Ratings based on 132 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, MN

A superior surprise

Posted Oct 16, 2017
When I booked the place I wasn't entirely sure what to expect but upon arriving we found out we were staying on Burlington Road just down the road from the main lodge. That building is arguable much better than the main lodge. Rooms were clean and spacious with a fireplace although a balcony would have been nice. Call ahead to confirm your room has one. Right by the lake and the indoor outdoor hot tub was amazing. Highlight of the stay. I'll definitely stay here again. Great service, great room, great hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Multiple building sites

Posted Oct 7, 2017
The room we had was in a different location than the building with the lodge/front desk etc. Our bldg was more apartment-like. Room was ok. Liked having a fireplace. Hallway carpet was lifted/needs replacing. Elevator in our bldg was broken. Entry door to our bldg was not locked which I did not like. "Tunnel" basement hallway to the other bldg with the pool. Expedia member price for our room showed $143 (Sunday night) but I was charged $159. Twin Harbors is only a mile or two away, Gooseberry not too far up the road the other direction. Beautiful scenery.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MN

Leave Peeping on North Shore

Posted Oct 6, 2017
What a great room! We didn’t really need a suite, but that was all that was available for that weekend. Beautiful grounds right on Lake Superior!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Corvallis, OR

Nice view

Posted Sep 22, 2017
We had a jacuzzi and fireplace room. The view was wonderful. The room was not in the main lodge which is about 1/4 mile down the road. There was not a beach at our building but overlooked the water. The bed wasn't very comfortable and the jets in the tub didn't work. Disappointed we didn't have a balcony. Staff was very pleasant
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis

Quiet and Beautiful

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Pros: We like the room size. The lounge and dinning are outstanding.
Cons: no complaints at all.
Location: You have everything you need on site however its a 1 minute drive to golf, and downtown Two Harbors.
We love staying here. Always quiet clean and comfortable. Staff is outstanding. Get the lake view room any time of the year, it's worth it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Twin Cities

Wide selection of rooms

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: Proximity to Lake Superior.
Cons: Carpeting in the main areas was a little old, place was showing wear around the edges.
Location: It's about 2-3 miles from Two Harbors, which has everything you might need, coffee shops, restaurants, grocery store, etc. 10 miles from Gooseberry
Our room was a suite facing the pool, which would have been absolutely ideal if we had brought our kids. But it also had a large whirlpool tub which was perfect for us. So our view wasn't the best, but we weren't at the hotel during the day so it didn't really matter. It's about 50 yards from the lake, with a long wide beach, with several places for nighttime campfires. About 5 billion rocks, if you're into looking for agates. Room was clean, furniture was a bit dated, but who really cares about that...Also had a gas fireplace. All in all, it was a great place to spend a weekend away from the city.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Nowhere to walk on beach/shore.just a muddy hill

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: Beautiful room and wonderful view from the balcony.
Cons: Access to the lake. More walking trails. More fire pits or at least availability of spots to build a fire.
We expected to be close to a beach we could walk on as we have been in the past when we stayed here. The view from our room was great but there was nowhere to walk unless you drove somewhere else. Also the carpets in the hotel were in horrible condition and the elevator was out during our stay. Only one fire pit available for the multitude of rooms.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MN

Good location but run diwn

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Elevator was out of service, entryway and hall carpets stained and torn. Bed was squeeky. Nice pool and hot tub. Beautiful views of lake Superior.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Expecting a view but instead

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Paid a decent price for 2 nights of stay. Figured i was treating myself but was left disappointed. The bed was lumpy and had no support. The bathroom was small as well as the vanity. The pictures of the hotel had a nice view but I had one of the parking lot. I thought breakfast was complimentary being that the price was high, but was wrong again. I expected a lot more based on reviews and ratings. Just left disappointed by the price for the service. Would've rather stayed in the chain hotel down the block for a cheaper room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, but very pricey.

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Breakfast buffet way over priced at $12.00 per plate.