Ratings based on 692 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place! Right on campus! Roll Tide!

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Right on UA campus!! Quality place and great location!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Love the Capstone!

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Pros: Close to everything, beautiful and it is all about the Crimson Tide!
Cons: Previous stay hair dyer was provided in room, so this trip I didn't pack.there wasn't one in room this time, so I was confused.
Location: Sports shopping anything you came to town for
Staff is great, especially Chad who typically checks us in! He is awesome... ☺
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati, OH

Great on-campus location

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: Great location; comfortable; friendly staff.
Cons: Just give me a free, easy cup of coffee in the morning that I can get in the lobby - like every other hotel these days.
Location: A 10-15 minute walk to most anywhere on the main part of campus or down to "the strip".
You can't find a better hotel if you want to be on Alabama's campus. We were here for a student visit and it was nice to be able to walk everywhere. It is an old hotel that they have done a nice job of updating. Rooms are good sized. Bathrooms are small. Beds and pillows very comfortable. Everything else average. Staff was very friendly, especially the gal at check-in who was very helpful with an overview of how to get around campus. In fact, if you can look past the age of the facilities and some of the quarks that come with it, this could almost be a 5-star for the price we paid. HOWEVER, one glaring, albeit perhaps nit-picky, thing is that the age of their breakfast policy goes right along with the age of their hotel... See, the modern hotel is nice enough to offer a complimentary cup of coffee in the morning. In fact, most offer a rudimentary continental breakfast. But not Hotel Capstone. You have to seek out a breakfast waitress to have her run your credit card for a $2 cup of coffee to-go that you pour yourself! If you want breakfast, it is an $11 buffett - which is very solid by way of real eggs, fresh fruits, and some tasty tomatoes - but otherwise it is the same breakfast meats, oatmeal, and waffle making machine you would find at a Sleep Inn in the middle of nowhere, plus tip for the gal who forgets to bring you juice and otherwise just clears plates. The hotel wants to be old school in this regard, which is actually irritating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Boston

closest hotel to campus

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: very friendly and helpful
Location: perfect proximity to the campus
the staff was extremely flexible out late checkout and helpful with local dining options
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Al

Wedding weekend

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Had a wedding at the church next door and then walked downtown. Check in was a breeze and close to everything we didn't even drive the car anywhere. Sitting in the middle of campus right across the baseball field it's the perfect location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from s

Great staff

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Great experience would recommend easy check in friendly staff and awesome restaurant
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel, Rigt on campus.

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Great location for University Alabama campus activities and events. Clean facility, quality food and professional/courteous staff. Rooms could be updated but were clean. We will be staying here for future UA visits.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to everything!

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: Nothing that we did NOT like!!!
Cons: Can't think of any improvements needed.
Location: All sports areas, food, shopping, access to interstate
Would recommend to anyone. Staff friendly and helpful. Clean and beautiful hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 3, 2017
Very quick and easy check in and check out. The shower is a little narrow, and only if you're very limber can you turn on the shower before getting into it to get temp right. Otherwise, the facilities were very spacious, clean and comfortable. One problem though: the doors do not keep out any hallway noise at all! I could see light all the way around the door and hear every word of people who got in late at night....irritating when you cant sleep in next day!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Al

Excellent staff.

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Excellent staff. Great location. Great parking nice room. Adequate bathroom. Free wifi