Ratings based on 36 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 24, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 22, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Heather

Posted Aug 17, 2016 on Hotels
Immaculate hotel! Fantastic service and the food was wonderful. Would absolutely stay here again.
5 out of 5
by Alexander from Hamilton

Posted Aug 15, 2016 on Hotels
Very helpful and friendly staff food was amazing Fabulous lounge great for relaxing and having a wee drink at the end of a busy day
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Moscow [in Ayrshire not Russia]

A pleasant hotel in a good location for our purpos

Posted May 27, 2016
Pros: Two things stand out - the food and the pleasantness of the staff
Cons: The quality of the breakfast coffee could definitely be improved and it is a small thing and an easy thing to do.
Location: We were there for a family wedding at Fyvie Castle so didn't go touring but Fyvie is very close and the castle is well worth a visit.
We had no problem with the hotel. On arrival we stood around in the lobby while the owner chatted to a tradesman who was in the building. It wouldn't have been long but it seemed a while before another member of staff came and welcomed us and checked us in. The owner later came out and helped us carry our luggage up to the room. The room was nice internally - well decorated and clean - though the lobby and corridor around the room could have done with some refurbishment and the view from the window wasn't up to much but it is an old coaching inn which is a couple of hundred years old so the view and the layout are pretty much set in stone [literally]. The room was also warm. The room next door was a cupboard with a freezer and cleaning stuff which was about as tidy as cupboards generally are. We know this because the door was left open during most of our stay. The food was EXCELLENT with a large dinner menu though we simply opted for sirloin steak which was cooked to perfection. Breakfast was also top quality with a large menu and well cooked food. It's a shame the coffee was only luke warm on both occasions and very tasteless. We use coffee beans at home so that might be why we found the hotel coffee insipid. We certainly wouldn't go there just for morning or afternoon coffee on the basis of our breakfast experience. But we'd stress that all other dining aspects were EXCELLENT and the hotel proprietor, who served our breakfast, was extremely helpful, efficient and pleasant
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Monica

Great find in Northern Location

Posted Oct 15, 2015
Pros: New rooms - space significantly more than most English rooms
The Hotel appears to be undergoing a major refurbishment across all areas. The new rooms are excellent with space, facilities, new beds and generous bathrooms (albeit water pressure a little low). From observation all rooms are not as large but looked well appointed. Common areas still to be completed. Restaurant and bar area very comfy with an excellent breakfast - well beyond the standard cooked breakfast. Parking easy and comfortable walking distance to other bars or food outlets.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Perfect location for Turriff

Posted Oct 5, 2015
Had a lovely stay, food, staff and service excellent. Water pressure in shower not fantastic but adequate. Bathroom decor and bath excellent. Excellent full Scottish breakfast daily which was most enjoyable.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Greatv little HOtel

Posted Sep 17, 2015 on Hotels
Good stay. Food Excellent. Service Excellent
4 out of 5
by Alistair from Killie

First time

Posted Sep 6, 2015 on Hotels
Staff were great food and service excellent , although the room was clean it was small for a double and a bit cramped the bathroom was also like this although everything was in working order. The traffic was also noisy from outside
5 out of 5
by Richard from Kilmarnock

Buisiness Trip

Posted Sep 1, 2015 on Hotels
Stayed for 1 night mid week on a business trip. Room was large and comfortable ate in the restaurant and was impressed with quality of the food. All staff were friendly and helpful would definitely use this hotel again.