to this ideal retreat. Please be aware Turks and Caicos has no export, therefore everything is 2 1/2 to 3 times the cost in the states. Plan for it, being here is worth every penny! Unplug and get your island on . Room Tip: Botanical view had a lovely patio. Perfectly acceptable as ocean view will be 3rd floor. See more room tips
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from G., Indianapolis

Very nice hotel on the beach

Posted Feb 6, 2017
The hotel is great and steps from the beach, staff are very friendly and helpful, grounds and beach are exceptional.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel close to beach

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Pool could be bigger.
Location: Beach, beach beach and casino that I don't recommend.
Very nice hotel, pools are small, but there is less then a minute walk to the beach, that is amazing!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant getawy

Posted Feb 5, 2017
My wife looked and looked online for days. to find a reasonable getaway. She found this place, and as you know pictures DO NOT tell the story. We took a chance and were very happy as the driver pulled onto the grounds. Nice Greenery, Palm trees and and beautiful look. The lobby, not very large but served the purpose. The front desk (feel bad I forgot the names), was beyond great in setting us up. They brought in flavored drinks while waiting. They brought up the luggage, even our handbags. The room was very nice, clean and very comfortable. The beds and covers were also great. We had a nice balcony, and our meals and coffee their just added to the relax mood. There was a full size refrigerator and a washer and dryer. There are three pools and one very nice designed one by the bar and food area. There is a hot tub that has a lot of room, even with others there it seemed we were alone. The walk to the beach was a nothing walk. They set us up lounge chairs(wherever we want to lay down) and towels. The water was warm and enjoyable. They have Paddle boards,foam mats that you can lay on in the water, sailboat and more,all free. Short walk to the casino and some shopping. They also have some bikes that are free for the asking. In short. We will come back again. The staff was so nice and nothing was to much to ask of them. ENJOY!!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey USA

Very comfortable with many amenities included

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Pros: It wasn't stuffy, meaning you navigated without someone bothering your day and agenda to relax. When you needed help it was there almost instantly.
Cons: Just because I am a neat freak and enjoy gardening, some of the gardens could use an overhaul at the base of the plant life.
Location: We rented a Scooter for the week so we were able to tour the entire Island. Visit more restaurants and inland places to eat like the "Chicken Shack"
Everyday was sunny and warm in January! 77 F and the easy to enter waters crystal clear with good snorkeling off shore. The Pelican Cafe was fun to visit for a bite to eat and a good cold drink! Our beach offered plenty of lounge chairs and umbrellas.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salem, Nh

Oceanfront Charm

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Pros: The location on Grace Bay Beach and the view from our balcony overlooking the ocean.
Cons: A heating lamp in the bathroom would be nice after a shower.
Location: Grace Bay Beach is the best and several restaurants and watering holes are nearby.
My wife and I stayed in an oceanfront studio, room 134 which has a nice balcony overlooking Grace Bay Beach. The view was great and we spent a few hours each morning having coffee on the balcony before going on the beach. We also enjoyed Happy Hour from 5 to 7 at the outside bar as drinks were half-price. The locally brewed beer is good and the Piña Coladas are really good. A nice waitstaff also. If you are a beach person Grace Bay Beach is one of the best! The water is torquoise color and very clear. Bring a mask and flippers. There are two pools; one adjacent to the restaurant/bar and the second which is designated the"Quiet" pool. Our room was very nice with a King bed and nice furnishings including a toaster, refrigerator and microwave. If you wish to cook in, opt for the One-Bedroom Oceanfront Unit which has an oven and a top burner. If you want to rent a car, be aware that they drive on the other side of the road as in England. We walked to the grocery store and to a few local restaurants. Most are within a mile or so. There are bicycles that guests can use if they choose.