Ratings based on 119 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Nice hotel close to shoppong and dining

Posted Apr 9, 2018
Cose to shopping and dining . Room was comfortable and accomodating
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Gainesville

Pictures Used are Not Accurate

Posted Mar 26, 2018
Pros: The room was large.
Cons: Everything else.
Location: There were stores and gas stations nearby, but it's not in the best area of town.
Booked this hotel at the last minute because we were stopping in Tuscaloosa during a trip. Many of the hotels in Tuscaloosa were booked but the Candlewood looked very nice from the photos used on the websites and the rate was good, so I reserved a room. We arrived to first of all find it in a sketch area of town. Secondly, however, and most irritating, was that there was no one at the reservation desk. There was no bell to ring at the reservation desk. So we stood there and politely yelled for help for over 5 minutes before someone came out. She offered no apologies, she didn't even say hello. She went to her computer and said, "Name?" She checked us in, handed us the key and that told us where the room was. Never smiled; nothing. The room was a handicapped assisted room. It was large, and looked clean, but I felt very uncomfortable in it. The bathroom sink was stuck to the wall with a thick putty and looked like it would fall off at any moment and the plumbing was visible underneath, some of it broken or unused pieces of pvc pipe.What a mess. They provided magnets for the door that said "Busy, busy, busy" -- so I guess it wasn't the kind of hotel I should have been staying at with my daughter.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 29, 2018 by Katie Yates , Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Candlewood Suites of Tuscaloosa. We appreciate the opportunity to accommodate you. We are saddened to hear that you did not enjoy your experience with us. Customer service is always our #1 priority, and I will be sure to remind our front desk agents to place the “Be Right Back” sign on the front counter when they step away to use the bathroom. Our hotel is conveniently located right off exit 73, with many restaurants and shopping centers surrounding us. I can assure you that we take guest safety and security very seriously at Candlewood Suites. I apologize that you were not happy with your guest room. Our handicap accessible rooms must be wheelchair accessible. We have a hanging sink in the bathroom which allows a wheelchair to fit under the sink and the guest to access the faucet. We have two magnets on the guest room door. The “Buy Busy Busy- Do Not Disturb” magnet is used when a guest would like to inform us that they are working from their suite that day. We take precaution to work quietly around that area as to not disturb the guest. I am sorry if there was any confusion regarding the magnets. Thank you for taking the time to complete a guest review. Your feedback is very important to us. We hope that you will give us another chance the next time you are in Tuscaloosa. Katie Yates General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 6, 2018 on Hotels
Very clean and comfortable. The front desk personnel were wonderful!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 29, 2018 by Katie Yates , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to complete a Guest Review. We appreciate your kind words regarding our employees. We hope to see you again soon. Katie Yates General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great bed and pillows big room.

Posted Feb 22, 2018 on Hotels
This was a very good hotel. The rooms are big and the mattress and pillows where very comfortable. They even provided free pizza for dinner !
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 31, 2018 by Katie Yates , Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Candlewood Suites of Tuscaloosa. To show our appreciation, every Tuesday night we host a "Guest Appreciation" dinner. We are so glad that you were able to be here and enjoy this. Please let us know if you need any assistance making future reservations. Katie Yates General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alabama

Great Staff & room

Posted Jan 15, 2018
Pros: We loved how clean it was and the size of the room was great!
Cons: The only thing we would have changed, would be adjusting the temperature in the room.
We really enjoyed our stay. The staff was great! The room was very clean & very nice. We were very pleased. The thing we had alittle trouble with was getting the temperature right in the room. Other than that everything was wonderful. Thank you!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 8, 2018 by Katie Yates- General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Candlewood Suites of Tuscaloosa. We appreciate the opportunity to accommodate you. Thank you for the kind words regarding our employees. We take pride in our hotel and work very hard to ensure that our guest rooms are top quality, and the customer service that we provide is the best it can be. We look forward to seeing you upon your next trip to Tuscaloosa.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 27, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 8, 2018 by Katie Yates- General Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to score our hotel! We look forward to seeing you again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel for price

Posted Dec 12, 2017 on Orbitz
The nicest staff that have a smile and are friendly. Its each one of them too not just one.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 8, 2018 by Katie Yates- General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Candlewood Suites of Tuscaloosa. We appreciate the opportunity to accommodate you. Thank you for the kind words regarding our employees. We enjoy what we do, and we appreciate our guests- so it is easy to keep a smile on our faces! We look forward to seeing you again soon!
5 out of 5
by Chris

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 6, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Laura G

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 18, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 26, 2017 on Hotels