Ratings based on 192 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newzealand Northland

Pleasant and convenient

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Pros: Staff very welcoming and helpful
View disappointing bath shower only---no aids re handles and safety bath mat No biscuits in room Room atmosphere very utilitarian and lacked imagination with decor Comfortable and warm No menu in room
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orewa

The ony place to stay in Tutakaka.

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: The upgrade was really appreciated. The location is great.
Cons: The warmth in the dining area - a bit cool. The TV's were not user friendly, ours 'died' after an hour. Couldnot use the radio because of the static.
Location: Its all about the big game fishing or a base for daytrips up and down the stunning coast.
Checkin was efficiant and the lovely guy at the desk gave us an upgrade when I expressed disappointment that we were looking at the Marina.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NZ

Oceans

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Pros: What I like is that air conditioning has be put in all the rooms overlooking the carpark that got the afternoon sun.
Cons: A better way to fill the kettle than the bath faucet.
Nice large rooms. We had a room overlooking the carpark, which suited us. Our meals were good and it was nice to relax by the fire in the bar area before dinner.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Lovely hotel opposite marina

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Pros: Great location and handy to local restaurants, shops and activities. Clean spacious room with views over marina across the road.
Location: Opposite marina and close to departure point for day trips to Poor Knights Is.
Stayed there with my husband to enjoy snorkelling/diving trip with daughters and family to Poor Knights Islands.
5 out of 5
by Frank

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 1, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Enjoyed the facility and location. Reception people were cold versus warm in their greetings. Restaurant people were very helpful and food was good
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Large rooms and great view

Posted Mar 13, 2017 on Wotif
Easy check in, great size rooms and we had a nice view of the marina and harbour. Very quiet and an enjoyable stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Helensville

hugely overpriced hot & misrepresented on website

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Pros: Location & access to the marina and surrounding beaches.
Cons: Staff could be more friendly & more helpful. Room was totally misrepresented and was nothing like the photos shown on the website.
Location: Beautiful part of the country. Wonderful beaches close by. A couple of very nice eating places/bars nearby.
Payed top dollar for this room. ($190/night for a couple.) Hugely disappointed. Stuffy unfriendly receptionists. Room had no balcony or view as shown in the photos on line. No air con. Not even access to refill the jug to have a cup of tea. No kitchen at all. Not even a bowl to put chips into! Couch was stained. Bathroom had an awful stinky drain smell to it.
5 out of 5
by Justine

Lovely Christmas Present From My Parents

Posted Feb 23, 2017 on Hotels
Really nice place to stay and lovely area. Would happily stay again.
5 out of 5
by Yvonne

Great Hotel

Posted Feb 19, 2017 on Hotels
Room was upgraded and we had a wonderful stay. Thank you to the excellent staff